To the National Security Agency

Wendell Berry turned 82 last week. Bless his wise and sometimes cranky heart.

TO THE NATIONAL SECURITY AGENCY

I am away in a quiet valley,
am busy at my quiet work
in this comely small cup of country
exactly fitted to my mind,
my mind to it exactly fitted.
It is enclosed by slopes and trees,
filled full of light and air and wind,
fulfilled by time and wear and weather.
My work is gathered of air and earth,
the history of the local light.
I’m not going to tell you whether
or when I’m coming back. Don’t wait.
Don’t try to call. I have no phone.
There’s not much left I want to shoot,
but I would like to shoot a drone.

Wendell Berry
From Sabbaths, 2014

 

14 comments on “To the National Security Agency

  1. DM says:

    Loved it! “but I would like to shoot a drone.” Made me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. avwalters says:

    It’s a mature man’s answer to the song, “If I had a rocket-launcher.” I wish us all such a space that fits in our mind as our minds fit our home.

    Like

  3. Susan says:

    What a wonderful, cantankerous man!
    (and who wouldn’t want to shoot a drone!!)

    Like

  4. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, Terra Nova Gardens is becoming such a place for me. It is my sanctuary from the buzz of the world. Politics, wars, and rumor of wars, the latest gadget for $19.99,or must have technology gets thrown at a person constantly unless a small cup of this country or city can be found. I have found mine and spend many hours there working, thinking, planning, enjoying nature, and instead of social media actually talking with passing neighbors. Contrary to current beliefs, life does go on with out cell phones, without TV, without Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, or really any technology. Mankind has forgotten the simple therapy of not just growing and caring for a plant. but enjoying the plant during the process as well. I’m working toward a time where I can enjoy more and work less in the garden. I’m not sure I can make that happen as I love working but there will come a time when I just won’t be able to do that any more. I’m hoping that is 10 or 15 years down the road. In the mean time more enjoyment of what I have is in the plan.

    Have a great small cup of country day.

    Like

  5. Made me smile! A great way to start off my day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. BeeHappee says:

    โค โค

    Like

  7. Laughing, Bill. Shoot a drone! Maybe we should think of them as clay pigeons! Wendell has the right idea. ๐Ÿ™‚ โ€“Curt

    Like

Leave a Reply

