Taking Pictures

IMG_0538.JPG

Hummingbirds at sunset

I took this on my mama’s front porch, at sunset a couple of weeks ago. I really like the picture. A lucky shot.

I recently read that more photographs will be taken this year than in all other years before this one combined. It’s amazing what cheap digital cameras embedded in our “phones” has enabled.

I remember the days when you had to buy film, which wasn’t cheap, then send it off to be developed after you’d taken the pictures, which also wasn’t cheap. And you never knew if the pictures were going to “come out” or not. I can recall many disappointments.

Maybe we overdo it now. But I for one am glad for the technology that allows us to take so many pictures, and to do it so inexpensively.

I enjoy noodling around with my phone/camera, capturing images from around the farm. I post them occasionally on Instagram, so follow me there if you’re interested.

I never would’ve gotten that hummingbird shot in the good old days. I took a lot of photosย in order to get it (all in less than 30 seconds). And I didn’t have to buy any film or pay anyone to develop it. Here’s a few of the outtakes.

IMG_0549.JPG

 

IMG_0546.JPG

IMG_0514.JPG

IMG_0536.JPG

32 comments on “Taking Pictures

  1. Susan says:

    Yep-digital really improved picture taking. I don’t know why I fought it so long. Now I can’t imagine life without my digital camera. I still don’t have a smart phone though. I don’t think I’ll ever be that modern………….

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I used to carry a little digital camera around in my pocket so I could take pictures around the farm. After breaking several of them, I just started relying on the camera in my phone, which nowadays can produce very good pictures.

      Like

  2. Then there are the 50,000 plus photos I have… ๐Ÿ™‚ Good shot, Bill. And you are right, like so many other aspects of modern technology, our lives have been altered in photography in ways we never could have imagined. โ€“Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I can remember waiting for the vacation pictures I took with my Kodak Instamatic to come back, and I can remember plenty of disappointments. And I had to be judicious about taking pictures due to the cost of film and developing. Now I can take as many as I want, and just delete the ones that I don’t like. It’s one of the most obvious benefits of our amazing technological revolution.

      Like

  3. avwalters says:

    Not to mention that the old film processing was loaded with toxins and environmentally unsound. Digital rocks.

    Like

  4. Bill, yes, the world has changed with the digital development. I started in the digital world in 1965 when transisters were the newest technology. Then came VCRs and computers that regular folks could afford. Then came the Internet that wasn’t much more than texting. Email became the rage soon after and whish here we are with today’s technology. There are very few things that can’t be done on a smart phone now. Now we are on the verge of a new world of smart technology. Never back in 1965 did I envision that Dick Tracy’s watch would be a reality in my life time. And yet the Apple watch does even more than Dick Tracy’s watch ever thought to do. The Jetson age is upon us my friend.

    Have a great digital picture taking day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      It really has been amazing, and the advances keep on coming (and accelerating). Cherie has to use several “apps” in her job and it is astonishing to me what they can do. I wonder what incredible things are coming next?

      Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    I love all of those hummingbird pics ๐Ÿ™‚Digital photography has taken the pressure off amateurs… the G.O and I click away, review at the end of the day, upload a couple to Instagram and/or FB where we share with those interested in our trip, and back up the remainder to Onedrive as a day diary and repository for future blog posts and photo-books. Occasionally the magic of digital allows us to capture some amazing images… the G.O. in particular has a very good eye whereas I just take a lot of photos ๐Ÿ˜•

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I do that sort of thing too. If I see something that I think might be good for a Facebook or blog post, I’ll just take a shot or two. Later, if the photo turns out to be uninteresting, I’ll just delete it. In this case I was visiting my mother and watching the hummingbirds. I was curious to see if I could get any good pictures of them and these are some of the results. Best of all, as you say, there is no pressure and no expense.

      Like

  6. Joanna says:

    Digital photos have become such a good way of recording our day to day lives and at the moment and helps us to keep up to date on what needs doing and when or when we did something the previous years. It makes much more sense than Trump or Brexit at the moment, so I don’t blame you for steering clear of those topics in recent posts. I am completely flabbergasted by British politics at the moment and I think most of the UK is too. For your amusement and so you know who all the politicians are

    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/video/2016/apr/06/greens-take-on-party-politics-five-year-olds-squabbling-in-a-playground-video

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s a clever video. This election cycle in the U.S. has been a bizarre circus. While I understand the frustrations many are feeling, the way they’re expressing it leaves me shaking my head.

      Like

  7. You are so right – I had almost forgotten how tedious getting film developed was and how disappointing it was when you paid good money for some “not so good” photos!
    Love the hummingbird pic!

    Like

  8. Laurie Graves says:

    Great shots! I, too, love digital photography.

    Like

  9. Yes indeed, Digital is awesome! We have been released – freed to take the 10 shots required to get The One we’re looking for: ) No more, “Gee, I wish I’d had my camera with me!” And the quality just keeps on improving too: )
    Love your hummer shots, Bill; thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Deb. And who could’ve imagined even 20 years ago that we could not only take digital photos (with our “phone,” no less), but we can then share them (for free) with people all over the planet?

      Liked by 1 person

  10. allisonmohr says:

    The second to the last shot is really good. I love the outline of the bird on the wing against the sunset.

    Like

  11. shoreacres says:

    But there was something about those darkrooms. The red light, the stop bath, the just slightly acrid odor. It was like being a cross between a magician and a chemist — great fun, really. On the other hand, the freedom to take as many photos as I like, and then cull like crazy, is wonderful. It’s especially good for novices like me, who can tweak settings like crazy, and see immediately which is best.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never developed film, but I can see how it would be fun. But as you say, it’s great to be able to take as many pictures as you like, then just delete the ones that aren’t worthwhile. Back when I was still commuting, and spending my days homesick, I had my office computer set up to use my photos as a slideshow screensaver. I’m really glad I had all those pictures to keep me constantly reminded of what I was working for. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  12. Laura says:

    Great pics! I especially love that first one.

    Like

  13. I’ve had my feeder out all summer, have changed it numerous times, but haven’t seen one hummingbird. So, thank you for posting because I’m guessing your beautiful photos are as close as I’m going to get this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. Beautiful photo’s Bill wish we had little humming birds here ๐Ÿ™‚ I have always fed the birds.. we get mostly sparrows, robins, blackbirds and starlings..

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hummingbirds are amazing creatures. Fun to watch. I didn’t realize there aren’t any in the UK. Blackbirds and starlings–no thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes the starlings can be a pest.. And if we didn’t keep our fruit trees covered with nets such as red/black/currants.. they would be gone so would the strawberries too.. Blackbirds are not so bad and will get very tame..

        We have one female who right through her feeding her young would hop right next to where we were digging and weeding, I would throw her worms and she went happily off with a beak full.. to come back for more..

        Like

Leave a Reply

