March Kids

Our spring kidding season is underway, and we’re off to a shaky start.

Fannie was the first to kid. A first-time Mama who almost died last winter, she’s a strong healthy doe now, but the least-tame goat in our herd. She repays my saving her life last year by running from me whenever I’m around.

On Friday I saw her out in the pasture in labor. After giving her plenty of time to kid I went to check on her, finding her walking around seemingly unconcerned about the hoof that was hanging out of her. Getting a closer look I saw not just a kid’s hoof, but also a nose and mouth. The kid’s tongue was hanging out of its mouth and clearly this was not the way it was supposed to arrive. Assuming it was an unfortunate stillborn, I  caught Fannie, pushed the kid’s head back in a little so I could reach in and find the other hoof, then pulled the kid out. He hit the ground squealing, perfectly healthy.

IMG_3169

Fannie’s baby, after his reluctant arrival

IMG_3200.JPG

Then yesterday morning at dawn I discovered that Carrie had kidded, another first-time Mama. Despite having warm deeply-bedded barn stalls available, she dropped the kid in the dirt, in the cold. When I found the kid she was freezing cold and barely breathing.  I brought her inside, cleaned her, and warmed her up with a blow dryer. Soon she perked up.

carrie's kid.jpg

This is how we roll on White Flint Farm

IMG_3293

Then I caught her mother and milked some colostrum from her, which I fed the kid with an eyedropper. I locked mama and baby in a stall together and now the kid is walking around and nursing fine.

It rained all night here, with temps in the thirties. I went out twice overnight to make sure no one had kidded in the freezing rain. Luckily they hadn’t. Will be heading out again in a few minutes to check on everyone.

Hoping it goes more smoothly from here on out.

On an entirely different subject, I can’t read WordPress blogs on Internet Explorer these days. I’ve googled the problem but found nothing. Chrome works fine, but I have my bookmarks on Explorer and don’t want to transfer them to Chrome. Anyone else having this problem? Any tips for what to do about it?

40 comments on “March Kids

  1. shoreacres says:

    I love seeing the kids, and I’m glad that all is well with them. A little refresher course for your mamas on “how to have that baby without hassling your human” might be in order. 🙂

    Re: your browser issues, there’s this, from the support page. I’d work through that, and then, if your issue isn’t resolved, go to the main support page and send an email.

    I’ll spare you the details, but my Happiness Engineer truly made me happy last week, sticking with my issue until it was resolved. I’d unknowingly created my own “problem” with my browser, but the answer was so simple that it took a lot of time to find it. I always go the “send an email to support” route these days, because their response time is good. It’s always less than 48 hours, and usually less than 24.

    Like

  2. thesnowwoman says:

    Two beautiful little does. So lucky you found them both in time.

    Like

  3. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, Spring birthing time is always a hectic challenging time that needs a keen eye and a helping hand at times. We had milk cows that needed watching during the Spring calving season. Dad was better at that than I ever was. He just had a sense about things like that. He could tell a lot about when things were going to happen by the body language of the animal. I never acquired that skill. Several times he saved calves from desperate situations. We always knew about when the calves would come because Dad used AI to breed them. He didn’t want to deal with a bull especially when the neighbor across the fence had prize Black Angus cattle that always seemed to be in heat. The only bull we had was a very young one that came with the farm when we bought it. He was born in the Winter and froze the tips of his ears off hence he was named “Ice Cube”. He didn’t last long because he kept jumping the fence into the neighbor’s prize Angus herd so, before he was old enough to really breed any thing, he was sold. He was gentle little bull but at 200 pounds just giving a loving head rub would almost knock me down. Those were some good memory days.

    Have a great March kidding day.

    Nebraska Dave
    Urban Farmer

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I didn’t want a bull here either so I intended to rely on AI. But my schedule was so busy in those days that I could never get the timing right. Eventually I got rid of our aging heifers. 🙂

      Like

  4. Good luck with the rest of the kids. We are one doe shy of being half through. It’s always interesting! Glad you were able to save your little doelings. They are sweet!

    Like

  5. Avery says:

    Cute babies! Glad you were there to help those little ones.

    Like

  6. Ed says:

    Although I’ve never raised goats, we used to have hogs and one quickly collects a pile of birthing stories. I’ve assisted with cattle and sheep as well but never my own. I never tired of helping new life into this world. Perhaps I had a different calling than an engineer and never knew it.

    Like

  7. LOVE these photos (every year: )
    Re your technical difficulties… LOL! Get a Mac?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well perhaps you just got all of the difficult births out of the way while you had the energy to deal with them and everything from here on out will be a breeze. Winter has return here and we are locked in a deep freeze that will last all week they say. What was up and blooming last week is wilted and laying on the ground today 😦 It’s starting off as a challenging gardening year.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah we’ve been down in the 20’s the last few nights. A couple of weeks ago I was fretting about the transplants not being ready yet, now I’m feeling relieved that they weren’t.

      Like

  9. Tom says:

    If you’re not on IE 11, you may need to upgrade to get things running. IE11 is generally the only version of IE that is supported these days. Beyond that, you could just import your bookmarks into chrome (see option in bookmarks menu; its pretty seamless).

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Tom. I’m pretty sure that’s it. Out here in the sticks those kinds of major downloads are problematic. It doesn’t help that my hard-drive is nearly full. But I know what I need to do now and will get it done eventually. Thanks again.

      Like

  10. MansWhirld says:

    Those babies will never know how good it was to have you watching over them 🙂

    Like

  11. Laura Wills says:

    They just can’t ever do things the easy way can they? Just like human kids!

    Like

  12. Awww….cute kid photos. I remember my dad’s cows doing similar things. We often had a calf in the house in front of the heat stove.

    Make sure your explorer is up to date or import your bookmarks to Chrome. It’s pretty easy to get them all over in the same organization even.

    Like

  13. Bill your kids are sure cute but they don’t look anything like you. Just Kidding lol

    Like

  14. Joanna says:

    Awwww! Kids are cute. We have three confirmed pregnancies in our alpaca herd this week. Our vet brought someone with an ultrasound along, as she was in the area. Happy days.

    Like

  15. Annie says:

    It sounds like “Call the Midwife” at your home. Absolutely adorable babies!

    I don’t use Internet Explorer anymore so I can’t help there. You may have already done this: make sure your IE browser is up to date and clean your browser cache.

    Like

  16. barnraised says:

    Oh my, so so cute!!!!!

    Like

  17. Warmed it with a blow dryer–love that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

