Where You Are

IMG_0190.JPG

If you don’t know where you are, you don’t know who you are.
Wendell Berry

IMG_0193.JPG

18 comments on “Where You Are

  1. avwalters says:

    Home. Ain’t it grand?

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    Or, to put it another way:

    ‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free

    ‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,

    And when we find ourselves in the place just right,

    ‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. ain't for city gals says:

    I’m not sure about that….I might not know where I am (and what is coming next) but I always have known who I am…

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    Took me most of my life to realize that. I’m a slow learner–but I get there eventually!
    🙂

    Like

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    Not all who wander are lost 😉

    Like

    • Bill says:

      A favorite saying of a very close friend of mine who left us way too young. He was quite a wanderer in his day. But he came home in the end. Glad to be reminded of him this morning.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, I’ll have to think about that one. Where I am in life does affect who I am. I was once known as husband, technician, auto repairman, and father. Today after many things changed in life, I’m known as neighborhood helper, grandpa, but mostly as gardener. Both defined who I was and am but at different times in life. So I guess depending on where a person is in life will define who they are.

    Have a great Where You are day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t think Mr. Berry meant “where” we are in the figurative sense, but rather in the literal, but you make a good point. I think he would more likely say that Nebraska has contributed to who you are and if you weren’t a product of that place, you wouldn’t be the same person.

      Like

  7. It is good to “be” where you are – no matter where that is.

    Could you be any cuter!?! Love that pic.

    Like

  8. Scott says:

    Wendell Berry is speaking tonight at the Shelby County KY library for free. I have a chance to go but unfortunately I don’t think I will go. Way too many pans on the fire.
    I recently realized that I live within a 40 min drive of him. Neat! I need to get more of his books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

