Stop Running

Truth is not the result of an effort, the end of a road. It is here and now, in the very longing and the search for it….It is your own.
Just stop running away by running after.
Stand still, be quiet.
— Nisargadatta Maharaj

We do so much, we run so quickly, the situation is difficult, and many people say, “Don’t just sit there, do something.” But doing more things may make the situation worse.
So you should say, “Don’t just do something, sit there.” Sit there, stop, be yourself first, and begin from there.
— Thich Nhat Hanh

 

Merry Christmas y’all

May we all find the time to be still.

6 comments on “Stop Running

  1. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, yes, may we all find time to do nothing. I know. It’s so counter productive to the culture we live in. Doing nothing is counted as wasting time. I have found that projects go better with frequent breaks and slow work. It kind of goes against the grain of the American work ethic but I seem to get almost the same amount of work done and it’s way more enjoyable. For me many solutions come in the still of the moment. Being still in the garden, allows the sounds of nature to be heard. Singing birds, leaves rustling from scurrying animals, buzzing of the bees, the chatter of the squirrels, the call of the wild turkeys and many more. There is so much more to life by just being still.

    Have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year on the White Flint Farm.

    Nebraska Dave

    P.S. Last year we had 8 inches of snow on the ground. This year we are headed toward 55 degrees with a thunder storm in progress. Thunder, lightening, wind, the whole works. Oh, how I love Nebraska. Really, I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Merry Christmas Dave!

      I don’t think being still in the garden and listening to nature is doing nothing. It’s doing something very important. 🙂 But I know what you mean. As an adult Christmas has always been a weird day for me. I feel guilty if I work, even though that’s what I enjoy doing. So I do a lot of fidgeting.

      It’s warm here too. Rained yesterday. If it had been cold we’d have had a white Christmas. No snow yet this year here, but I’m sure we’ll have some eventually. No rush as far as I’m concerned.

      Like

  2. Merry Christmas, Bill, to you and your loved ones. Wishing you peace and joy (which I’ve found can go together!) and love.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    And of course, there is this, from Psalm 46: “Be still, and know that I am God.” It isn’t only the Eastern traditions that understand the need for silence, stillness, and receptivity. Western scriptures and monastic traditions have honored those values for centuries. We’ve only forgotten.

    Merry Christmas to you and Cheri, and all who round your table go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

