Squash and Onions

Yesterday I spent our 4th of July holiday as I have for the past few years–harvesting onions. We have a beautiful bumper crop this year, the best we’ve ever grown I think. Maybe, for once, we won’t run out before next 4th of July.

IMG_4518

IMG_4515

Most of the day was spent with the onions, but I also picked green beans, blueberries, zucchini and squash. I enjoy celebrating that kind of independence.

IMG_4516

We grow yellow squash, but only because we’re market gardeners. We’ve grown lots of different varieties over the years, but if we were only growing for ourselves we’d grow nothing but Zephyr. It’s the tenderest and tastiest squash we’ve eaten. And beautiful, to boot. Highly recommended.

IMG_4468

IMG_4475

To my American friends, a belated happy Independence Day! And to all, I hope you had an enjoyable day yesterday, whether you celebrated a holiday or not.

 

 

20 comments on “Squash and Onions

  1. Plough Monday says:

    Is the independence of growing one’s own food the first freedom? I believe so.

    Like

  2. Wonderful harvest Bill.. our little bushes of Blueberries are just about starting to ripen.. Hope you had a fabulous day xx

    Like

  3. avwalters says:

    Exactly that thought echoed in my head yesterday–the independence of a good garden. We harvested the first squash of the season, radishes and a couple of blueberries. I’m drooling over your onions–I never grew onions before this season, and they won’t be ready until early September. Are they like garlic (two weeks or so drying before cool storage?) In August, I’ll do starts for next year’s onions–our season is too short for a good cooking onion all in one season. As I watered, and weeded, I breathed in the deep satisfaction of knowing our efforts make for wholesome food, nearly the year through.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We usually aim to harvest garlic in mid-June and onions in mid-July. It works out that just as the garlic is dry and ready to trim, in come the onions to take their place in our drying out area. Two to three weeks works fine for us.

      I’ve experimented with different methods of growing onions over the years. At first we planted sets in the spring. Then we tried transplants. But I’ve had the best luck with planting sets in the fall and overwintering them (exactly the same as garlic). Some of the onions will bolt in the spring, but when they do we just pick them as spring onions. Of course this might not work in your climate.

      Like

      • avwalters says:

        I wonder if we could do that. I’ll have to ask around. We certainly can do garlic that way (recently harvested some lovely garlic.) It would certainly streamline onion production–but still would need to plant for the sets.

        Like

  4. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, yup, celebrated until midnight. If it was up to me I’d be spending money on garden things but alas a 12 year old needs to blow up things once a year with other family members. After 69 years of 4th of July fireworks, it just doesn’t have the same fascination as it did when I was 12. I expect millions of dollars were spent in my town alone on fireworks and probably billions all across the country. China, who manufactures all the fireworks, most likely wring their hands in glee every time the 4th of July is celebrated in this country. Sorry to seem so grumpy but Americans seem to spend money to the extreme on celebration and not so much on things that would really make a different. Gee, I’m starting to sound like an old guy for sure.

    Any way my Terra Nova Gardens are in bloom every where and harvesting will soon begin. The year looks to be good so far.

    Have a great July harvest.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      In the past we’ve sat on our deck at night and watched the distant fireworks from the closest town, so far away that we can see the fireworks on the horizon, but hear no sound. Last night it was cloudy here so that wasn’t an option. Much better for us than being in a crowd. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Fred Leggett says:

    Bill, One of these days I would like to exchange visits. The days,weeks,months and years get shorter the older I get. Fred L

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    We harvested too, the whole one strawberry and one tomato of the day. The rabbits harvested all the okra to celebrate their independence. So everyone happy. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Phuong says:

    Such a lovely sight, seeing all your onions. I’m in agreement with the Zephyr squash, very tasty. We’re actually getting tomatoes exceptionally early this year, so wonderful.

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    It’s worth remembering how many freedoms are inherent in your gardening: the freedom to choose what to plant, when to harvest, how to dispose of the crop — whether through sale or sharing. The Soviet famine of 1932-1933 is an instructive example of what happens when those freedoms are taken away. Hooray for liberty’s onions and blueberries!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Interestingly I’m working on something now that involves famine and Russia. As you know, I’m not happy with existing infringements of our freedom to choose what to plant and our freedom to dispose of the crops as we wish. Oh well, one of the best ways to defend liberty is to exercise it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Dee Ready says:

    Dear Bill, I’ll see if the grocery store has Zephyr. I doubt it, but I really enjoy squash and so I’ll try to get hold of some. How often do you sell your produce at market? Once a week or more? Peace.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I hope you find it, but I’d be very surprised if you do. I think the only place you could expect to find it is at your local farmers market. We sell at a farmers market on Saturday morning and at another one on Tuesday afternoon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

