Winter Spinach

IMG_3084.JPG

While our lettuce has grown best, the best-tasting thing we’ve grown this winter is spinach. Whether because of the weather, the hoop house conditions, or some other factor(s),ย it’s the tastiest spinach we’ve ever grown.

IMG_3088.JPG

We’ll definitely grow it again next winter.

27 comments on “Winter Spinach

  1. Ed says:

    I really love raw spinach salads!

    Like

  2. YUM!
    And to think I grew up HATING spinach. That was the era of “boiling everything to death”. My mother was a good woman, but she boiled everything. When I think how wonderful raw spinach in a salad is or just gently sauteed in a little butter. She really missed out on some goodies!
    Glad you’ve had such success this winter.
    I’ll take the leftovers!
    ; )

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love sauteed spinach, but this is do delicious and buttery when raw that I’m just as happy to have it that way. Plus, it feels like you get more spinach that way. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. marie s. says:

    What variety of spinach are you growing?

    Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    That doesn’t look at all like any spinach I’ve ever had. All I find is really smooth-leaved. This looks so good. I’ll bet it is great in salads.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m not sure why the large-scale commercial producers prefer the smooth leaf varieties. Maybe they’re easier to harvest and package. Savoyed leaves take up more space in a bag, so maybe that’s why they don’t like them, since spinach is usually sold by weight. Maybe someone who knows the answer will weigh in. Whatever the reason, the savoyed-leaf varieties are superior, imho. I’m not sure if spinach grows in your area but if it does I’d recommend checking around at your farmers market. You’ll probably find someone with savoyed varieties there. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        Actually, I only buy spinach at the farmers’ market. I’ll ask tomorrow, because all I’ve seen there are the smooth varieties.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Maybe climate is a factor. I’ll be interested to know what you find out!

        Like

      • Nita says:

        The smooth leaves shed the soil better, so are faster and easier to clean on a large scale. Bloomsdale is a good variety for us too!

        Like

      • Bill says:

        Today at the market one of our customers commented that it was impossible to find the crinkly leaved spinach in the stores now and I asked her if she knew why. She said it disappeared after an e-coli outbreak involving spinach a few years ago, for the reason you say. They were concerned that it was harder to wash the savoy leaves than the smooth leaves. I suspect their insurance companies may now limit them to smooth leaves for liability reasons.

        Like

      • Ed says:

        The varieties we grow up here look just like yours in the sense they don’t have smooth leaves. Like you, I think they taste superior and am not sure why big producers go with the flat leafed varieties.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        From what I learned today, Nita is right. The smooth leaves are easier to wash and there was concern about savoy leaves after an e-coli episode a few years ago.

        Like

  5. Looks delicious, Bill. Makes me want to break out in a stirring rendition of Popeye the Sailor. โ€“Curt

    Like

  6. avwalters says:

    Makes me crave spring, and wish I was Popeye.

    Like

  7. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, you are making me want a high hoop house more and more with each post. The spinach is looking wonderful. I never liked spinach because like Susan said my mother boiled it to death and then dowsed it with vinegar. Blah! I learned much later in life that it could be eaten raw and tasted much better. I should really try planting some spinach this year along with the planned Swiss Chard and lettuce. Throw in some radishes and onions and a nice salad is beginning to form. In another day or so I’ll be planting lettuce seeds on the heat mat. It will be right after the onions and cabbages come off the mat.

    We are still having the 60 degree days and even had a 70 degree day yesterday. Never fear though Winter is coming back next week with subfreezing temperatures for highs but by the time March gets here in a couple more weeks Winter will mostly be over and there will be more nice days returning. I’ve seen flocks of Robins the last couple weeks and my Tulips are breaking the surface. All signs of coming Spring are beginning to show up.

    Have a great Spinach harvesting day.

    Nebraska Dave
    Urban Farmer
    dbentz24@gmail.com

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been unseasonably warm here all winter. We’re forecast to be in the 60s and 70s for the next ten days! One of my friends says her strawberries are blooming. There’s a lot of anxiety about what happens if the fruit trees bud and then we have a killing freeze. Oh well, weather is never dull. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  8. I love young spinach leaves in salads Bill, as well as steamed as a veggie.. Yours looks very healthy.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend.. Hugs Sue

    Like

  9. Perhaps I’ve missed it, but sometime could you give some details on your hoop house? We have been having such a mild winter in PA that I still have kale surviving, and some very small spinach as well. Perhaps if we had a small scale hoop house? How affordable are they for small scale vegetable growers?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A friend of mine made his out of cattle panels and t-posts. I think he said he spent about $100 on it and the stuff he’s growing in it looks beautiful.

      Ours is fancier because we got an NRCS grant and the guidelines required that. I recommend you ask your extension agent about it.

      Like

  10. What variety is this Bill?

    Like

Leave a Reply

