Unstuck

Every now and then one of our goats will stick her head through the woven wire fence, and not be able to get it back out.

IMG_5170

A few days ago I found Carrie in that condition. Bless her heart. There’s no telling how long she’d been stuck there.

I carefully maneuvered her head through the fence, freeing her. Once free she ran toward the barn where her unconcerned friends and family were lounging, without the slightest indication of gratitude to her rescuer.

The novel I finished last winter is still a mere manuscript. I had hoped to announce its publication by now. But, alas, I have discovered that publishing a book is in many ways more difficult than writing one. My self-imposed September deadline will pass sans novel. And that’s OK.

Because my head is not stuck in a fence (even though I spent a decade behaving as if it was), we’re leaving for vacation today. Gardens, goats, writing projects and the like will have to wait a while.

 

13 comments on “Unstuck

  1. Enjoy your vacation Bill, well deserved I am certain.. As for Carrie, so pleased she is none the worst for her experience.. And that Book will be published when it is meant to be. that I am sure.. SO go on enjoy your well deserved break..
    Sue 🙂

    Like

  2. thesnowwoman says:

    Enjoy your vacation!

    Like

  3. avwalters says:

    These things all happen in their own time. Enjoy the vacation.

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    Just a reminder that a fence can serve as more than a trap. When I was a child, we had this kind of fence around our yard. One day, pre-school me discovered those woven wire squares served perfectly well as a ladder. “Up and over” beats “through and stuck” every time.

    Happy vacation and safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, best of luck on the publishing of your novel. Enjoy the vacation. I know you will be going some where fascinating.

    Have a great vacation time.

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    Enjoy your trip!! Post photos and stories. I put up a rabbit fence and now I have lizzards stuck in it. 🙂

    Like

    • NebraskaDave says:

      BeeHappee, you made me belly laugh. I put up a wooden fence to keep out the deer but it didn’t keep out the rabbits and the raccoons. I put up a wire fence inside the wooden fence but the raccoons climbed over it. I put up an electric fence to keep out the raccoons and now it’s a playground for the field mice. (Big sigh) What’s a gardener to do. I have been invaded by lizards yet but I’ll keep an eye out. 🙂

      Have a great day in the garden.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. hilarymb says:

    Enjoy the break … and glad the goat is out of the fence – take care and cheers Hilary

    Like

  8. “Gardens, goats, writing projects and the like will have to wait a while.” As it should be, Bill. And I am sure that deep in her heart, Carrie will be forever grateful for your timely rescue. At least until tomorrow when she will once again be lured by the fact that the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence! 🙂 Have a great vacation! –Curt

    Like

  9. Dearest Bill,
    Loved this great humorous post; including photo!
    Yes, we all at times act like being stuck in a fence… Not knowing where to end up.
    Enjoy your vacation and worry about all other things later.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  10. Dalo 2013 says:

    I’ve had many days like this (speaking on the day your goat had…), and it is always nice to receive a helping hand 🙂 Cheers!

    Like

  11. Zambian Lady says:

    I couldn’t help but laugh at Miss Carrie’s photo. Was the grass greener, therefore sweeter, on the other side of that fence? I hope you had a great time away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

