Broken In

It may be time for a new work coat.

IMG_0436.JPG

IMG_0437.JPG

The zipper broke a long time ago, but IΒ can still make it work

Cherie insisted this coat was done a year ago, but I managed to get another good winter’s use out of it. I don’t like getting rid of clothes until they’re all the way used up.

My hat, for example, has certainly seen better days, but it’s still functional.

IMG_0438.JPG

These boots, on the other hand…

img_0439

57 comments on “Broken In

  1. thesnowwoman says:

    I think you got your use out of those items! I think above all you need new boots, or a good cobbler.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think a lot of men keep cloths longer then they should. Some of my favorite cloths are the ones I had the longest.

    Like

  3. Annie says:

    Yes, it is time…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Granted, the boots had to go. I didn’t mind the sole flopping around so much, but a there was a hole in the bottom which made my feet wet and cold. I considered duct tape (a perfect solution for many problems) but it wasn’t a practical solution here. As for the hat and coat, I’m not so sure…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. avwalters says:

    I’m the same way. The hat and the coat may well have an extra season or two in them. Maybe then as “grubby” wear, painting and staining and such. But even a hard core stubborn person like me can see that the boots have got to go.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That was my conclusion too. The pockets are worn out on the coat, but maybe that can be fixed. I felt a sense of satisfaction after getting through one more winter with that coat. Cherie has an LL Bean credit card that we use for farm purchases and she keeps reminding me that she has enough “points” to get me a new coat for free. But this one is still OK, I tell her.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. karenhumpage says:

    Aaaah, but old clothes are so comfortable!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thecrazysheeplady says:

    Old friends for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’ve got a polo shirt that I wear for farm chores in the summer that I’ve had for over 30 years. Part of both sleeves are gone and it’s torn at the back of the neck. But still getting it done after all these years. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. valbjerke says:

    My hubby would call your jacket, boots and hat and raise you a pair of long johns that look like he swiped them from an Egyptian mummy. He’s ‘thinking’ about letting go of the boots….πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

  8. shoreacres says:

    Good grief, man. We send you off to Paris, and you come back all fashion-conscious. I don’t think it would have helped you to stay for Fashion Week, though. Today may be only day two, but when I looked at what’s on the runway, I didn’t see anything that would have suited you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  9. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, we are kindred spirits. When I’m done with clothes, they aren’t even good for the Goodwill. Work clothes are the best when tattered and torn. I still have coats that are twenty years old and are still functional but only used for garden or yard work. It just seems wasteful to me to not wear out clothes completely. Well, and then there is the fact that I’m cheap and don’t want to spend money on clothes. My family will give me shirts for Christmas and birthdays. I expect they are trying to pry me out of the old clothes and help me get into decent looking clothes. I just never saw the need to have good looking designer clothes and thank goodness my family has never bought such things for me.

    I broke out of the cheapness mold and bought a great pair of garden shoes from Duluth Trading company. It was the most expense shoe purchase I’ve made in my entire life but I really like them. So I guess in some ways I’m making progress in the clothes department.

    So here’s to wearing out clothes before buying new ones.

    Have a great comfortable day wearing old clothes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I like the way you think Brother Dave.

      I used to have lots of white dress shirts. I had them starched and wore them with my lawyer suits. When the collars and sleeves started fraying, I’d (reluctantly) turn them into farm work shirts. When they were so ripped and ragged that even I wouldn’t wear them anymore, then we cut them into strips to use as rags. That’s wearing something all the way out! On the rare occasions when I need to buy clothes these days, I try to buy them used.

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    My goodness! You sound like a Mainer. We never toss anything unless it’s completely worn out.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Scott says:

    Talking Boots! Love it. I have 6 pair of jeans that have blown out right knees. They fit me great, but I find the holey-knees terribly uncomfortable. I need them patched.
    I do the same with cars. I bought a 95 Volvo 850 3 years ago with 220,000 miles for $1100. I put $1300 in parts in it (parts only, my labor) and it got rear ended recently. Totaled, but not much damage. So I fixed it, and I’m getting a rebuilt title this week to get it back on the road. She lives another day! 260,000 and still runs wonderful! (just doesn’t look like much…)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie’s Honda Pilot has about 260,000 miles on it, and still going strong. My truck is just as old, but has a mere 110,000 miles on it. Plenty of life left in both of them. I envy your skills. I’m not much of a mechanic.

      I have a bunch of jeans with holes in the knees. They’re not comfortable for working. I hadn’t thought of patching them. That makes sense. When we were still living in Florida Cherie took a bunch of my old ragged worn out jeans to a hip consignment store and they paid good money for them. So there’s always that option. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Scott says:

        The jeans story is funny! Never would have thought… Used pickup prices are RIDICULOUS right now. A fella can’t afford to get rid of a pickup anymore until it is literally gasping its last breath. I saw a 1-ton 4×4 single axle 4 door diesel truck with 330 on the clock go for $11,000 this week. It was a work truck package too… Bonkers.

        Like

  12. ain't for city gals says:

    I feel Cherie”s pain…my husband is the same way. Sometimes I accuse him of “reverse snobbery”..

    Like

  13. The coat would be perfect on a scarecrow; and the hat’s a dandy; but the boots, they’re due for a “two-fer” o’planters; )

    Like

  14. I have some old clothes that are favorites, but I may be with Cherie on this one. πŸ™‚ –Curt

    Like

  15. I have a jacket with duct tape on a rip right now. Hey the tape just adds extra insulation!

    Like

  16. Lucky me, just found your blog! Yesterday I informed my hubby I tossed way his very badly worn pair of insulated coveralls. he was only in partial shock, he knew it had to be done. I’ll find a new used pair on Ebay but the majority of our clothes 95% I get at a nearby thrift store where everything is 99 cents. You have to visit every week because items come and go quickly but saving there allows me to “splurge” for used coveralls on Ebay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      My wife has found it easy to find work shirts for me at thrift stores, but hard to find jeans and overalls. I hadn’t thought of Ebay. Thanks for suggesting it!

      Like

  17. Dalo 2013 says:

    Love this ~ I just bought a new pair of shoes to replace (more like assist) ones that I have worn for more than a decade. I’ve had Chinese peddlers fix the soul, polish the leather and keep them looking great for so long…for about 5 years I kept planning to replace them but they still looked good. Went out and bought a new pair this past visit in Seattle as the soles were so worn… I love the feeling of keeping something that has earned my trust in them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Dina says:

    I’m on knees laughing after having read your lovely post and the ❀ comments, Bill. Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

