Good Question

For what will it profit a man, if he gains the whole world and forfeits his life?

Jesus

14 comments on “Good Question

  1. DM says:

    I find myself thinking of that verse when I see some of our local farmers building larger and larger grain facilities, (and the $1,000,000.00 combines, and $500,000 GPS navigation tractors and planters) because there is a related story Jesus told about the farmer who tore down his barns/ bins to build bigger ones….

    The Parable of the Rich Fool
    …18Then he said, ‘This is what I will do: I will tear down my barns and will build bigger ones, and there I will store up all my grain and my goods. 19Then I will say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take it easy. Eat, drink, and be merry!”’ 20But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be required of you. Then who will own what you have accumulated?’

    Like

  2. Yes a very good Question Bill..
    No matter how hard we toil, or how Rich a man can get, She/He still takes nothing with him when he passes but the deeds he has done and the memories of his heart.:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    That was on a billboard in Newport News for years when I was growing up….

    Like

  4. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, in my contemplation time at the garden, I often wonder what will happen when I can’t garden any more. Nature has a way of returning to the wild. Nature thinks in long term centuries at a time. My time with the garden will only last maybe 10 more years if God chooses to let me have the strength and life for it. I can imagine what will the deterioration of the land look like when it returns back to nature’s way. Will the folks living in the neighborhood remember the crazy old coot that once gardened there or will it all be dozed down by some one else to use the land in a different way or will it just return to a wild vine, brush, and weed covered lot. In the end we are but a blip on the grand scheme of time. Even if one has it all as King Salomon did, it’s all for nought.

    So I enjoy the moment and look forward to the day when my eyes close for the last time knowing that life doesn’t end when the physical body does.

    Have a great day with life giving thoughts.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A long time ago we went to Cancun on vacation and we visited the nearby Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza–amazing structures including an imposing pyramid. The ruins were only discovered recently because after the Mayan civilization collapsed the jungle took back the city, completely covering it in vegetation. I think that would happen to all our grand human works if we were gone.

      I hope your garden continues to crank out food for many generations. But I also find comforting the idea that nature stands ready to reclaim the land when we’re done using it. It’s a win either way, in my opinion.

      Liked by 2 people

    • sdorman says:

      hi, Dave. we’ve got a 100+ year old neighbor. he rakes out the woods and clears brush, shovels a path into them when it snows. we thank God for his presence in the neighborhood giving it savor (and for his family who now garden his lot): somehow it makes the character of the vale.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Candace says:

    I think that is, sadly, something very few people consider anymore. It just seems to be accelerating to oblivion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

