Everywhere

Dani quoted a haunting poem on her blog recently (HERE) and it has stuck with me.

Thought I’d share it here today. On a beautiful morning, pregnant with the promise of summer, it is a sobering reminder (to me) that good fortune (and fair weather) must not be taken for granted.

From the poem “what they did yesterday afternoon” by Warshan Shire :

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered
where does it hurt?
 

it answered
everywhere
everywhere
everywhere.

 

9 comments on “Everywhere

  1. shoreacres says:

    Interesting that I just five minutes ago read this, and thought I’d pass it on. For some reason, I found it especially touching — and another sign that the smaller hurts of life are getting attention.

    On a practical note, I discovered yesterday why my farmers are now making pullet eggs available. It seems that pastry chefs and people who do baking love them, because of the different yolk-to-white ratio. She only had 15 dozen last week, but they sold out in pre-orders in a half-hour after posting: $7/dozen. She was just grinning. As she said, “I’m done scrambling those things. They’re going to market from now on.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Thanks for sharing the reflection and prayer. Very nice.

      As for $7 pullet eggs, all I can say is good for your friends. We keep them for ourselves when we have them (not believing there to be a market for them) and our friends who sell them offer them for 1/2 price. I’ve never heard that they can be offered as a premium item. Good to know!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan says:

    Hubby and I just watch a VERY sobering video on Netflix last night titled “Home”. Very very depressing. Honestly, I don’t think anymore that there IS hope. We must change drastically–and they’ve been warning of that for years………and we’re “Still the Same”.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m an incurable optimist. I try to take the advice of Wendell Berry (from the poem from which this blog takes its name): “Be joyful though you have considered all the facts.”

      I trust in the resilience and ultimate goodness of the human spirit, even though almost daily I can find reasons to doubt it. So I choose not only to hope for the best, but to expect it. I truly believe that despite all our problems, humanity’s best days lie before us. Of course, in the meantime we all have plenty of good work to do. 🙂

      Like

  3. Allison says:

    We’re not in the US at the moment, and we’re watching a lot of BBC. The breadth and scope of the hurt on this planet is even more apparent than what the US news would show us. It’s a good time to be old. I just don’t know how the human race moves forward. However, I do now know what a pullet egg is.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve been enjoying your posts. I’ve greatly enjoyed the photos and your commentary. We visited some of those same places about 15 years ago or so and I’ve enjoyed being reminded of them. Just yesterday I booked our tickets for September. It will be our first vacation in 12 years.

      Back when I did a lot of international travel I was struck by how global the news perspective was in the rest of the world. The lead story on the BBC might be the election in Peru, example, while CNN never mentioned it but gave 24-7 coverage to the Jon Benet Ramsey murder.

      It’s easy to be discouraged by all the bad news in the world, but it helps me to remember that the reason bad news is newsworthy is because it is rare. Kindness is the most common thing in the world, and therefore not newsworthy.

      Enjoy the rest of your trip!

      Like

  4. df says:

    What a powerful few lines. I’m with you on incurable optimism; it would be all too easy to never get out of bed if we carried the weight of the world on our shoulders all the time (or even some of it).

    Like

Leave a Reply

