Under Cover

I’m pleased with our cover crops this spring.

Our fall-sowed gardens have a thick beautiful cover now, dominated by crimson clover.

IMG_3837.JPG

Not only does the clover enrich the soil, the honeybees love it too.

IMG_3761.JPG

Yesterday I checked our hive and was pleased to find that the girls are well on their way to filling the first super. I added another to give them room for more, happy to know that we should be able to extract honey this year, for the first time in several years.

10 comments on “Under Cover

  1. shoreacres says:

    Beautiful photos. And, inquiring minds want to know: have you ever named twin goats Crimson and Clover?

    Like

  2. hamertheframer says:

    Beautiful! You’re in the clover Bill.

    Like

  3. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, love the look of the clover. Dad always planted clover in the small grain for two reasons. Clover has deep roots that would help break up the heavy clay ground that he farmed. It would be plowed under the next Spring to feed the planted corn nitrogen. He was very old style in farming with crop rotation and no weed or pesticide chemicals. I walked many rows of corn chopping out cockle burs, sunflowers, sand burs, and morning glory weeds. It was only just a few years ago that I decided it was OK to have sunflowers in a garden. Funny how a plant can be ingrained into my mind as a weed. It was really a process to change my mind on that one. I still can’t imagine a Morning Glory being a cultivated flower but some people do and I see it in the seed catalogs. Dandelion is another edible weed that I just can’t bring my self to consider a good thing. I have seen yards in my neighborhood that have been neglected that look beautiful when covered in Dandelion weeds. Pretty much every thing I consider a weed at Terra Nova Gardens is edible. Even that blasted Nettle weed can be eaten or drank if made into tea. I’m thinking I’d have to be very hungry to eat some those weedy things.

    Have a great Fall garden preparation day.

    Nebraska Dave

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Most of our weeds are edible too. The most prevalent weed in our gardens this year is lambs quarter, which is delicious.

      I know what you mean about morning glories. Those were the bane of tobacco farmers, since they wrap around the leaves and tear them up when pulled. I was raised to eradicate them on sight! Meanwhile, we pay big bucks for clover seed while other people are paying big bucks to kill it in the lawns. I never understood why some people considered clover a weed.

      Like

  4. Scott says:

    The farmer who worked our land before it was ours planted winter wheat in the tobacco patches and then sprayed it dead in the spring to do corn or soy. That was 3 years ago for one patch and 2 years ago for the other. But the stuff keeps returning! He drilled hay all over in late fall, and I mowed all the wheat down recently to give the grass a fighting chance. I’ve mowed the wheat twice in my orchard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

