What I’m Going to Do

What I’m going to do:

I’m going to hunt, and fish, and garden.

I’m going to listen to good music, read good books, eat good food and enjoy the company of good people.

When that pair of geese that shuttle back and forth between our pond and our neighbors pond come honking by, I’m going to stop and watch them fly over.

IMG_0153.JPG

I’m going to linger when a goat wants her head scratched just a little bit more.

IMG_9822.JPG

These important tasks are going to take upΒ most of my time for a while, so my blog posts won’t be as frequent as they once were.

For anyone who wants to follow what’s happening on the farm, we do post daily on Facebook and occasionally on Instagram

50 comments on “What I’m Going to Do

  1. Susan says:

    Enjoy every minute! Life is precious……….

    Like

  2. avwalters says:

    I think it is a wise adjusting of priorities. I think daily blogging becomes obsessive, and loses its fresh outlook. Only these things that you mention can effect a cure, a full rejuvenation of spirit. Then, and only then, blog, and maybe write. (For these activities will bring plenty of stories and insight.)

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, I think you’re right. When I started this blog all those years ago I did my posts every morning at my desk in my office while having my coffee. Over time I just fell into a routine, putting up posts even when I didn’t feel like it or had nothing to say. That made no sense. Now some days I feel the urge to blog, but not any obligation. Much better.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Enjoy it, Bill.

    Like

  4. valbjerke says:

    Go for it. I’m working on something similar myself – hard hard hard to change a lifetime of hundred mile an hour mindset, and the stress that goes along with it.
    What ‘I’m going to do/am doing’ : SLOW down. Learn to let things be. Appreciate what I’ve got. Don’t allow other people’s drama to be my drama. All that – and 45 minutes twice q day on a rowing machine πŸ˜„ Amazing how one can find the time when it’s important.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s great Val. I think we’re traveling similar journeys in some ways. I’ve wondered how in the world you found the time to do all you do. I’ve always been a workaholic myself. My wife once pointed out that I turn even my hobbies into stressful obsessions. I’m working on getting better. Hoping you settle into a pace you enjoy.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is beautiful, Bill. Enjoy every moment.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Teresa. My only goal for the year is to worry only about things that deserve to be worried about. And even then, as little as possible.

      Like

  6. Dearest Bill,
    Love your photos with the poetry of LIFE so obvious in them.
    ENJOY and will read you later.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  7. Always my philosophy, Bill. And it is lost sometimes in the hustle and bustle of our lives. It is so much easier to slip into doing more than it is less. –Curt

    Like

  8. shoreacres says:

    Since I’m not on Facebook or Instagram, I’ll see you when or if you come here. In the meantime, enjoy all those life-treasures you listed!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Linda. I expect I’ll still blog a few times a week. For now at least.
      As for Facebook, you could be like my sister and open an account, but never post on it. She looks at it to see what’s happening with friends and family, but doesn’t interact on it. Just an option. Of course avoiding it like the plague is probably a good option too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. dennisrenner says:

    Living the high life. That’s ok. Granted, that’s where the rest of us would like to be. I don’t care for Facebook, so I’ll wait for your occasional visit. Dennis

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Dennis. I’m planning to still blog every now and then, just not every day. Facebook has it’s negatives of course. I got on it years ago just so I could spy on our children. But it has been the best marketing/information platform for our farm by far. We have over 1,000 followers and get tons more traffic there than on our website for example. I don’t really get Instagram but we’re trying to keep some presence there for people who just want pictures. I’m totally stumped by Twitter.

      Like

      • dennisrenner says:

        I’ve not played with FB enough to really understand all the ins and outs. I don’t know how to filter out all the extraneous “do you know so and so” messages. A lot of people/CSAs, etc use it successfully. Glad you’re doing well. Best regards, Dennis

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanna says:

    Good for you. I prefer only once a week, I couldn’t do more and we use it more as a record of the year.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I enjoy your blog but I like meandering on mine. I’ve thought about converting to something like yours–a weekly farm journal–but that would take some of the fun out of it for me!

      Like

      • Joanna says:

        I used to meander more and maybe one day I will return to that. The problem is that sometimes when I meander I start to get too academic and that does not help the readability of what I write for a blog πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Please, DO take your time to enjoy life!: )
    Later ‘Gator!

    Like

  12. Laurie Graves says:

    Yes, enjoy sweet spring. Such a busy time for a farmer.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      After an April drought, it’s been raining here seemingly nonstop for over a week. I have no idea when our red clay soil will permit me to plant our summer crops and I’m wondering if all of our tomato plants are going to end up in the compost pile. It’s always something….

      Like

      • Laurie Graves says:

        Oh, dear! Can’t “like” this. Fingers crossed that the rain stops soon and you’ll be able to plant your tomato plants.

        Like

  13. ain't for city gals says:

    I will subtract two things…hunting and fishing…add one thing…drink good Scotch! If not now..when?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      If I was a vegetarian I’d subtract the hunting and fishing too. But since I’m not, and want to raise, catch or kill everything I eat, then those have to stay on the list. I’ll substitute cheap wine and good bourbon for the Scotch. πŸ™‚
      I’ve been thinking a lot on “If not now, when?” It’s a truly important question.

      Like

  14. Good for you Bill!
    Interesting to note that my three favorite bloggers – you, throwback at trapper creek and sailors small farm – are all “downsizing” the work load – blogging included. I am paying close attention as I’m a workaholic at heart (working in law firms seems to foster that sort of inclination) and I don’t want to be too worn out to enjoy the beautiful patch of nature that is our farm.
    Give that sweet little goat an extra “scritchin” for me.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes it is interesting. Val is adjusting too. I’m a crazy workaholic and have been my entire life. Fortunately I enjoy the work I’m doing now. If given the opportunity to do anything, this is what I’d choose. So I’m still spending my days outside playing in the dirt. But I’m trying to constantly remind myself that I do it because I want to. I’m not going to fret about the things I can’t control or worry about things that don’t deserve to be worried about. And I’m going to blog a lot less. At least, that’s the plan. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Enjoy! Maybe take more photos of the goats. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well we were a little surprised to discover last evening that one of our goats is very pregnant. So maybe there will be more baby pictures soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

  16. Stacy says:

    Sounds heavenly.

    Like

  17. Norma Chang says:

    Lovely, enjoy.

    Like

  18. EllaDee says:

    Fits in with me perfectly… I’m learning about this too, although I do miss having more time to spend in the blog world. Sometimes simply being is the answer.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, simply being. For me it’s not just writing the blog posts. I can dash them off pretty quickly (as the quality of them reveals). Responding to comments and keeping up with other folks’ blogs are time-consuming too. I still enjoy the blogosphere, but for now at least I’m going to post less often.

      Like

  19. Scott says:

    I can get behind that, Bill… But I do appreciate your thoughts in your blog and I can’t crack Facebook. Ah well. I’ll see you when I see you. Enjoy the observing and being.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Scott. I’ll still be blogging, just not as often as before. I may not focus on farm updates though, since many people are getting them already. It’s an experiment, so we’ll see.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, some times you just have to stop and smell the roses. You and Cherie has certainly changed lifestyles this year. For the good I might add. The older I get the things that were oh so important when I was younger are not even on the radar any more. Being on the down hill side of life, I’ve found that the most important thing in my life is spending time with family, friends, and neighbors. I’ve discovered that the meaning of life for me is relationship with everyone and thing around me. That would include just enjoying nature at it’s best in the garden or backyard.

    Have a great day doing what bring comfort, peace, and contentment.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks and well said Dave. Time is limited, so we need to use it wisely. I’m a master at taking on more than I should. I’m trying to get better. Sounds to me like you’ve got your priorities right.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Candace says:

    Sounds like a good plan. I only post about once a week although I do have a lot of photos when I do post but I just think it’s easier on one’s readers to post a little less. I have a hard time keeping up with bloggers who post daily.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I fell into the daily blogging practice years ago when I was still spending my days working in an office. Blogging was a good break from things I didn’t want to be doing. Now blogging sometimes takes me away from things I’d rather be doing, so it was time to make a switch.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. barnraised says:

    You inspired me…I finally got my goats! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

