Day 2

We’ve been home over a month now. I haven’t been very faithful in following through on my planned series of posts with vacation pictures. But today I’m finally getting around to another one.

IMG_1123.JPG

Our hotel was only a few blocks from the Notre Dame

Rather than rush around and try to cram too much sightseeing into a day, Cherie wanted a slower pace. For day 2 of our vacation she planned only two things–a visit to the Musee d’Orsay and the obligatory Seine cruise.

IMG_1129.JPG

We walked to the museum, along the Seine

The Musee d’Orsay features 19th century art. In our prior visit to Paris, 16 years ago, we didn’t visit this museum and Cherie has regretted that ever since. So it wasn’t surprising to me that it was the first stop on her itinerary this time.

IMG_1149.JPG

The museum began life as a train station. It was much larger and grander than I had expected

IMG_1153.JPG

IMG_1136.JPG

IMG_1154.JPG

A detail from Sain’s painting “The Excavation at Pompeii.” I was struck by the girl’s arresting stare. This painting itself is much larger. I regret I didn’t take a photo of it.

IMG_1132.JPG

I was surprised to find Whistler’s mother in Paris

IMG_1133.JPG

IMG_1137.JPG

We enjoyed the accessibility of the paintings. More on that in another post.

IMG_1138.JPG

Evidence of Monet’s genius

IMG_1141.JPG

IMG_1140.JPG

IMG_1146.JPG

An original composition I call “L’adoration de Van Gough”

We spent over half the day at the museum. It awoke a lot of slumbering interests in me, and had my brain buzzing so much I had trouble sleeping that night. More on that in the next post.

The drizzle from the previous day was gone. It was a beautiful afternoon for a boat ride.

img_1157

IMG_1158.JPG

The Musee d’Orsay

IMG_1163.JPG

OK, I reckon that’s enough for today. I have onions and garlic to plant.

17 comments on “Day 2

  1. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, from France to onions and garlic. That’s quite a jump. I have to say it looked you two had a great time. You don’t see a whole lot of painters that use onions and garlic for their master pieces. Hmmmm, maybe there’s a reason for that.

    Every thing here in Nebraska is done even though the temperatures are in the 60s during the days and 40s at night. We had our freeze about a week ago right on schedule for this area and usually if a gardener can protect the plants from that initial freeze, he can squeeze out another two or three weeks before it starts freezing every night. I’m just done with outside gardening and have been in the cleanup mode.

    Have a great Onion/Garlic day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Freeze!? We’ve had near record heat here the last two days (high 80’s).
      I planted 20 lbs of onion sets, a big increase over our usual amount. I also got the garlic planted and the last of the cover crops sown, just in time for tonight’s forecast rain and cooler temps.

      Like

  2. BeeHappee says:

    Thank you, Bill. I greatly enjoyed this post, had not been to musee d’Orsay, so it was nice to read about it here.
    I was thinking, “from Paris, with love” but then it came out “from Paris, with garlic” (still smiling remembering your garlic adventures).

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The museum was a highlight of the trip. I’ll have more to say about it when I get around to blogging about day 3.

      I planted the garlic today, still regretting that I left that beautiful braid of violet garlic in our hotel room. I sure hope the cleaning staff used it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. avwalters says:

    From Paris with garlic sounds pretty good, too. Musee D’Orsay is my favorite of the “big museums.” Mostly, I like the myriad of little museums, often featuring just one artist. In Paris, everyone has something to say.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think it’s my favorite too now. I didn’t realize that their collection is so large and diverse. I was expecting a few impressionist masterpieces, but not much else. I really enjoyed it there. And I thought of you when in the Arts and Crafts section. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Laurie Graves says:

    Love seeing Paris with you and Cherie. What a city and what a museum. And the food! I went to Paris many years ago, when I was teenager, and I still remember the food, glorious food.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m going to do a separate post someday about our food experiences and observations. It is very difficult for vegetarians to eat well in French restaurants.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laurie Graves says:

        It is. Although my daughter, who’s a vegetarian, was in France for a month, and she did manage. Bread, cheese, and wine 😉

        Like

  5. Looks wonderful!
    And yes—must think ahead in the garden. Get busy!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It was a busy day. Maybe the last really busy day of the year for us. But I got it all done, finishing just as it was getting too dark to continue. 🙂

      Like

  6. Enjoyed your post. I’m sure there is so much to do that it could be overwhelming to choose. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. karenhumpage says:

    There’s nothing like visiting a gallery and seeing a painting ‘in the flesh’, so to speak. Though working in a picture framers I must admit to spending a great deal of the time studying the frames as well!

    Like

  8. lauriel8 says:

    I’ve been catching up here today, & had to chuckle over your homestead clothes & shoes, only because we tend to do the same. Your Paris trip gets me excited about our first European trip scheduled for next spring (Sicily). I hope I have better luck with vegetarian food there.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m sure your trip will be wonderful. We could always count on Italian restaurants to give us great vegetarian options. Same with Indian, Middle Eastern, and Asian restaurants. But the French just don’t comprehend vegetarian. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

