The Wildlife

We share this farm with lots of undomesticated animals, providing us with scenes ranging from the beautiful (such as the sight of a blue heron gracefully winging toward our pond) to the undesirable (such as the snake I discovered slithering toward our chicken coop yesterday). I see so much wildlife every day that it’s easy to start taking it for granted.

We’ve been setting up a trail cam along a farm road on the other side of our place and we’ve captured some interesting images, some of which I shared in a post a few weeks ago. The trail cam allows us to see animals that are careful to avoid our presence, and allows us to see critters that aren’t on alert due to us being around.

We hear coyotes frequently, but I’ve never actually seen one. But we did catch this one recently on the trail cam.

STC_0864.JPG

 

I see deer here everyday. But to see a doe and her fawn up close like this is extremely rare.

STC_0910.JPG

This impressive buck was curious about the camera. Without it I couldn’t have had a view like this.

STC_0876.JPG

 

 

 

STC_0877.JPG

So far we haven’t captured anything particularly exotic or bizarre. If there are cougars or panthers here, as many have reported, maybe we’ll yet capture an image of one. If I correctly identified the fisher I think I saw last year, maybe the camera will confirm my belief.

Meanwhile, I’m still not sure what this is. Coyote? It could be a fox, but it seems too large to me. But maybe I just don’t have a good scale on it.

STC_0243.JPG

STC_0244.JPG

STC_0245.JPG

And I wonder what is going on here? Same spot, nearly three hours later.

STC_0246.JPG

 

21 comments on “The Wildlife

  1. Scott says:

    I need to get one of those (if only to let me know if inspectors come when we aren’t around! Haha)
    Last picture… My first thought was a large walking bird – emu or ostrich lol. But it looks more like a dog running. Only the back legs were caught clearly. Maybe.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Maybe it’s a kangaroo. 🙂
      We did catch a couple of trespassing trucks with it. Looks like they were going to the pond to go fishing. It’s possible that they’re folks who have permission but using vehicles I don’t recognize. That’s another benefit of the camera.

      Like

  2. Susan says:

    Gosh, there’s a whole other world out there! Those things are neat. I kind of want to see what’s out back…………but maybe I don’t! I’d be scared to go out to the garden at dawn for my coffee with the birds. I guess it’s best I don’t get one…………..
    🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We mostly get deer photos. LOTS of them. But it’s interesting to see what other critters are roaming about as well. I’m still hoping to get a shot of a bobcat. I knew there were bears on this place but never had proof until we caught one on the trail cam. It’s a neat device. Of course it will probably be obsolete in a few years. It’s amazing how rapidly technology advances and comes down in price these days!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s very cool Bill. I think it’s a coyote! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. bobraxton says:

    what is the distance of motion detection – 20 feet all directions? 10 feet all directions? adjustable?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      60 feet, believe it or not. Motion activated with infrared flash at night. And it can also be set to record videos at either 5, 30 or 60 second intervals. Pretty amazing for something that costs $70 (a Christmas present to myself). I’m not sure about the angle of detection. The camera is strapped to a tree of course.

      Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    That last photo… I kept looking and looking, and finally noticed the optical illusion. The white “patch to the left looks like a head, but it isn’t. The perked-up ears are directly above the dark part of the body. It looks as though the dog or coyote is making a turn — it’s been going the way its back feet are headed, but the front legs are hidden because of the turn. So interesting!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      But isn’t it strange how the visible legs are positioned? And weird that there is nothing else recorded between the shot at 1:11 of the coyote (?) veering off the road and into the woods and this shot almost 3 hours later in the exact same location. Note that in the first sequence the camera captured 3 images, but in the later only this one. If this animal came in from the same direction (as seems likely) then it must have been moving much faster. When I first saw the picture I thought it might have something in it’s mouth (the thing that looks like a head). Definitely interesting and thanks for trying to help me figure it out. My best guess is that it is a coyote that was running up the road and veered suddenly into the woods (maybe following the scent of the other one).

      Like

  6. Dearest Bill,
    That is very interesting to see all residents on your property!
    We would love to see ours as well.
    Hugs and happy weekend.
    Mariette

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Maybe you should look into getting one someday! Every year these cameras become more advanced and less expensive. This one isn’t very expensive and for a little more you can get one that will email the pictures to you as they’re taken!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    They are all around us. Mostly they are shy, and we don’t see them, but the camera catches their careful movements. Call me squeamish, but I wouldn’t have been thrilled to see the snake heading toward the chicken coop 😉

    Like

  8. WhirldWorks says:

    I’ve thought about those trail cams, but I’m not sure I actually want to know what goes bump in the night around here. A neighbor did put some up and caught images of a bobcat family and of course coyotes. I’d love to leave my critters out at night, but with this knowledge I can’t help but to use my time each night to put them up for their safety.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Nighttime is the most dangerous time for domesticated animals. It is interesting to me that deer are nocturnal, but goats/sheep are not. Goats go to a safe place and rest quietly at night, while deer stay in safe places and rest quietly during the day then go out to eat at night. That shows that deer have evolved to avoid humans, not coyotes, while goats have evolved to avoid coyotes, not humans.

      Like

  9. Good luck (photo)capturing that Fisher. Obviously the canids are moving at quite the clip on the way by…

    Like

Leave a Reply

