Checking the Trail Cam

I set up our trail cam on one of our farm roads a while ago, wondering what we might capture.

Checked on it a few days ago. It seems there are quite a few critters using the road.

Such as…

Deer

STC_0078.JPG

Notice the strange disembodied eyes in the background

A possum

STC_0101.JPG

Some mysterious unidentified animal–coyote perhaps?

STC_0087.JPG

The most common animal on White Flint Farm.

STC_0099.JPG

A squirrel.

STC_0109.JPG

A bear.

STC_0121.JPG

A raccoon.

STC_0124.JPG

Turkeys–a gobbler and a hen.

STC_0157.JPG

STC_0154.JPG

That thing again.

STC_0166.JPG

More of these (lots more).

STC_0173.JPG

And, finally, this strange creature.

STC_0086.JPG

40 comments on “Checking the Trail Cam

  1. Buffy says:

    A bear! Oh my!

    Like

  2. A bear! Don’t know about that last one though. Hmmm.

    Like

  3. avwalters says:

    It’s like Grand Central Station out there! Now you have me wondering….but not enough to get a camera.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie and I got a kick out of how the wildlife uses the road. I’ve had the camera set up in the woods mostly. Looks like the best place for it is on the road. This spot is about .6 miles from our house.

      Liked by 1 person

      • avwalters says:

        We see all the tracks–on the driveway, around the fence for the garden, a gazillion deer, nearly as many rabbits, a bobcat, some bear sign and lots of evidence of raccoon, porcupine and squirrels. Now, I’m itching for a camera.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Dearest Bill,
    You have quite a variety and the unidentified one might as well be a coyote, it has such a tail.
    Interesting wild life. I often joked to my husband by saying I wish that all animals that live on our property would line up alongside the road. That would be a pretty interesting sight I bet.
    Yours are even more in number.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  5. Susan says:

    I have always wanted to set one of those up out back. I’ve seen the scat of bear, so I know we have those. Neighbors have spotted a cougar. I DON”T want to know about that!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Loved your selection of critters. I think we all have too many deer-LOL!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Neighbors have reported seeing a cougar/panther on our farm too. And I’ve seen a creature a few times that I think is a fisher cat. Mostly what we get pictures are of are deer. Lots and lots of deer. I just chased four out of the garden behind our house. Grrr…

      Like all things electronic, the trail cams keep getting better and cheaper every year. I finally broke down and bought one late last year. I just moved it to near our chicken coop to see if I can find out what killed half of our chickens last week. Coyotes, I suspect.

      Like

  6. Maybe I should get one for my garden – might get to see what those hedgehogs are up to! Don’t think there are any bears in a suburban garden, though.
    Nice to have you back, Bill!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As you can tell, the cameras work. If something is getting into your garden and you want to confirm what it is, this would be a good way to do it.

      Like

  7. A whole busy highway of animals while you’re asleep. Very cool shots!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The camera also had a picture of me and Cherie walking by, and a couple of friends who stayed here recently. But wildlife greatly outnumbered us people.

      Like

  8. Dani says:

    The last is a very strange creature indeed 🙂 What a lovely assortment of animals use your road.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s easy to forget about the camera, and it’s camouflaged so you’re not alerted by the sight of it. That shot was actually a little earlier, before I turned the camera to face the other way. I thought it was a nice way to round out the list of animals using the road.

      Like

  9. Scott says:

    I’d think coyote as well, with the long legs. Too big for a fox I think. We have tons of coyotes around here. People ask me if it’s good hunting where I live, and I say you can find anything you want to see. Like you I have a huge amount of wildlife on the farm.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Whatever it is, it is moving quickly. I do think it’s a coyote. We have a shot of a fox from another location–much smaller animal.
      We do have plenty of wildlife–some desirable, some not so much. I stirred up a big water moccasin at the pond a couple of days ago. Not something I wanted to see.

      Like

  10. shoreacres says:

    Count me as another one surprised by the bear, although I remember now that you once said they were around. I’d vote for coyote, too. I’ve watched enough of them lope down the middle of a road — or our parking lot — to recognize that sort of slinky trot.

    What fun these cameras are. There’s a whole world out there going about its business, and it’s fun to see.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You’re right about the coyote I think, and about the trot. Whatever it is, it is trotting by quickly. I hear coyotes often (and we lost half our hens and both our roosters to them last week), but I’ve never seen one with my own eyes.

      I agree with you about the camera being fun. It was something of a frivolous purchase, but I’m glad we got it.

      Like

  11. Laurie Graves says:

    Lots of critters in the woods. So interesting to see them because, in fact, mostly you don’t.

    Like

  12. Farmgirl says:

    How wonderful to see who is traversing the farm! I love that you allow diversity and welcome the critters. Can’t wait to visit your farm someday.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hope you can make out it sometime. Yeah, we love sharing the land with so many other creatures. Although the deer herd does cause me quite a bit of heartburn. 🙂

      Like

  13. Coyote is my vote. Fascinating, isn’t it Bill. Peggy and I have a night camera and thought we would put some apple pieces outside and see what happened. Foxes, raccoons and skunks showed up for the feast. And then the skunk sprayed the raccoon in our backyard, leaving the smell around for days. The apple feast ceased. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Ok that made me laugh. The coon learned a valuable lesson–let the skunk have the apples.

      Like

      • I have a photo of the raccoon burying his head in his paws, Bill. Poor fellow. Had to agree with him. When I was kid and slept outside every summer, one of my dogs was sprayed by a skunk and then crawled up on my bed with me. That stuff is hard to get off! 🙂 –Curt

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Joanna says:

    Interesting array of creatures and now you have me wondering what we have – I had better not go there, I have enough to do as it is 😀

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Google “strange things caught on trail cam” and you’ll see some very creepy photos (the creepiest of which are surely staged or photo shopped, but creepy nonetheless).

      Liked by 1 person

  15. BeeHappee says:

    Wow cool, Bill. The bear surprised me although probably it shouldn’t. We just came back from the Smoky mountains where they claim there are 1,500 black bears. We saw 3 of them there I would expect there are more than 1,500… up in northern Michigan now and people have sighted cougars here which I did not expect, good to see those creatures in the woods. Enjoy your wild friends.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve never seen a bear here in person, but other folks have. I did see what I believe to have been a cougar and if they’re here I’m hoping to catch one on camera some day. Bears can do a lot of damage on a farm. Last year someone told me that just a few years we’ll have bear problems just like we have deer problems now. Hoping that isn’t true.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, You win. I don’t have a bear, bobcat, fischercat, or coyotes in my garden.. No wonder you have such a time growing a garden. And a water moccasin? It gives me the shivers. Those snakes are just mean. No rattle or warning. They just bite and will even chase you at times. They can get huge and really look scary evil. I hate snakes..

    Have a great day checking the trail cam.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t like snakes either. I used to be REALLY afraid of them (I wouldn’t even go into the buildings in zoos that had them) but I’ve lost some of that fear from fairly constant contact with them. The water moccasin was huge and I wasn’t expecting to see it. Not a good feeling. I came upon a black snake slithering his way into our chicken house yesterday. Fortunately before any damage was done. But Saturday night we went out to a concert (a rare treat for us) and it was about 10:00 before we were home to lock up the chickens. When I went to check on them there was a possum in the coop eating a chicken. Farm life.

      Like

  17. You have plenty of wildlife around!

    Like

Leave a Reply

