Humble and Kind

Corny maybe, but I really like the message in this song.

Humble and Kind

You know there’s a light that glows by the front door
Don’t forget the key is under the mat
Childhood stars shine, always stay humble and kind
Go to church ’cause your momma says to
Visit grandpa every chance that you can
It won’t be a waste of time
Always stay humble and kind

Hold the door, say please, say thank you
Don’t steal, don’t cheat, and don’t lie
I know you got moutains to climb but
Always stay humble and kind
When the dreams you’re dreamin’ come to you
When the work you put in is realized
Let yourself feel the pride but
Always stay humble and kind

Don’t expect a free ride from no one
Don’t hold a grudge or a chip and here’s why
Bitterness keeps you from flying
Always stay humble and kind
Know the difference between sleeping with someone
And sleeping with someone you love
I love you ain’t no pick up line so
Always stay humble and kind

Hold the door, say please, say thank you
Don’t steal, don’t cheat, and don’t lie
I know you got moutains to climb but
Always stay humble and kind
When those dreams you’re dreamin’ come to you
When the work you put in is realized
Let yourself feel the pride but
Always stay humble and kind

When it’s hot, eat a root beer popsicle
Shut off the AC and roll the windows down
Let that summer sun shine
Always stay humble and kind
Don’t take for granted the love this life gives you
When you get where you’re goin’
Turn right back around
Help the next one in line
Always stay humble and kind

15 comments on “Humble and Kind

  1. Have always loved that song and it’s wise message. I strive to live a life of kindness.

    Like

  2. This is a new song for me Bill.. But I loved it and the lyrics.. If we all practiced those words in the song.. What a different world we would be living in..
    Enjoy your week Bill..
    Sue πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    There’s nothing “corny” about it at all. While there are plenty of people pontificating about the behavior of the students (and others) at such places as Middlebury College, there are others who’ve mused that we may be seeing what happens when you have a generation raised by parents who think “please” and “thank you” are irrelevant artifiacts from another age, and that kindness to others is weakness.

    I was walking down a dock the other day when I passed a man who’s involved with some construction happening there. He was in jeans, boots, and cowboy hat. When I smiled and said hello, he touched the brim of his hat with that gesture that substitutes for a full hat tip. I kept smiling the rest of the day. Such little gestures do make a difference.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I feel fortunate to live in a place where good manners are still the norm. I don’t know what behavior you’re talking about, and I’m not going to google it, as it would likely just made me mad. πŸ™‚

      We went to a screening of a new documentary about Wendell Berry last night. Probably without intending to, the film powerfully illustrates the rural/urban divide that exists in our culture right now. If we lose our traditional values, we will have lost something of immense importance, imho.

      Liked by 2 people

      • BeeHappee says:

        Did you get to see The Seer? I will have to request it at our library, looking forward to watching. I had been pondering on the values/culture for some time now. I see a huge difference between just a large urban areas and smaller communities. When we moved out of the 9 million population Chicagoland area, and lived in 2,000 population Vermont town, the difference in community, people, culture, values was HUGE. It is almost like a different planet altogether. For me, personally, something about the urban areas feels very inherently broken. 😦 (or I am getting very old).

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Yes. It’s the same film but the one we saw was titled Come and See. There was a Q&A with the filmmaker afterwards. It was refreshing to see a sympathetic portrayal of rural America. I highly recommend it. I don’t know what to say about the rural/urban divide, except that it feels unhealthy to me. I have been pondering it (and researching it) a long time too. One thing seems very clear to me–the things Wendell Berry was saying and writing 40 years ago look a lot like fulfilled prophecies now.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. BeeHappee says:

    Bill, you are a living example of humble kindness. And my hero. πŸ™‚ While traveling, on the road, I had experienced so many kind and trusting acts from people, that it is truly humbling.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Oh goodness Bee. I am surely unworthy of such a compliment. Your humility and kindness has shone through often in the time I’ve virtually known you, and here it is again. πŸ™‚

      People are good. One of the most remarkable things about humanity is how well we get along. So glad that you’ve been able to experience it all across the world!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This song is still winning awards. The song writer simply wanted to make a list of things she wanted her children to remember. Love this song!!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I know this comment will make me sound like an old man, but when I think of this song versus the lyrical messages in 90% of the stuff on the radio, I can only shake my head.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely, had not heard this one before. Definitely a very simple and wise message. My husband and I lived in the town in North Jersey where he grew up (and at that point it was all farms), and by the time our kids went to school it was a very cut-throat, unfriendly place to live. Moving to small town Maine has been a real blessing, and having my grandson grow up nearby is even nicer!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I know rural and small-town life isn’t for everyone. In some ways humanity has tended to flourish in cities. But for me there’s no comparison. I’m country. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

