Transition

IMG_4315

Our spring garden is starting to peter out. As things have bitten the dust, I’ve been plowing them under. We still have collards, napa cabbage, 4 varieties of kale, rainbow chard and a few beets.

Meanwhile the summer veggies are starting to arrive. We’re harvesting onions, green beans, squash, zucchini and peppers. Yesterday I dug the garlic–over 1100 bulbs. Our basement now smells like garlic.

IMG_4314

We’ve had over 4 1/2 inches of rain this week, including over 3 inches last night from a series of violent thunderstorms that drenched the newly tilled soil and blew up my one-day old fence box energizer. I have 650 sweet potato slips I’d planned to plant this weekend. Doesn’t look like that’s going to happen.

Hopefully in the next week or so we’ll start picking tomatoes, continuing our transition to the next wave of goodies.

IMG_4312