This Month, But Not Yet

I should have made a note of the exact dates to expect our kids. I recall that our buck became amorous at a time that would assure April births, but I don’t recall exactly when. I used to be more careful about keeping track of that. In any event, we’re still waiting.

The two that were born a month ago were the products of one or two of our little bucklings, just before they went to market.

IMG_3526

One month old

Meanwhile the kids who were born last fall are nearly as big as their mamas now. We’ll take the bucklings to market next month and keep the doelings.

IMG_3521

Growing up

The good news is that it’s warm and dry now. So when these mamas finally get around to having their babies (and from the looks of things that could be any day now), we shouldn’t have to worry about weather-related complications.

IMG_3512

Her name is Dolly. Really. And this was taken a couple of days ago. She’s even more Dollyesque now.

 

 

15 comments on “This Month, But Not Yet

  1. Ah yes, love the waiting! We only have one more to go, and she is definitely not the one I would have bet on to go last. It’s always the way.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Within hours of me publishing this post one of our mamas had triplets. I haven’t been out yet this morning, but when I do I won’t be surprised to find more born last night.

      Like

  2. Joanna says:

    It is a good job that things like that weren’t left to me, I am hopeless at keeping track of things. I should be better and I could be if I absolutely had to, but……. 😀

    Like

  3. Dolly is charming LOL.. and all look cute.. And sometimes dates escape me too. 🙂
    Wishing you all a very Happy Easter too Bill.. xxx

    Like

  4. Those mamas do look ready, Bill. 🙂

    Like

  5. Phuong says:

    I love seeing your little herd of goats. They seem to have an interesting inquisitive look while you’re snapping their pics.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    That photo of the growing-up ones in their field of flowers is charming. I hope by now — or soon — you’ll have added to your herd. I grown inexplicably fond of your goats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

