A Healthy Thing

In all affairs it’s a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted.

Bertrand Russell

7 comments on “A Healthy Thing

  1. Joanna says:

    It took me several readings of that and a mental placement of a comma after the now and then 😀 I think this is because I’m supposed to be reading a rejected paper to recreate a new one to send off again. You can take it from my posting here that it is not going well. A huge question mark over my ability to work through something 😀 I think I need to go back to basics and think how I taught my ADD son to work through a problem too large for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NebraskaDave says:

      Joanna, some of my friends have encouraged me to write. I am reluctant because of the whole process it takes to get published. Besides, I tell them that I’m not really a writer but just a blogger. I get to write what I want without of correction. Well, without correction most of the time. :-). Have you written books? I am some what of a collector of books written by writers that blog. Bill’s book was a fascinating read about food and the Methodist church connection with it. It inspired me to pay attention more to what I’m consuming. As a result, I’m almost 20 pounds lighter. I’m hoping you have better success with the recreation of the rejected paper.

      Have a great day in Latvia.

      Nebraska Dave

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        I am studying to do a PhD in Mainstreaming Participatory Development in Rural Latvia and Estonia. This basically means how to get people involved in the heart of planning and not just as an afterthought in a poorly thought out way. For my PhD I have to publish three papers in at least two reasonably high end journals, so yes I write. I also write a blog that is not so high end 😀

        Like

    • Bill says:

      I see what you mean. Maybe the quote would benefit from some editing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, Happy Good Friday. What better thing to contemplate today then Christ’s sacrifice today and not to just take it for granted. As I ponder over what Jesus had to endure, my problems in life seem very small. As Spring unfolds and comes to life, it’s not just another Spring but a unique Spring like no other. New life, new seeds sprouting, and new beauty to enjoy. The circle of life in nature might repeat itself but new life abounds whether it be newly born goats or newly grown seedlings. You can tell that Spring is my favorite season of the year. I’m so glad that I live in an area of the world that allows each season to last about three months. Spring here in Nebraska will indeed last to about the end of May. I could never take this time of the year for granted.

    Today is the traditional day to plant potatoes in Nebraska. I’m not going to make it this year but maybe tomorrow morning will be the time to get them planted. It will be the first thing in the ground for this year at Terra Nova Gardens.

    Have a great Good Friday.

    Nebraska Dave

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well maybe this wasn’t the best day to post a quote from Bertrand Russell. 🙂 I didn’t think about that until after it was published.

      It’s traditional here to put in gardens on Good Friday. My grandfather always planted his today.

      I put a few things in the ground today, but I don’t plan my planting around Good Friday. It’s a shame for that tradition to be lost so maybe I’ll try to be more mindful of it next year.

      Hope your weekend is off to a great start.

      Like

Leave a Reply

