Done

Last night I wrote the final scenes in my novel. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I was doing research for a book about local history when a newspaper story from 1918 sidetracked me. On January 19 a story started coming to me (inspired by the article). I began typing it a few days later and now it’s done: about 70,000 words. TheΒ story, called Jim Wrenn, begins in the mountains of western Virginia, proceeds to a mill town on a river in the Piedmont and ends up on a nearby farm. The story occurs betweenΒ 1909 to 1942, then jumps forward to 1995-96. I’m no Tolstoy by any stretch of the imagination, but I think it’s a pretty good story.

Now I just need to figure out what to do with the darn thing.

On to more interesting news: we’ve only had one new kid since my last update, but she’s a real cutie.

IMG_3347

Lots more on the way.

 

29 comments on “Done

  1. First that new Kid is so so cute.. And the story you created Bill sounds an amazing one that was inspired.. I am sure you will be inspired to take it one step further and put it into print.. πŸ™‚
    I am toying with the idea of putting my poems in some sort of order and book format as many reflect the world and my own moods throughout the years.. So maybe too I will get inspired πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. You wrote a novel in 2 months? Remarkable! Congrats on completing it, Bill.

    Like

  3. I envy those that can write. I do well to get a simple blog down and even then my grammar sucks along with my spelling. It’s something they just couldn’t beat into as a student no matter how hard they tried.

    Like

  4. aww she’s cute and way to go on the novel! ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. Sounds like the kind of story I would love. Good luck in getting it published, I will buy one when it does.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Gordon. I haven’t decided what to do with it yet. First step is having someone read it and tell me whether they think it’s any good or not.

      Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    Bill, you are killing me softly with those baby goat photos. ❀ If you can sneak this one on the airplane, I will take her! Nice to see the birth of beautiful things: your novel, and baby goats. There is so much character and history in that part of the country, it is nice to see someone capturing it.
    Even here, out West, I am surprised every day by the history and the things often forgotten. We walked yesterday just down the road from the house, found some 900 year old native American ruins, which have been mercilessly looted, and then there is the gold digging story that started this whole town with its interesting characters, some of them, persisting into this day, like a bearded old man with his mismatched fender beater who seems to live at the creek panning for gold.
    Best of luck, and I look forward reading the story.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Sorry but you’ll have to come here and pick her up. πŸ™‚

      In my research for this book I came across so much fascinating history that we’ve largely forgotten in only a hundred years. I’ve never written any fiction before and I have my doubts as to its merit. But we’ll see. I like it, so that has to be worth something. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Dearest Bill,
    So happy for you that you finished your story! You will find out what to do next, no doubt – after all this work.
    Your kid is so super cute and for sure more will follow.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  8. An important step in the book process!!!
    Cute kid too!

    Like

  9. You can self publish on sites like Smashwords and kindle. As an e-book there is really no cost to publish just formatting requirements to follow. You get to keep a high percentage of the sale (70+%) There are a few print on demand companies that will create a printed version without an upfront cost. There are also printers who will print x number of copies for a few thousand dollars.
    You can also seek out an agent and try a “legitimate” publisher. This is much more difficult for new authors these days but if the book is really a stand out this might be a better way to go. Legitimate publishers will do more to promote the book and increase both distribution and sales. An agent will help you plan book signings etc.
    The problem with self publishing is getting traction for your book. Promoting it on facebook, and other social media can help. Blogging, getting positive reviews, etc. Potentially advertising with Google Ads or Facebook might help get it off the ground.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Great and very helpful info. Thanks Dennis.

      I wrote a book with a traditional publisher and it sold far more copies than I would have ever been able to sell on my own. Plus they did a great cover design, etc.

      But as you no doubt know it is extremely difficult to get a book deal for first-time fiction writers, or even to find an agent who will pursue one. In my case I’m not sure it’s even worth trying. I’m going to think on it.

      My wife published a cookbook with Amazon’s Createspace and was very impressed with it. No cost to the author and publishes on demand. She had to do all of her own copy-editing of course.

      Likely I’ll end up self-publishing it someday.

      Like

  10. What a cute goat! I like to read about 1918 quite a bit, because I have an interest in the Spanish flu. My grandfather was orphaned from the epidemic, and lost a sister as well.

    Like

  11. Bob Bushell says:

    I love the Goat, special.

    Like

  12. shoreacres says:

    My gosh. Look at what I’ve missed, falling behind! Congrats on getting the book finished — or what passes for finished, anyway. I know how that goes. I hardly can believe you managed it in two months. Clearly, it was a story that had been incubating for some time — and if it was one of those that “writes itself,” it makes perfect sense that you could do it. Like a nice yeast bread, it probably will profit from a little time to rest. Then, the answers to all the questions about “what next” will answer themselves.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Linda. I’d begun to think I wouldn’t be able to do a writing project this year. This was not what I had in mind when I started. It may never be ready for prime time, but certainly it isn’t now. I’m going to let a few people read it first then decide what to do next.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Congratulations on finishing the novel! I hope you get that baby into the hands of some publishers soon.

    I’m sure you know there are many small presses out there looking for solid fiction. Email me if you want some suggestions. And of course I’d be happy to write a review when it’s published. Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

