Gone Fishing

I didn’t go fishing enough last year. I aim to fix that this year.

We have a pond on the farm, stocked with large mouth bass  and catfish. It provides all the fish I eat. Of course, I do have to go the trouble of catching them first.

I’m good at coming with excuses for not going fishing. During the day there always seems to be some more important tasks that need doing instead. The best time of day for fishing, in my experience, is late afternoon, just before it gets dark. But we like to go for a walk after supper and by the time we’re done it’s usually nearly dark, leaving me no time for fishing. So the fish chill safely in the pond, rather than in our refrigerator.

My plan this year is to carve out a regular fishing time each week. It might mean that one day a week I go fishing instead of going on the walk. We’ll see.

For many years my  work required me to travel a lot, leaving Cherie and the kids at home. This week the tables have finally turned. Cherie is in California for a World Help conference, leaving me here alone.

It seems strange not having her here, but it did mean that without my walking partner I could make other plans this evening.

So while Cherie is away helping save the world, I went fishing.

But after just a couple of casts (and they were biting), it started raining and I ended up getting rained out.

IMG_0309.JPG

 

Oh well. No fish tonight–but we really needed the rain.

Maybe tomorrow.

 

31 comments on “Gone Fishing

  1. I’m not a fisher but don’t the fish bite more when it’s raining Bill? ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck tomorrow, Bill.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    The joke around here is that with all our rain, they’re catching catfish in Galveston Bay. I’m not sure that’s true, but it’s a fact that a lot of them got washed pretty far downstream with the flooding. It’s an interesting phenomenon.

    Catfish and bass are nice fish to have. I would have thought they’d bite better in the rain, too — but maybe that’s not true.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. avwalters says:

    I understand that if it’s raining, the fisherman can get wet.

    Like

  5. Well, as you’ve been called on it twice already, I might as well make it a full three strikes, lol!
    But perhaps the next time you go fishing before a rain and the fish are biting, taking rain gear might be a good preventative?; )

    Like

  6. Susan says:

    I can’t emphasize enough just how important it is to SCHEDULE fun! Though that seems “wrong” –like you’re making it a “chore”, I think we all have a tendency to say –maybe tomorrow.
    Glad you at least got a few casts in.
    Now get that calendar out and start scheduling!!!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s exactly my way of thinking too Susan. In fact, I decided that this summer I’ll go fishing every Thursday after supper. It just so happened that the first Thursday I acted on that, the weather didn’t cooperate. 🙂
      Truthfully though I don’t enjoy fishing much. I’m too hyper I think. But I do enjoy eating fish every now and then. It helps me to think that my regular fishing date is just another part of food production around here (and not nearly as hard on the back). 🙂

      Like

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Better luck next time! This northern girl has never had catfish. How does it taste? Mild or strong?

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I love the taste of catfish. It’s got a great texture. I don’t know how to describe it as mild or strong. I just say delicious!
      Catfish are bottom feeders and I prefer casting and reeling, so I usually go after bass instead. Sometimes I’ll take a second rod and fish for catfish and bass at the same time. But mostly I catch bass. Catfish have skin, not scales, so they’re more difficult to clean.
      Thanks for the question. You’ve inspired me to go after catfish next time!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Farmgirl says:

    How lovely. A stocked fishing pond sounds like something that should be on my must have for our farm! I do hope you get plenty of fishing time this year!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A pond is a nice thing to have on a farm. I’d like to install a pump at ours and use it for irrigating gardens. When I was a boy growing up working on the farm one of our jobs in the summer was to lay pipe from the pond/pump to the fields to irrigate tobacco. The pipe was heavy and hot to handle. It was one of my least favorite jobs. Ponds doubled then as a source of fish, and as recreation (swimming/fishing). I enjoy being able to have freshly caught wild fish.

      Ponds are wildlife magnets too.

      I hope there is a beautiful stocked pond in your future!

      Like

  9. Better luck next time!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks. Maybe next time I’ll wear rain gear and fish on even if it starts raining. In fact, in case of a really severe storm, maybe I should take scuba gear and a spear gun!
      🙂

      Like

  10. That’s a great pond. Go fishing!

    Like

  11. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, I love fishing but it seems that the responsibilities of family, friends, and neighbors have over shadowed my love of fishing. I have been thinking quite a bit about the days when I would be in Minnesota fishing for any thing we could catch. Bass, Walleye, Crappie, perch, Blue Gill, Northern pike, and yes even catfish and carp. It didn’t matter. It was all about bringing in the fish. I still remember the first fish I caught while on my first fishing trip with my grandpa. I’ve fished in the Pacific, Atlantic, and even Canada. I’ve fished in ponds, lakes, rivers, and oceans. I really must get back to fishing again. The experience of fishing is not just about catching fish for me but being immersed in nature with water wild life all around. I’m felling the call of wild. Maybe this year will be the year to get back to fishing.

    Have a great day fishing in the pond.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve been farm-pond fishing since before I was old enough to bait my own hook. But I’ve never developed a great love for it. I went fishing in the Gulf of Mexico with clients one time, and while I enjoyed eating the grouper we caught, most of the day I was bored. I’ve never been fly-fishing or deep sea fishing. I might like it, but I doubt it.

      Having said all that, I do know that I’d enjoy getting out in nature. Like you said–feeling the call of the wild.

      I hope you get a chance to do some fishing this year Dave!

      Like

  12. Woody says:

    I love fishing in the rain as long as I’m not cold.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It would probably be refreshing on a hot summer day. I’ve never intentionally gone fishing in the rain, but based on some of the comments maybe I should give it a try sometime.

      Like

  13. Dearest Bill,
    Your pond for sure is large enough for providing you with some fish to eat! Both, Pieter and I are not into fishing. My late first husband though he would have been in heaven with such a pond, or even with the smaller size that we have here at home.
    We’ve fished at our friends on their big pond but that’s about it.
    It is good to be once in a while alone, it makes you always appreciate the other half more. Both of us have lived through that a lot as I was in Germany doing consulting work and Pieter was in Australia and New Zealand for work with Campbell Soup…
    Pieter always joked to people that whatever happens we both commit to be together for Christmas! It was never that bad of course but we’ve been apart for maximum 3 weeks.
    Sending you hugs and best wishes for rain and fish.
    Mariette

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Mariette. My work used to keep me away from my wife a family a lot. I was away from home a lot more time than I wasn’t. Probably the best thing about my lifestyle change is that I hardly ever leave home now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

