Looking Up

I am, that is.

IMG_2200.JPG

The trees undress for the winter. They’ll be naked soon.

But first, if they aren’t content to stay perpetually clad in green, they change into their orange, yellow, red and golden outfits. But only for a little while.

IMG_2187.JPG

So I’m looking up. It won’t last much longer.

14 comments on “Looking Up

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    It is beautiful while it lasts. Ours are gone and under snow. We had 15 cm last week and it snowed all day yesterday. I guess it might be a white Christmas 🎄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      We’ve had snow this early, but not much chance of it this year. It’s been a warm fall so far. It was 70 here today.

      If and when we get snow, I know it will be beautiful. I hope you’re enjoying it.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m noticing some changes in our cypress, at last. I think it’s going to be one of those years where there’s less color and more “let’s just drop these and get it over with.” No matter. The season is changing, and I’m glad. I saw my first coots and belted kingfishers last week. Their arrival always is the sign of true cold up north, so we may be into autumn at last.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy the rather dramatic changes in season here. Cherie favors the more subtle changes we had in Florida.

      Looking around you’d know it’s late fall here. But it was 70 degrees today and we haven’t had any rain in nearly two months. It’s been pretty, but not a typical autumn (if there is any such thing).

      Like

    • Say “Hi!” to the Kingfishers for me, will you Linda? Always miss hearing their rattling cries as they streak past… Until next year; )

      Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Bill, to you and your family!! Looks like you have a lot of color still. I was amazed on how colorful the large oak woods looked in the Ozarks in late November, on our ride to Arizona. And Sedona, Arizona, is at peak colors of gold, beautiful white-stemmed gold-crowned sycamores lining the canyons. We are expecting some snow on Sunday here in Prescott mountains and kids are excited. Enjoy the seasons!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The oaks are the last to turn here, and they go to dark orange/brown. Very pretty. The bright yellows and reds are mostly gone now. Every fall nature paints a different picture for us. This years version has been very nice.

      I enjoyed the beautiful pictures of Arizona that you posted on Facebook. I’ve never been in that part of the country but it looks amazing. Thanks for sharing your journeys with us.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s been interesting watching the trees slowly change colours in October, then those brilliant colours fade to a more muted shade, then the leaves fall.

    Like

  5. Our trees have dropped their leaves, now, for the most part, Bill, but as I often reflect in my blog, I also think that the ‘naked’ trees have great beauty. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Absolutely. I can’t recall the line exactly, but Wendell Berry says something like “things come closer in the winter.” In context, what he means is that when the trees shed their leaves we can see farther through the woods. Things that were too distant to see (like my neighbors several miles away) become visible. I enjoy all the seasons. There is something special about fall, but winter has its beauty too of course.

      Like

      • Fall has a dazzle-dazzle beauty much to be admired; winter is more subtle and even stark, but few things can match the beauty of new fallen snow. At least that’s how I feel. 🙂 –Curt

        Like

  6. Scott says:

    Fall colors certainly lasted longer than usual around here, did it there? Here’s to fall lasting as long as it wants (at least this year for me 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s been a warm and extremely dry fall here. That isn’t ideal for our pastures and gardens, but I wouldn’t be upset about if I were in your boat right now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

