Yes, we have no pumpkins

Our daughter and granddaughter made a jack-o’-lantern.

IMG_2046.JPG

But even though we live on a vegetable farm, they had to buy the pumpkin because we don’t grow them here.

It’s interesting that this time of year one of the best-selling vegetables in the country is purchased not to eat, but as a decoration.

The jack-o’-lantern tradition originated in Ireland, where they carved turnips, not pumpkins.

We do have plenty of turnips. Maybe we should try to revive the old tradition.

 

24 comments on “Yes, we have no pumpkins

  1. Geez, I don’t know about the carving turnip thing Bill… It’s hard enough just to cut the darned rind off of the slices. At least with a pumpkin they already come “hollowed out”; )

    Like

  2. avwalters says:

    I could never bear to grow decorative vegetables–so I grew the French “Cinderella” pumpkins. Folks on the farm thought they made for strange carving–but the rest were all edible and made great pies. Any left over, after that, went to the sheep.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Same here. I love growing food but have no little interest in growing Halloween decorations. We have grown pumpkins in the past but we didn’t try to time their maturity for Halloween. We kept some for ourselves and ended up feeding a lot of them to the pigs.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dani says:

    Kitty cat jack o’lantern – cute 🙂

    I presume everyone eats the pumpkin inners once they’ve finished carving?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We kept the seeds but feed the “guts” to the chickens. The real meat of the pumpkin was still inside it.

      The girls are cat-lovers and the kitty jack o lantern was their idea.

      Like

  4. I think carving would be a good use for a turnip!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    I love traditions, old and new. When my children were young, at this time of year, we read a book by Tasha Tudor called “Pumpkin Moonshine.” A lively, delightful book! After all these years, I still remember it fondly.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I was a boy I looked forward to the Charlie Brown “Great Pumpkin” special every year. Trick or treating out here in the country wasn’t like the city version. Our mother would drive us to the houses of friends and family. We’ve never had a trick or treater since we moved back here. When we lived it the city Halloween was a lot of fun. The entire neighborhood came out on their lawns and the kids in the neighborhood went from house to house in a mob.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laurie Graves says:

        So much fun! And as an adult who, ahem, likes candy more than she should, I must say Halloween can’t be beat, whether trick or treating is done by car or on foot.

        Like

  6. We’ve carved pumpkins for years. I like the kitty. I am thinking about a really scary Donald Trump this year. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  7. Scott says:

    But do you have bananas? 😉
    Turnips? Never knew that’s where it started. I roasted pumpkin seeds this year.

    Like

  8. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, I’ve often thought of how much food is grown for decoration. Pumpkins, Squash, corn stalks, radishes, cucumbers, watermelons, and the list goes on. I would guess that most of those expense food decorations are not eaten. They look amazing. I’ve seen fruit flower displays that are awesome but in a couple days they are hog food …. well …. if you have a hog. Our culture is so wasteful with food.

    Have said all that I think that your daughter and grand daughter did a bang up job on being creative and artistic with their pumpkin. The four that I saved from the raccoons are already going soft. They were the size of a basket ball but apparently they weren’t good keepers. Next year I’m planting them later in the year. They got ripe way too early. I have some saved seeds for squash so I’ll give that a try as well.

    Have a great pumpkin carving day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Here you have to plant pumpkins later than you’d normally plant winter squash if you want to time them for Halloween. It would probably be a decent money-maker for the farm, especially if you let people come pick their own. But I prefer raising food that people are actually going to eat. Not saying we’ll never do it, but it isn’t something we plan on doing any time soon.

      Like

  9. Lovely photo of your daughter and granddaughter Bill and I spent today creating a pumpkin face with my 6 yr old granddaughter. I have saved the interior though to make some Pumpkin soup with.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

