The Kids Are Alright

I’ve been remiss. We have five cute kids on the farm and it’s been nearly a month since I’ve shared any pictures of them here. Time to remedy that.

IMG_2395.JPG

IMG_2414.JPG

IMG_2475.JPG

IMG_2488.JPG

They’re at a great age. Curious, comical and fearless. If I sit down in the pasture they like to jump and climb on me. I haven’t figured out a way to get good photographs of that.

img_2567

Playing on the salt block

IMG_2583.JPG

IMG_2593.JPG

IMG_2598.JPG

They’re growing and enjoying our cool, but mild, weather.

IMG_2632.JPG

IMG_2747.JPG

Playing king of the hill

IMG_2773.JPG

Another day on the job

IMG_2805.JPG

IMG_2807.JPG

I’ve been posting farm pictures (mostly kids these days) more regularly on our Instagram page. If you’re not on Instagram you can see the pictures here. They’re in the right hand column. You can click on them to view them. You don’t have to have an Instagram account.

Hoping everyone is enjoying the season.

25 comments on “The Kids Are Alright

  1. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, I can see that cuteness on White Flint Farm is at a high level. Traveling through foreign countries is quite interesting but some times the simple things at home are the best, don’t you think? Then again I’m not a traveler at heart. I love just being at home with normal every day things to tend to. I would have made a good farmer but technology trumped farming and a career in that wooed me away from farming. I often wonder if I had made the choice to be a small time farmer how life would have been. I don’t regret the career path I chose but when I’m at Terra Nova Gardens and taking a break at the picnic table just thinking about things, it just seems right to be digging in the dirt and growing produce.

    Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year. Have you figured out the first planting of the hoop house yet? That would be a over whelming task for me.

    Have a great day on the White Flint Farm.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Dave. Farm living is the life for me.

      Right now we have lettuce, spinach, kale, radishes, Asian greens and turnips in the hoop house and they all look good. In April I plan to plant tomatoes and green beans. Not exactly sure what we’re going to do but you can be sure I’ll post about it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful photos! Nothing can upstage a baby goat.

    Like

  3. teresaevangeline says:

    Oh my, this is a Christmas gift for me …. love these kids …

    Liked by 1 person

  4. teresaevangeline says:

    Merry Christmas to you and Cherie … and may 2017 be a very good year.

    Like

  5. avwalters says:

    Kids these days…what can I tell ya?

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    The photo of the kid on the salt block is charming. Clearly, that “let’s go climb the mountain” instinct is part of the package when you have goats. Merry Christmas to you all — two footed and four footed!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I put a bale of hay in the shed, all five of them immediately jump on it. They do have a powerful instinct to climb on things. 10 muddy poopy hooves constantly jumping on the salt block isn’t the best thing for it, but there’s no stopping them.

      A very merry Christmas to you as well Linda!

      Like

  7. Cute indeed! You have Circus Kids…. Thanks for the smiles.

    Like

  8. March Picker says:

    Delightful! These babies add even more joy to a joyful season — no kidding!

    Like

  9. Zambian Lady says:

    The second last selfie is really cute – to clarify, cute because of the kid :). I didn’t know that goats are this friendly and playful. May our neighbors’ goats were always running away when they saw us because we had to chase them from our garden!

    Happy holidays to you and the kids

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Goats have unique personalities. Some are very friendly and playful, and some are shy and easily frightened. This is a very friendly group of kids, maybe because they’re following the lead of the oldest and most assertive of the bunch.

      All best wishes for a joyous holiday season!

      Like

  10. BeeHappee says:

    O love their playfulness!!! Merry Christmas to you all.

    Like

  11. Dearest Bill,
    That is a very fun series of photos!
    Wishing you both a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year in good health.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  12. So cute!!! I love the pictures of them playing on the salt block! Are these full boer goats or a cross? Merry Christmas!

    Like

  13. thadeaux says:

    Beautiful. Happy New Year to all the kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

