Eating Well

This is a great time of year for seasonal eating. We’re enjoying things like…

Wild blackberry cobbler

IMG_0719.JPG

Kale and white bean stew

IMG_0729.JPG

Silky zucchini soup

IMG_0717.JPG

The pizza on our weekly “pizza night” featured fresh shiitake mushrooms, zucchini, onions and peppers.

As I was harvesting potatoes, seeing them made me so hungry that I had to come in and cook some. I fried them with onions and peppers. It had been a long time since I’d had any potatoes. They were just as delicious as I remembered them to be.

And to my great delight I had my first tomato sandwich of the year–the first of hundreds to come.

One of the very best things about this life is the great food it gives us. And summer is the best time of all.

28 comments on “Eating Well

  1. We’ve been eating well too, but sadly our tomatoes in PA are still the size of green olives. I’m jealous!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There are too many great things about eating good homegrown food to list them all. But surely the joy of eating seasonally should be near the top of the list. Not long after the tomatoes are gone for the year I start missing them. So it’s a great feeling when they return. We’re swimming in them now and eating them at every meal! What a great time of year…

      Hoping yours are ready soon!

      Like

  2. avwalters says:

    I can hardly wait for our tomatoes. Already, the table is graced with a lovely salad every night, but the substantive vegetables–tomatoes, potatoes, etc–they take longer in the north.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy sharing gardening experiences with friends from around the country and around the world. Linda in Houston started getting her summer veggies long before ours were in, and ours arrived long before my northern friends will have theirs. Nature may make you wait longer, but she rewards you with longer days. 🙂 May you soon have a huge harvest of summertime goodies!

      Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    We just got our first tomatoe in Lithuania in the greenhouse. Last night was the first fresh potato dinner and new pickles. My mom pickles them with dill and currant leaves and all that, so good. 🙂
    Enjoy that feast!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our tomatoes are coming in like crazy now. Just a few weeks ago I was lusting for a tomato and now I’ve got them coming out my ears! The joys of gardening.
      This is a great time of year for seasonal eating. Tomatoes and cucumbers are my snack foods. And potatoes! I’d almost forgotten how good they are!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ain't for city gals says:

    I am most envious of those potatoes! Other than that all is good…

    Like

  5. allisonmohr says:

    When we were in Italy, there was a dish consisting of zucchini blossoms stuffed with ricotta cheese, dusted with bread crumbs and then sauteed in olive oil. It’s one of the best things I have ever eaten. I envy you your growing season. in the Pacific North West, it’s too early for much of anything, except more rain.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We tried squash blossoms once, and we need to come back to them. I know they are prized in parts of Europe. We’re growing Tromboncino squash this year and, because they’re new to me, I’ve been researching what to do with them. Turns out the Italians love the blossoms (as well as the fruit of course). I haven’t tried them yet but you’ve inspired me to give it a go!

      Like

  6. Joanna says:

    Also very jealous of your produce, we just haven’t got off to a very good start. All I can say is thank goodness for self-seeded lettuces, lamb’s quarters and early broad beans. At least our peas have started producing now too and our tomatoes have at least set. The strawberries have been wonderful and the rapsberries are ready early too so not all bad 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      This is the peak time for our summer veggies. In fact, the squash, zukes and cukes are starting to fade away. Now is the time for us to start seeds for our fall plantings. I’ve enjoyed learning how differently the garden seasons operate around the world. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Susan says:

    jealousy, jealousy!!!

    Enjoy–you lucky lucky man!!

    Like

  8. Laurie Graves says:

    My mouth was watering as I looked at the pictures on your post. Oh, yum!

    Like

  9. Leigh says:

    I’m coming to your place for dinner!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. They all look good to me, Bill! But I just may be dropping by for some of that wild blackberry cobbler. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  11. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, I’m not too much into desert things but the cobbler does look tasty. Things here in Nebraska are just on the leading edge of producing. I’ve harvest three tomatoes and two cucumbers so far. The sweet corn is looking really good. The chicken wire fence and the electric fence around the patch seems to be working. The fortress has held the line and hasn’t been breached yet. I’m holding my breath for the next couple weeks as the day creeps ever closer to my winning the battle of raccoon against man. So far it’s been raccoon 4 man 0. It just could be the turning of the war.

    Have a great all you can eat day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We rarely eat desert. Neither of us are sweets eaters. But we do enjoy wild blackberry cobbler and I look forward to it every year. Once the watermelons and cantaloupes are in I’ll snack on them during the day, but that’s about it for sweets around here.

      Glad you’re corn is doing so well this year. I know how diligently you’ve had to prepare!

      Like

  12. Oh these are so wonderful ALL my type of eating habbits lol

    Like

  13. Zambian Lady says:

    Nothing can beat eating freshly harvested food from your garden. Enjoy and do leave me some of the kale and bean stew – looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

