Easy Snacks

There are a lot of things to love about this time of year. Here’s one: it’s easy to grab a quick snack when working outside.

IMG_4707.JPG

IMG_4671.JPG

13 comments on “Easy Snacks

  1. shoreacres says:

    You are lucky. The only thing I can think of that I’d be willing to grab as a snack while working would be a shrimp or a blue crab — but I’m not inclined to eat those raw! 🙂

    Like

  2. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, yes, this time of the year is munch through the garden time. Even the green beans and sweet corn can be munched with cooking. Tomatoes are the best warm off the vine. Some things just can’t be beat fresh out of the garden. This next week is sauerkraut time. The cabbage is ready and the glass jars are waiting to be filled with shreds of caggage and salt. We are on the way to Winter delight.

    Have a great Easy Snack day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yep, I’ve been out prepping fall gardens this morning. No cabbage here. Our spring cabbage has been long gone and we won’t even be planting the fall crop until next week. I do love some good sauerkraut though. 🙂

      Like

  3. Looking at your apple reminded me of a recent conversation with the hubby as we walked the property. He said “Looks like all of the apples are bad this year.” I asked “what do you mean?”. He picked one ans said “Looked it’s full of bad spots.” I took the apple and used my shirt to wipe it off and his eyes popped . “Ah-Oh, I’ve been throwing them away like crazy cause I thought they were bad 😦 ” This is why we don’t let the city boy work alone in the garden LOL!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That makes me smile. My wife has never adjusted to eating apples that are natural either. Even though he is a homesteader extraordinaire, she grew up eating shiny polished apples from the store and has trouble accepting what they actually look like. 🙂

      Like

  4. What sort of Apple is that Bill? Looks a bit like a Tolman Sweet (but far too early)

    Like

  5. Scott says:

    Oh I miss our big old apple tree. Ours looked like that apple, no clue what it was. They tasted great somewhat “green”, and better actually ripe. That’s cedar apple rust, those small groups of black spots, right?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t know Scott. I grew up eating apples right off the tree (unsprayed) and that’s always been the way they look. I ate about a million green apples when I was a boy, but they don’t agree with my stomach these days. But if I take them like the one in the picture, not all the way ripe but not rock hard green, I’m fine. I like tart apples so I really like these this time of year.

      Like

      • Scott says:

        Ours had the spots etc., and yeah, I might rub them on my pants but basically eat them unwashed and best of all, unsprayed. I’m not talking rock hard green, just tart I guess. Can’t wait til ours come into production. We planted about 50 trees, mostly fruit trees, last November.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Laurie Graves says:

    Oh, yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

