Now I Become Myself

Now I become myself. It’s taken
Time, many years and places;
I have been dissolved and shaken,
Worn other people’s faces,
Run madly, as if Time were there,
Terribly old, crying a warning,
“Hurry, you will be dead before–”
(What? Before you reach the morning?
Or the end of the poem is clear?
Or love safe in the walled city?)
Now to stand still, to be here,
Feel my own weight and density!
The black shadow on the paper
Is my hand; the shadow of a word
As thought shapes the shaper
Falls heavy on the page, is heard.
All fuses now, falls into place
From wish to action, word to silence,
My work, my love, my time, my face
Gathered into one intense
Gesture of growing like a plant.
As slowly as the ripening fruit
Fertile, detached, and always spent,
Falls but does not exhaust the root,
So all the poem is, can give,
Grows in me to become the song,
Made so and rooted by love.
Now there is time and Time is young.
O, in this single hour I live
All of myself and do not move.
I, the pursued, who madly ran,
Stand still, stand still, and stop the sun!

May Sarton

26 comments on “Now I Become Myself

  1. teresaevangeline says:

    This pulls together several threads of thought this morning. The timing is perfect. Thank you for posting it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Oh, my. I have several Sarton books on the shelf, but haven’t come across this — or didn’t notice it when I did. When I turned seventy, I pulled her “At Seventy” off the shelf, and have been dipping into it. Rich stuff.

    Now that I’ve changed blog templates, I need to redo my About page, and I think this might find a place there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      It’s great, isn’t it? All these appreciative comments make me glad I posted it this morning. I especially like seeing that the first two comments are from outstanding poets themselves (and another one further down). πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Those first three lines said it all for me.
    I FINALLY am who I am. Wonderful place to be!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      The poem begins with a powerful punch, doesn’t it? It’s true for me too I think. After a lot of time, and running about, now I get to become myself.

      Like

  4. thesnowwoman says:

    This was a welcome read this morning, thanks. I am still striving and I am always chasing time, and stressing over the loss of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the poem. I am still finding that place when I can be my whole self. But that is the quest, and it is better defined from the reading of this poem. Thanks.

    Like

  6. Loved this poetic verse Bill.. Thank you for its share…

    “Now there is time and Time is young.
    O, in this single hour I live”….

    Let us make the most of our Time and energy.. In every single moment.. πŸ™‚

    Well wishes your Way Bill.
    Sue πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, it’s always an encouragement to see what you have been pondering. This poem is very thought provoking, encouraging, and makes me think about life and what it truly means. I remember a discussion in my Life group about if I could go back and do things over in my life would I do it. I’m not so proud of many things that I’ve done through out my life but I believe every thing that’s happened good, bad, and ugly, bad decisions and all have made me who I am. After pondering the question at length, I decided that no I would not change any thing. The rough things in life have put things in my character that could not have gotten there any other way. Being able to avoid the bad decisions in life is not necessarily a good thing. Some of the later in life decisions and conclusions have been a direct result of all the things that have happened in life leading up to those decisions and conclusions. So I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Have a great being still day.

    Nebraska Dave

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I can think of a few things I’d do differently, a few regrets, but I wouldn’t change my life path. Not so much because I don’t think I could have made a better path (I’m sure I could have), but because if I did change it then too many things I cherish would change or not happen. My regrets are minor compared to all the blessings.

      Like

  8. barnraised says:

    Really like this, thanks for posting it!

    Like

  9. BeeHappee says:

    “Falls but does not exhaust the root” <3. Thank you for sharing, Bill.

    Like

  10. We had similar thoughts today. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  11. ast117@wildblue.net says:

    stumbled onto this blog….maybe you already know it. BaconFromAcorns.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

