Day 5

IMG_1359.JPG

On our last day in Paris we walked to the Pere Lachaise cemetery, quite a long hike from the Latin Quarter.

The cemetery is beautiful and is the final resting place for lots of famous people.

IMG_1378.JPG

IMG_1368.JPG

Moliere

IMG_1374.JPG

Abelard and Heloise

IMG_1376.JPG

Chopin

IMG_1379.JPG

Balzac

IMG_1381.JPG

Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas

There were very few tourists there, and most were at Jim Morrison’s grave.

IMG_1370.JPG

On the way back we saw a sign of the times–a line of asylum-seekers.

IMG_1382.JPG

Later in the day we spent some time in the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens.

IMG_1407.JPG

IMG_1388.JPG

IMG_1406.JPG

IMG_1389.JPG

IMG_1405.JPG

Greek god, taking a selfie

IMG_1392.JPG

IMG_1398.JPG

IMG_1394.JPG

Nous sommes touristes

That night we met up with Cherie’s niece and her husband, who were arriving for a visit just as we were leaving.

The next morning we rented a car, pulled up the anchor and set off on a 1300 km trip across Champagne, Lorraine and Alsace.

19 comments on “Day 5

  1. Bill I am so delighted you are taking a well earned holiday and LOVED those photo’s of Paris.. πŸ™‚ Enjoy Sue

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Sue. We’ve been back well over a month now. I’m just finally getting around to blogging about it. Glad you enjoyed the photos. Not the sort of thing I normally blog about of course, but I’m pleased that some folks find these posts interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. avwalters says:

    Looks like the Emma Caites tour.

    Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Selfies. πŸ™‚ cannot wait to hear the rest.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’d never seen a “selfie stick” but I must have seen hundreds of them in Paris. Evidently they’re very popular now. The museums even have signs prohibiting them (to no avail). Just as we were leaving the grave of Abelard and Heloise someone showed up with a selfie stick and started taking pictures with it. It was crazy. Our “selfies” were done the low-tech way.

      Like

  4. allisonmohr says:

    I love that cemetery. We haven’t been there, maybe we’ll go back for that.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s an interesting and historic place. As you know, there is way too much to see in Paris to do everything in a week.

      In hindsight I wish I’d tried to do these posts while there, like you did. I’m sure I’m already forgetting some of things I wanted to mention.

      Like

  5. Thanks for sharing more of your trip. We love exploring cemeteries. That is a particularly interesting one.

    Like

  6. Laurie Graves says:

    I love these posts! I, too, found the cemetery fascinating. So many artists buried there. Nice picture of you and Cherie. Fun caption for the statue taking a selfie πŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    I just can’t post while traveling. I need time to absorb what I’ve seen, and to separate the wheat from the chaff, so to speak. I keep a small notebook with the daily chronology, and very brief notes, and depend on that and the photos. This time, I did take a yellow magic marker and a nice, brand-new, 2017 Rand McNally road atlas, and also traced the route I traveled, with all the loops and swirls. That atlas was a gem — spiral bound, with some kind of paper that never tore, not one time. It’s a bit analog, but there you are.

    I would have spent a week in the cemetery. I love them. I laughed at Balzac’s tomb. Every time I hear his name, I hear the lines from “The Music Man” where the ladies are criticizing Marian for allowing BALZAC!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      In the old days when we traveled (over a decade ago now) I kept a journal. I’d get up early every morning, before anyone else was up, and write down the details of the previous day. Once I just made brief notes as reminders, but wrote them all up on the flight back.

      It’s been a long time since I kept handwritten journals. Now I keep a journal on the computer. So when I started journaling on this trip I just couldn’t get into a groove. After a couple of days I gave up, intending to do it when I got back, using the pictures as reminders. But now it’s been nearly 2 months and I’m still not done. And I’m finding that my pictures were almost entirely of “sights” and not of the more common things I wanted to remember. For example I was struck by the elegant middle aged and elderly Parisian women riding their bicycles on the busy streets, sitting perfectly upright and never wearing a helmet. Wish I had a shot of that.

      As for the atlas, that’s what I do too. In this case I bought a map off Amazon before we left (they’re not so easy to find in these days of GPS) and marked our route on it everyday. In the old days I used a yellow highlighter, but I didn’t have one on this trip so I just marked it in ink. I’m glad I did as it helps me remember the names of all the little towns and villages we went through.

      Yes you would enjoy the cemetery. Fascinating in lots of ways.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Scott says:

    I’m going to guess that the Greek God taking a selfie has been there for more than 100 years, maybe lots more? And isn’t it funny that word (selfie) has only been around for a decade? One could have only interpreted the statue that way for a short time of its existence. πŸ™‚
    I was a little different on vacation to Italy. I took a lot of pictures of everyday things, and fewer of the stuff I came to see. But I never put together a journal or blog or anything… Wish I had.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re right. And just as “selfie” and “smart phone” would have been meaningless just a few years ago, they’ll probably be meaningless again soon enough. The pace of change these days is almost unbelievable. I just thought the statue was amusing. Show it to a kid these days and I’ll be lots of them would see someone taking a selfie.

      I started journaling on vacations when I realized that I wasn’t going to recall it all without doing so. If the vacation was laying on a beach all day reading books (which I’ve done) then it wouldn’t really be necessary. But when taking in lots of new and interesting things I’ve found that journaling helps. Actually I’ve found that it helps me document and recall how things have changed here on the farm too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. hamertheframer says:

    I love the Greek god selfie. I think he’s called Narcissus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

