Stand On

A song I’ve been noodling around with.

Capo 2
strum pattern: dduudu

D
There are things that I have
Em
That I never earned
G
There are things that I know
A
That I never learned
D
There is ground that I’ve plowed
Em
That I’ve never turned
G
There are fires I’ve desired
A
That have never burned

(Bridge)
C–>E
C–>Am

D
Freed from the illusion
Em
of pretending to own
G
the things I possess
A
that are only on loan
D
Cleansed by dirty hands
Em
I have been shown
G
That what I stand for
A
Is what I stand on

 

(After typing this I chuckled when I realized the last bit will only rhyme in our particular variety of  southern accent, where “on” rhymes with “shown”)

 

13 comments on “Stand On

  1. BeeHappee says:

    This is great, Bill. I LOVE it!

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    Beautiful lyrics!

    Like

  3. Love it and would love to hear it. Do a video please! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. ain't for city gals says:

    Ha! Video! Video! Video! …If not now …when…

    Like

  5. Scott says:

    Didn’t know you played guitar. One of those things I’m going to do soon, learn to play. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m self taught (and it shows). I bought a guitar and learned back when I was commuting and was away from home most nights. I’ve enjoyed messing around with it. Hope you get to give it a try!

      Like

  6. Annie says:

    Very nice! If not a video, how about an audio?

    Like

  7. Lynda says:

    I read your comment on rhyme and instantly thought of slant rhyme. If you don’t know what it is, then go here: http://www.literarydevices.com/half-rhyme/ This is why shown and on works.

    I enjoyed your song even without a recorded presentation. (You couldn’t make me sing or be on video either 😉 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

