Finishing

It was after 10 when the moon rose, illuminating long rows of hay bales stretching across a field alongside a quiet country road. And me, stacking the bales in the bed of my truck, country music coming softly from the radio into a night air dominated by the songs of ten thousand crickets.

Around 11, the hay was in barn. Not yet in the loft–its ultimate destination–but close enough at the end of a long day. Time then to shower away the itchiness and settle down for a few minutes, with a book and a glass of wine.

 

23 comments on “Finishing

  1. Laurie Graves says:

    A much-deserved rest!

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Haven’t been exactly there, and haven’t done exactly that, but I know the pleasure at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Avery says:

    Sounds like a day done right. It felt as though I could have been there myself. Thank you. I am missing times like these from days past. They are few and far between now. One day, I will have more.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I remember fondly the days when our whole family would be involved in getting the hay baled and in the barn. Now the kids are gone and I was all by myself.

      Like

  4. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, oh, yes, I remember those hay bale days. I’ve participated in all aspects of haying. From the planting, to the cutting, then raking, and baling. I’ve even been part of a stacking hay crew. My job was to run the stacker. That was before the hydraulic front end loaders were common place. It was an amazing time when farmers still had to work together as a community. That’s been lost with the modern mega machinery. I count it a blessing to be a part of the tail end of farming history before technology became prevalent. I guess it’s why I still prefer the hand tools in the garden as opposed to the tillers and other motor driven things. I do use a trimmer but still love the look of an area that has had the weeds pulled and not just trimmed in the garden. I have lived and loved both worlds. The old and the new. It has been a great time to be alive.

    Have many more great finishing days.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I always dreaded getting up hay when I was a kid. The bales were heavy and they cut and scratched my arms. But worst of all I had an unreasonable fear that a snake would be in a bale (someone had told me that sometimes happened). I was crazy scared of snakes back then. There’s a lot less labor involved with the round balers but I have no experience working with them.

      Like

  5. Quinton says:

    Great picture painted in my mind, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We were stacking hay from a friend’s field last night. The hay can’t wait! Glad you could see the moon. Lovely.

    Like

  7. Wow, that was a hard day’s work. Enjoy your down time. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  8. Joanna says:

    Really jealous! It’s raining again here today 😦

    Like

  9. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, with a book and a glass of wine and a well-deserved respite from a day’s labour well cone. Peace.

    Like

  10. Zambian Lady says:

    Wow, sounds like you had a productive day and a relaxing evening.

    Like

  11. I’m impressed Bill, that you had the energy for the wine and book. But I certainly get the wine. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

Leave a Reply

