March Kids

Our spring kidding season is underway, and we’re off to a shaky start.

Fannie was the first to kid. A first-time Mama who almost died last winter, she’s a strong healthy doe now, but the least-tame goat in our herd. She repays my saving her life last year by running from me whenever I’m around.

On Friday I saw her out in the pasture in labor. After giving her plenty of time to kid I went to check on her, finding her walking around seemingly unconcerned about the hoof that was hanging out of her. Getting a closer look I saw not just a kid’s hoof, but also a nose and mouth. The kid’s tongue was hanging out of its mouth and clearly this was not the way it was supposed to arrive. Assuming it was an unfortunate stillborn, I  caught Fannie, pushed the kid’s head back in a little so I could reach in and find the other hoof, then pulled the kid out. He hit the ground squealing, perfectly healthy.

IMG_3169

Fannie’s baby, after his reluctant arrival

IMG_3200.JPG

Then yesterday morning at dawn I discovered that Carrie had kidded, another first-time Mama. Despite having warm deeply-bedded barn stalls available, she dropped the kid in the dirt, in the cold. When I found the kid she was freezing cold and barely breathing.  I brought her inside, cleaned her, and warmed her up with a blow dryer. Soon she perked up.

carrie's kid.jpg

This is how we roll on White Flint Farm

IMG_3293

Then I caught her mother and milked some colostrum from her, which I fed the kid with an eyedropper. I locked mama and baby in a stall together and now the kid is walking around and nursing fine.

It rained all night here, with temps in the thirties. I went out twice overnight to make sure no one had kidded in the freezing rain. Luckily they hadn’t. Will be heading out again in a few minutes to check on everyone.

Hoping it goes more smoothly from here on out.

On an entirely different subject, I can’t read WordPress blogs on Internet Explorer these days. I’ve googled the problem but found nothing. Chrome works fine, but I have my bookmarks on Explorer and don’t want to transfer them to Chrome. Anyone else having this problem? Any tips for what to do about it?

