Transition

IMG_4315

Our spring garden is starting to peter out. As things have bitten the dust, I’ve been plowing them under. We still have collards, napa cabbage, 4 varieties of kale, rainbow chard and a few beets.

Meanwhile the summer veggies are starting to arrive. We’re harvesting onions, green beans, squash, zucchini and peppers. Yesterday I dug the garlic–over 1100 bulbs. Our basement now smells like garlic.

IMG_4314

We’ve had over 4 1/2 inches of rain this week, including over 3 inches last night from a series of violent thunderstorms that drenched the newly tilled soil and blew up my one-day old fence box energizer. I have 650 sweet potato slips I’d planned to plant this weekend. Doesn’t look like that’s going to happen.

Hopefully in the next week or so we’ll start picking tomatoes, continuing our transition to the next wave of goodies.

IMG_4312

16 comments on “Transition

  1. Looks like heaven. Especially envious of that garlic! Mine remains dollhouse size.

    Like

  2. It has been raining a lot here too, for which I’m grateful as we haven’t been able to get out to the farm much lately (selling our house). It’s been nice not having to worry about our perennials getting watered.
    That last picture is quite lovely!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I haven’t had to do any irrigation. I haven’t even laid the drip lines. Rain is good, but lately we’ve been having too much. I suppose it’s better than drought. Best of luck selling the house. I remember how stressful and aggravating that was for us.

      Like

  3. Ed says:

    I don’t think I have ever seen so much garlic all in one place. Heaven!

    Like

  4. BeeHappee says:

    Beautiful, Bill, I keep staring at the photos, I only wished internet had smellovision, so I could smell that rain and fog and grass. Is 4 inches a week typical for you guys? We get 16 inches in the whole year, in a good year. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We had a real gully-washer last night from some powerful storms. Did a lot of damage. Usually we’re lucky to get an inch a week this time of year. Rain this time of year comes from thunderstorms, which are spotty. One place can get 3 inches and a place a half mile away won’t get any.

      We cure the garlic in our basement, so the whole house smells like garlic now. If we had smellovision, that’s what you’d be smelling. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. barnraised says:

    Absolutely love that last photo!!

    Like

  6. Phuong says:

    It looks like you’re having a very humid summer as well. But at least it sounds like the bounty of summer is well on its way. I love all the spring vegetables you’re able to grow in your climate. We had an actual spring this year and the tomato plants are massive considering how early it is.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The plants that are already in the ground are loving this weather. Of course the grass is too. I really shouldn’t complain, but this is when we plant sweet potatoes and purple hull peas and it’s just too wet and muddy to do it. The peas can wait, but the sweet potatoes are in jeopardy. I’m really looking forward to that first tomato. Should be about another week. We just started picking the main crop of squash and zucchini today.

      Like

  7. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, we are having a thunderstorm here as I type. I’ve been gone on vacation to Las Vegas to attend my youngest grand daughter that lives there graduation from high school. I’ve been away for 10 days and haven’t been to Terra Nova Gardens. I just returned to day and have been playing catch up with all the things that needed attention since I’ve been gone. I’m not sure what I will be returning to when I get there. I’m sure one of the things that will be needed is a complete weeding for all the beds and pathways. I had a good time being gone but I know there’s going to be a price to pay in the garden. I tried my best to set up an automatic watering plan and from what I gather from the neighbors it did rain a couple times while I was gone. That always helps.

    I do like the sound, smell, and lightening from a well behaved thunderstorm. We are in the midst of one right now. I love those summer storms as long as there’s not hail or high winds.

    Have a great day in the hoop house.

    Nebraska Dave

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We had a series of vicious storms last night–knocking down trees, blowing out fuses, washing out our pond road. But worst of all I just learned a couple of hours ago that lightning hit an historic old house near here, my g-g grandfather’s home, and burned it to the ground. A terrible loss.

      As for the hoop house, all that rain coming off the roof so fast caused it to seep under and saturate a couple of rows. I need to find a way to keep that from happening.

      Like

  8. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – it looks amazing .. and is so good to see husbandry at work – I love thinking back to my parent’s home and those early days of gardening our land … small, but oh so delicious – fresh … your storms are much worse than ours (usually) … cheers Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

