Goings On

We’re down to one rooster and he is evidently a dud (as a friend puts it). Last year we tried to hatch two clutches from his flock and only one egg hatched. This year we tried again and none hatched.

So yesterday I asked a friend if I could have a dozen fertilized eggs from their farm. I hate to have the mama sit another three weeks but she seems determined not to give up. But later I had to go to the feed store for salt blocks and they had chicks for sale. So I decided to try a different approach.

I bought a dozen chicks (which we don’t need) and last night I tried switching them for the unhatched eggs. I did those once before a couple of years ago and it worked perfectly. The hen assumed the chicks were hers and she brooded them.

But this attempt was a fail. The hen not only wouldn’t accept the chicks, but she was aggressive toward them. So now we’re brooding a dozen new chicks and I’ll be going to my friend’s place for fertilized eggs later today.

IMG_3395.JPG

IMG_3392

In the glow of the heat lamp

IMG_3399

The would-be Mama, in a huff. “Don’t be bringing those chicks around here.”

Still waiting on more goat babies. I put in the spring garden and it’s weed-free and beautiful (a condition that will not last long).

IMG_3390

The asparagus is starting to arrive, along with apple blossoms.

IMG_3405

And we have hundreds of crickets in the hoop house. Any advice on what to do about that would be appreciated.

Happy Spring y’all.

47 comments on “Goings On

  1. thecrazysheeplady says:

    Put some chickens in the hoop house?

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Ed says:

    Being fairly new to your blog and seeing your spring garden for the first time, I must say that is more like a field than a garden!

    Like

  3. 1:10 molasses to water in a dish or bowl. Crickets will die a sweet death.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Scott says:

    I like the chicken idea, if you don’t have a bunch of succulent little tender greens growing in there, which you probably do…
    Too bad she wouldn’t brood the chicks. Nice idea though. Poor girl will be skinny as a board after two months of sitting…

    Like

    • Scott says:

      Forgot to ask what breed ckn you bought?

      Like

    • Bill says:

      Unfortunately chickens in the hoop house is not an option if you’re growing food in there. Yeah I hate it when they have to start over again. She’s done a great job so I’m convinced it’s the rooster’s fault.

      The chicks we bought are sex links.

      Like

  5. Stacy says:

    Poor fella! ❤

    Like

  6. It is spring! Maybe it is time for a new rooster, Bill. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When always try to keep two per flock, so we have a clean up hitter. But the second one in the flock was aggressive and I couldn’t break him from attacking people, so he had to go to freezer camp. Predators killed both roosters in the other flock. I’ve been on the lookout for a new one and was hoping to raise one out of this clutch of eggs. Usually the problem is too many roosters.

      Liked by 2 people

      • DM says:

        Freezer camp 🙂 Hadn’t heard that one before. Love it. I am hoping to get a rooster for our (4) laying hens shortly…they have been 100% free range since the 1st of the year….been laying right along. their little food sack is always full @ the end of the day..sure beats buying feed. My biggest concern is a feisty rooster. I don’t mind them, I enjoy the interaction…(feisty roosters) It’s the closest I get to being in a rodeo.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Attacking people, definitely a no-no if you want to get along in a barnyard and not go off to freezer camp! 🙂 –Curt

        Like

  7. “Don’t be bringing those chicks round here….” Hahaha — made me laugh out loud. Thanks!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      She was fierce. I expected her to peck me (which she did with gusto) but she went after the chicks too. She wasn’t going to be fooled. 🙂

      Like

  8. BeeHappee says:

    Well, chickens do not have a reputation for being the brightest but c’mon, they are smarter than we think. And so are the crickets. 🙂
    Bill, I think you just used all that as excuse to get more chickens. 🙂 And now you can use cricket infestation as an excuse to get more!! 🙂 I follow the FaceBook group Scott’s Backyard Chickens (not our Scott here), and it is always funny to watch people getting so addicted to more and more chickens, some cannot go to the feed store without coming back with another batch!

    Like

  9. Joanna says:

    We have had difficulty raising chicks along with our neighbours and they are all genetically different. Odd we have similar problems in different places. Our chickens have to live inside until July due to Avian flu and so we will slow down adding to our flock. We also seem to have got a problem with egg eaters too 😦 Hope you and I have better luck this year

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I onky know once solution-use for crickets… bait… go fishin’ 🎣

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Oh, I SO have asparagus envy, Bill! (There won’t be any here for at least another month):):
    And apparently your broody Momma’s not such a dumb cluck after all, hey?; )

    Like

  12. valbjerke says:

    Catch those crickets and advertise them as food for lizards/iguanas….

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ah, Spring. Chicks, a freshly tilled garden, and ………..crickets?? I find ONE a delight, many–not so much so.

    Like

  14. Beautiful garden Bill, the ground looks soft and fluffy. I see you have what looks like an electric fence around your garden I presume to keep the deer and other critters out. Hows that work for you and can you tell me how tall it is. I may have to do something similar.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s the Premier net fencing. You’ll notice that it’s double-fenced. It works until the deer figure out they can jump it, which they usually start doing later in the season. I’m not sure I’d recommend it, as it’s pretty expensive. We bought ours a little at a time over the first few years we were gardening. I think a single strand of energized polywire with another one about three feet out from out at a slightly higher or lower height would work just as well.

      Like

  15. shoreacres says:

    I never hear the word “crickets” without remembering the time my folks and I were on vacation (I was about junior high age) when El Dorado, Arkansas, was invaded by literal swarms of the things. I remember my mother shoving wet towels in the crack at the bottom of the door to keep them from coming in, and I remember the car crashes everywhere — there were so many squished crickets, the roads were slick. It was Hitchcock-level crickets.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

