Start Where You Can Start

18 comments on “Start Where You Can Start

  1. Very inspiring, Bill.

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    When I read the title, of course the first person I thought of was Varnish John, and the advice he gave me about hurricane recovery: “You start where you can start, and do what you can do.” The advice works for storms, and it works for finally getting around to cleaning the kitchen. Clearly, it can work in other areas, too.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I finished a memoir recently. The author grew up on a small subsistence farm in West Virginia. As a child, instead of waiting to be told what to do his father taught him to “just do the thing that needs doing next.” Wise words I think.

      Like

      • What is the title of the memoir? Richard’s book is a good read as well.

        Like

      • Bill says:

        I had not heard of him before seeing this on the Polyface Hen House page. It’s a great story. The memoir I was referring to is Rainbow Pie by Joe Bageant. I recently read it as well as his book Deer Hunting with Jesus. Having grown up a poor white redneck myself, the books really resonated with me (even though his gonzo style can be offputting at times).

        Like

  3. Susan says:

    Wonderful video. Hubby and I did the same thing. It’s just amazing how good the change makes you feel. We went from wondering how much longer we could hang on to feeling like we are in our 20’s again.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Wonderful! Good for y’all!

      We’ve heard that story so many times and I’ve experienced it my own life too. I used to keep a giant bottle of Rolaids in my desk. I was taking Prilosec for a while for acid reflux. I ate aspirin like candy. I was tense, angry, stressed, and (now I know) malnourished. These days I never get indigestion and I feel as healthy as ever (even if my back isn’t as strong as it was once). I’ve now outlived the last 3 generations of men on my father’s side of the family and I feel great.

      We’ve had customers tell us they were able to get off their meds with healthy eating. I have a friend who weighed over 300 lbs (in his mid-20’s) and was a mess. Now he’s a vegan and runs marathons. Did it with exercise and a healthy diet. I could go on and on.

      Hippocrates said, “Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” Still true.

      Like

  4. Dani says:

    It starts with only one, and grows.. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, and it is growing. Despite all the obstacles the industrial food complex puts up, people are figuring this out. I was pleased to see this guy’s story. More people need to hear this. It’s sad to see lives being diminished and cut short for no good reason at all.

      Like

  5. Dearest Bill,
    Yes, it is the ONLY way for living healthy and we too eat fresh foods and cook our meals at home! Moving the body is another must.
    Hugs to you,
    Mariette

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It isn’t rocket science is it? But sad how many people are allowing junk food and inactivity to diminish their lives. What a shame to cut short the beautiful time we’re allowed.

      Like

  6. Joanna says:

    I really needed to hear that phrase for the title of your blog today. Can’t explain at the moment, but it’s been a very bad day.

    Like

  7. Farmgirl says:

    Very inspiring. My husband and I used to take walks every evening. Now that it is getting warmer again, I think we better start that again! Thanks for the inspiration this morning. ❤

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We go for a walk every evening after supper. It’s become a routine for us and we enjoy and look forward to it. Hope you can get started again too!

      Like

  8. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, this is a busy time of the year for me. I’ve been in the garden as much as I could the last month and am still behind in planting and weeding. It has finally stopped raining and given me a window to get some things planted.

    My wife of long ago tried every diet plan on the planet and in my experience every one always stressed different food eating and exercise. It really is about what we eat and keeping our body in motion.

    Have a great eating fresh food day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s probably the busiest time of the year for us here too. I went outside this morning well before 6 am to start picking and prepping for market and I’ve just come in at twenty past nine, over 15 hours later (with a breakfast and lunch break). Trying to get the gardens deer-secure while tending for all three seasons now.

      We’ve got an enormous amount of awesome food for the market tomorrow. Just hoping people come out to get it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

