The Old House

IMG_1924.JPG

We have guests in our farm-stay Airbnb this weekend.

Reviews have been good and interest in it is increasing.

IMG_2947.JPG

Three generations of my family lived in the house and it has an interesting history. It’s a simple house, but when I was a boy I greatly admired it (even though it was dilapidated). For most of my childhood we lived in a trailer, right next to it. Fixing the place up someday was one of my boyhood dreams.

So it feels good to have seen that dream come true.

430912_216406651827535_1048872192_n.jpg

Old-House-original.jpg

252222_216406385160895_1127604458_n.jpg

For more about the place, visit our website and Airbnb page:

http://whiteflintfarm.com/the-old-house-farmstay/

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/4197292

28 comments on “The Old House

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    Wow! What a transformation, it looks stunning!

    Like

  2. Beautiful restoration.

    Like

  3. You did a great job, it’s beautiful!

    Like

  4. Victo Dolore says:

    Oh wow! How awesome is it to have that kind of history? The restoration turned out beautifully.

    Like

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    My goodness! Yes, beautiful! If I am not mistaken, then you are near Black Friar’s Theater in Staunton, Virginia. If this is the case and If I ever achieve my dream of going to Black Friars Theater, then Clif and I will make reservations to stay at your place.

    Like

  6. Dani says:

    Oh, to me there is nothing nicer than repairing someting and making it new again. Far too much waste these days. And, the fact that you have 3 generations of history to share must make your AirBnB guests even happier. Well done – it look amazing πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. Michelle says:

    Oh, how I wish I could put you in charge of doing the same thing for the beautiful old farmhouse my great-grandparents built in Kansas! It breaks my heart to see it dilapidated, although I guess a young farmer is living in it right now so my uncle hasn’t razed it yet.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s good that there is someone living in the place. They can go downhill very fast when they’re unoccupied (as our place had been). I hope your place is standing and well-used for many years to come.

      Like

  8. Love the (original?) gingerbread on the lower verandah Bill; it softens the angular lines of the porch supports so beautifully… Sadly, I suppose it would be prohibitively expensive to reproduce them for the upper level as well? ): but She’s such a lovely structure and wonderful that you’ve brought her back to life!

    Like

  9. allisonmohr says:

    What a gorgeous house you have there. Nice job on bringing her back.

    Like

  10. Bill. Oh my.. what a beautiful transformation.. Such a beautiful home you have re-created.. Such a lot of work has gone into it I see.. But I also feel the love in which it was restored… Such a wonderful achievement.. Well done.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, it looks great. Just out of curiosity, how long did it take and was it expensive? Some times expense is not an issue when family history and sentiment are involved. My grandparent’s house was a stately old Midwest farm house but it’s in pretty sad shape with no one inspired to bring it back to life. Some day it will just cave in and be gone. It’s already unsafe to go inside the house. I believe my grand mother built the house after a tornado destroyed the house they had lived in. She was the one that had the money in the family from inheritance. My grand parents had a very interesting marital relationship. I don’t remember them living together much but they stayed married all their life. This was my Mom’s side of the family and I don’t know much about that side of the family. Some times families don’t want any one to know things and it dies with them. They were both awesome grandparents and I have great memories of them both. Sounds like you have some great memories of this house as well. I’m glad you could restore the house and save the historical memories made there.

    Have a great day with the Airbnb.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was ridiculously expensive Dave. It would not have made sense except for the sentimental value of it. But the good news is that it supports itself now through being an Airbnb rental. We’ve had lots of families with kids stay there, allowing the kids to appreciate farm and rural living. We’ve had visitors from around the world. I’m sure my great great grandparents would be astonished to know how their home is being used now!

      Like

  12. Scott says:

    It looks like a great old house, Bill. Ours had an upstairs and downstairs front porch too. It’s one of the features that really sold the house to us. It’s so great you took care of it and kept it in the family. So many people can’t afford the old family farm, so it gets sold and subdivided… But then again, I live on a subdivided old farm. It was 103 acres 30 years ago, now I own 25 and my neighbors have 67, 8, and 3 acres.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That would’ve happened here too had my wife and I not stepped in and wiped out our savings to buy this place. At the time I thought I was making a terrible financial mistake. In hindsight it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done.

      But we only bought “the homeplace”: 183 acres. The total farm was over 1,000 acres. Most of the rest has been sold. We own a 1/3 interest in the 127 acre tract across the road (with my mother and aunt) and they own another 220 acre tract down the road a bit. Of course there aren’t enough people living in the country these days to tend that much land, so it’s mostly just idle, in trees.

      Like

      • Scott says:

        I love your story, and it’s great you bought it. Oh, what I’d do for 180 acres. Wow. Except working a job for as long as you did is not in the plans, so 183 acres probably isn’t either.
        I hate to be a downer, but I think the land is better idle than in corn and beans. πŸ˜‰

        Like

Leave a Reply

