Planted

I finished planting our summer gardens yesterday, just as the rain began. The timing turned out to be perfect. It rained most of the night, turning the soil to mud. I haven’t checked the gauge yet this morning, but I suspect last night’s downpour puts us close to 10 inches over the past two weeks.

I planted:

Italian eggplant
Asian eggplant
Acorn squash
Hubbard squash
German Johnson tomatoes
Sweet corn
Bell peppers
Banana peppers
Butternut squash
Spaghetti squash
Zephyr summer squash
Yellow straightneck squash
Safari zucchini
Okra
Roma tomatoes
Green Beans (Roma variety)
Black Beans
Cucumbers
Cantaloupes (Hale’s Best)
Watermelons (Crimson Sweet)

Tomorrow is opening day of our principal farmers market, so I’ll spend most of today picking and cleaning veggies. In the mud. I’m looking forward to it.

26 comments on “Planted

  1. shoreacres says:

    My word! You were busy, for sure. It’s a great list, and not entirely unlilke what is harvested around here. I still haven’t met one of those German Johnson tomatoes. I’m going to ask my farmer about those.

    This weekend, I’ll be picking some blackberries, and the peaches are about to come in. The veggies aren’t quite ready, either. Another week or so, and we’ll have tomatoes. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Geez Linda, you’re only about two MONTHS ahead of us! But do have a toasted tomato sammy for me, will you? ; )

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’m curious so please let me know if you find anyone with German Johnson tomatoes down there. They’re very popular here in our part of the world but I’ve found them to be not well known elsewhere. If you can find anyone with Mortgage Lifters try them. They’re similar (and delicious!).

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Mortgage Lifters? Really? If I saw those advertised, I’d think it was a joke!

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL! Where DO they get these names from, hey?
        Maybe they’re worth their weight in gold?; ?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bill says:

        It’s a delicious tomato and there is a great story behind the name. The tomato was created by a man in West Virginia in the early 1940’s. He planted a circle of tomato plants with the largest tomatoes he could find and planted a German Johnson in the middle of the circle. He collected pollen from the plants in the circle and hand-pollinated the GJ. He saved the seed from the GJ, then repeated the process for years. Eventually he had the Mortgage Lifter–so named because he drove all around the country selling the plants, eventually earning enough money from them to pay off his $6,000 mortgage.

        Liked by 2 people

      • shoreacres says:

        Can you hear me laughing with delight? No? Listen a little more closely!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That is a good collection of plants.. 🙂 I just hope they do not get waterlogged.. that is alot of water in 10 days..
    Have a great weekend Bill.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      May is off to a very wet start. We ended up getting another 1.5 inches. I don’t think it will affect us much but it’s a real problem for the tobacco farmers around here who can’t get all their heavy equipment into their fields.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Holy crowly — that’s a lot of work, Bill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BeeHappee says:

    What is your favorite squash, Bill? They say squash grows well here, we need to add some, although I am the only one that eats squash here unless I mask it well in breads or soups.
    Did you start seedlings for these in the hoop house?
    That is a lot of rain! We are very excited about the 60% prospect of a shower next week!! After 2 months of complete dryness that should feel nice. I miss the fresh veggies we could get in Illinois and Vermont. I am contacting farms here to see if anyone needs a worker share. It is exciting that summer markets are now opening everywhere. Best of luck at the market!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The dark orange squash make a great “pumpkin” pie Bee; )

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      We direct seed our squash. No need to use transplants.

      Our favorite summer squash is a hybrid called Zephyr that we get from Johnny’s Seeds. It’s a tender, delicious (and attractive) squash. But I’m a squash lover. I like them all. 🙂

      I like that you want to do a worker share. Back when we had the CSA we offered that and never had anyone take us up on it!

      Like

  5. What an impressive list. You’re busy busy–but the best kind…….work that is enjoyable.

    Like

  6. You ARE still blogging! I was starting to worry so I checked my reader and you were not there! Somehow your blog fell off of my follow list – which is strange as there was a Chinese blog on my list I did not follow, so wonder if they are somehow related…
    Well anyway, I’m glad to see you, and your gardens, are doing well albeit a bit mucky.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Good to hear from you! I’m not nearly as consistent as I once was, but still plugging along. I try to post a few times a week, but I’m doing a very poor job of keeping up with other blogs. Hoping all is going well with y’all.

      Like

  7. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, that’s a pretty big list of veggies for cutting back this year. 🙂 What will you be taking to the market this week. I’m just starting to plant here in Nebraska. The weather has been wet here too but not 10 inches wet. April was just kind of drizzley all month but the total rain fall was barely over three inches. When working the garden soil it was moist beyond my 12 inch spade depth of digging so I suspect all the extremely slow moisture soaked down deep. Next week will begin planting every thing. This year I’ll have lettuce, cabbage, onions, eggplant, green peppers, tomatoes, sweet corn, Winter squash, pumpkins, cucumbers, and this year I’m trying to incorporate Marigolds into the garden for beauty mainly but some say it keeps away harmful pests. It will be a busy week.

    Have a great farmer’s market day.

    Nebraska Dave

    Like

  8. Wow Bill, that is QUITE the list!
    Condolences on the muck; )

    Like

Leave a Reply

