I Was Shocked

Literally.

IMG_0134.JPG

I went to install some of these this morning, and discovered abruptly that I hadn’t disconnected the power to the fence. It knocked me off my feet. Lesson learned and no serious damage seems to have occurred.

Shocked would be too strong a word, but I was certainly pleasantly surprised to find that Blondie had delivered a kid. Better late than never.Β I had assumed that she wasn’t pregnant.

IMG_0136.JPG

IMG_0140.JPG

IMG_0147.JPG

Blondie is one of our two most senior goats. Here’s a baby picture.

18833_1305833573877_1471669602_30834456_4572075_n.jpg

That’s Blondie on the far right.

This may well be her last kid. She’s looking rather pleased with herself.

IMG_0143.JPG

 

While I wouldn’t say I wasΒ shockedΒ to see Rowan allowing the kids to play king of the mountain on his back, I will admit to being surprised, and amused.

IMG_0121

 

 

IMG_0126

So in the end, plenty of fun on a day that began with a shock.

30 comments on “I Was Shocked

  1. df says:

    Yes, there are surprises, and then there are surprises!! Glad to hear you weren’t seriously hurt and congrats to Blondie.Lovely photos!

    Like

  2. Blondie really does look pleased with herself.

    Like

  3. And I forgot to say: I am really glad that you weren’t hurt. That’s a bit scary, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. DM says:

    I too have had more than one encounter with an electric fence. Definitely can get your attention like nothing else.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      You got that right. There is a switch/lever that allows me to disconnect the fence without having to unplug it. I used that (because there was a wasp nest at the plug and I didn’t feel like messing with it) and had no idea the fence still had power to it (I’m not sure why it didn’t work). The jolt caught me off guard and sat me down on my butt. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan says:

    Ha-seems Rowan has a lot of patience!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      He’s patient with the kids. I’ve seen them nibbling on his tail too. But I can guarantee he wouldn’t be so accommodating if I tried to stand on him like that. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Scott says:

    Oh, funny stuff. Blondie is certainly smiling.

    Like

  7. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, in my youth days my uncle and I would hold on to the electric fence and have competition to see who would let go first. Then he bought a new weed burner electric fencer. Imagine our surprise when we tried that trick with that one. We both got zapped silly for a couple minutes. That was the end of our electric fence competition days.

    I’m glad to see that kid and blondie are ok and that is was a good shock and not a bad one. I’ll be constructing the electric fence around my Sweet Corn Fortress very soon. Hopefully, it will keep out those rascal raccoons.

    Have a great shocking day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      When I was a kid we’d grab the fence and touch someone, shocking them instead. Of course those fences didn’t have the juice that they have today. I got a pretty solid shock, but we don’t have enough juice in ours to do any serious damage. But as DM says, it will get your attention.

      Like

  8. Laurie Graves says:

    In my younger days, I grabbed onto an electric fence in our field, and the jolt was so intense it felt as though my teeth were going to pop out of my mouth. Never did that again. Blondie does indeed look pleased and why not? Having a baby at any age, whether you be human or animal, is quite an accomplishment and endeavor.

    Like

  9. Carol Samsel says:

    I’ve had a couple of those shocking experiences over the years. Not fun! The goats are so darn cute β™₯

    Like

  10. All those sweet happy goats … Blondie certainly does seem pleased with herself, as she should, that is one sweet little kid …

    Like

  11. shoreacres says:

    I still remember the day I directed a stream of water from a hose across an unprotected 120 outlet on a boat. I couldn’t quite figure out why my arm was feeling so heavy, and so tingly. Then, I felt the tingle spreading, and snapped to. No more of that.

    Of course, there’s an obvious analogy here. As Will Rogers said, β€œThere are three kinds of men. The ones that learn by readin’. The few who learn by observation, and the rest of them, who have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.”

    Like

  12. That baby goat of yours could rock the cute charts. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Yikes on the shock!
    Awwww on the kid. Too much cuteness there. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  14. thesnowwoman says:

    This post is so wonderful! I love the photos and mama goat does look pleased. The photos of the kids playing on the horses back are priceless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

