A Pear Tree Announces the Arrival of Spring

IMG_9824.JPG

March 14

IMG_9923.JPG

March 18

17 comments on “A Pear Tree Announces the Arrival of Spring

  1. Susan says:

    Just Lovely!
    And here’s hoping Mother Nature doesn’t “nip” at it. We’ve had crazy late frosts here the last few years and I just don’t trust anything anymore.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yeah, our early summer has gone away. It’s 37 right now and the forecast low for the next two nights is 33. Hopefully all the young buds and blooms will be OK.

      Like

  2. NebraskaDave says:

    Bill, you are farther along in Spring than Nebraska. The buds are just now starting to swell. It will be crab apple tree flower time very soon. I do like the sight of flowering trees but they are such a mess to clean up after in urban town USA. Neighbors just don’t seem to like the flowery delights falling in my yard and blowing over into theirs. I had a crab tree and a redbud in my back yard but both were old and I had to cut them down. Enjoy your pears.

    Have a great flowering tree day.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Our Mexican plum, redbuds, and pears all are in full bloom now, along with the wonderful huisache. It’s gray and gloomy — and windy, and wet — this morning, but I’ve told myself that if I’m good, and get my chores done today, I can go out and play tomorrow.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t mind the brown season, but there is something especially wonderful about this time of year, when color gets splashed all over it.

      After a week or so of near-perfect weather, it’s gone cold and wet on us too. Maybe it’s just a feeble last gasp from Old Man Winter.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. avwalters says:

    Your bees will be happy!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I did not have great expectations for our hive, but I’m very pleased that it has survived and seems to be thriving. They’ve been bringing in food and have started making honey. I added a super a couple of days ago. Fingers crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • avwalters says:

        I don’t know if mites are as much as a problem as here. You could do a mid-season split to interrupt the cycle. Mostly, though, making it through the winter is a very good sign.

        Like

  5. Joanna says:

    It snowed again today! 😀 The pear blossom looks lovely

    Like

  6. Stacy says:

    You know that I am not a big fan of spring, but I do love the pear trees. I call them snow trees because they almost look like snow-covered trees. Beautiful photography. ❤

    Like

  7. Out plum tree is on full bloom. Don’t know why it’s so early and the others show no signs… But I’m glad because it snowed today and is going down to 20 tonight. Hope yours escapes a frost. Happy Spring!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      As nice as it is to see blooms on the fruit trees, it’s a risky business this time of year. We’re hovering just above freezing the next couple of nights so I’m hopeful it’s going to be OK.

      Like

  8. Dearest Bill,
    Yes, pear trees that start budding out are a happy sign of spring. Here we now have lots of Bradford pears in bloom. Quite a sight.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

Leave a Reply

