Catching Up

It’s been a while.

So what happened while I was away?

Well, it snowed.

IMG_9332

IMG_9340

IMG_9350

We had more kids.

IMG_9403

IMG_9407

Lots of them.

IMG_9569

IMG_9583

Really cute too.

IMG_9555

IMG_9703

It’s political season.

IMG_9699

But more importantly, spring is springing.

IMG_9740

IMG_9781

We started our serious planting yesterday, and hope to finish the first wave today.

IMG_9782

IMG_9786

All is good.

 

46 comments on “Catching Up

  1. shoreacres says:

    Yesterday, Aggie popped up saying they’d sold a farm, bought a place, and were doing fine. And now? What a pleasure it is to see you, too. And that’s no kidding — I wouldn’t snow you. It’s good to see you springing up to give us a wave!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s great news for Aggie. Glad to hear it. I was getting pretty comfortable with my new blog-free routine. Decided it was time to return. 🙂

      Like

  2. glad all is good and nice to see you in the mail box, we have lots of snow on the ground yet here..

    Like

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    So glad you are back with blogging. I have been thinking about you and hoping all is well.

    Like

  4. Welcome back. Happy spring!

    Like

  5. Scott says:

    Glad to hear from you. Happy spring and good luck planting! Everything is too soggy here to think about that…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There have been years we couldn’t start our spring planting until deep into April. This year things have worked out very well. I do worry though that I tilled one of our clayey gardens a bit too early. Hoping you get dried out soon…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Yippee! So glad to have you back – mornings just haven’t been the same without you… Hope you enjoyed your respite.

    Like

  7. BeeHappee says:

    Great time to resurrect the blog . So nice to see you back! Looking forward to another great growing season. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m wondering if it might have been smarter to take my break after I got busy on the farm, rather than before. 🙂 Good to hear from you Bee and thanks for the nice thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. avwalters says:

    Been missing you–and hoping all was well. Looks like Spring is in the air. Be well.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks A.V. We’ve shuffled things around a little here, but all is well. Glad to come in tired and dirty at night. 🙂

      Like

      • avwalters says:

        This internet blogging thing is a curious kind of intimacy. I worried for you and Cherie in your absence–hoping that all was well. It did make me stop–to wonder if I spent too much time online. Now, with spring lengthening the days and making us crazy with enthusiasm, I realize that winter slows us down (and thus the temptation of the internet.) But, when the days get longer, there’s no question that the work calls us–and wins.

        Liked by 2 people

  9. bobraxton says:

    (after kidding) no kidding! enjoying your Facebook.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Bob. Facebook and Instagram are probably the best ways to follow our farm happenings. Glad you’ve enjoyed the Facebook posts. Cherie and I used to divide them up but now they’re all my responsibility. Sometimes it’s hard to come up with something new and interesting every day!

      Like

  10. “All is good”? That is GOOD to hear!
    Love the photographic comment on electioneering; )

    Like

  11. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    very disturbing report (in NC – Whiteacres)

    Like

  12. Really good to have you and the goats back Bill. You have been missed. Curt

    Like

  13. Oh, I’ve missed the cute kids! Looking good on the planting there. Glad to see the gardener is sprouting too. 🙂 Spring is here!

    Like

  14. Craig says:

    Glad to see you back in my email today. I just found your blog a few months before your break and had just gotten used to seeing your posts every morning. I know it’s a big commitment to blog like you do, but it is truly appreciated and enjoyed.

    Like

  15. allisonmohr says:

    Yay!!! You’re back to the blog. Facebook was a good crutch, but I’m glad you’re back with more words. I have loved the pictures of the baby goats – is there anything more adorable than a baby goat. OK, maybe baby rabbits.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      It’s tempting to post nothing but baby goat pictures. The pictures really don’t do them justice. At this age they’re playful and devilish and that’s tough to capture in a photo. 🙂

      Like

  16. Nice to see you pop up in my feed tonight. Welcome back. Daffodils here too. I see the goat kids are as adorable as ever 🙂

    Like

  17. Dani says:

    So, it looks like you’ve been busy whilst you had your blogging break, but I’m glad you’re back in blogland 🙂 I was getting worried at your silence and Cherie was as quiet about your absence as you were…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Dani. I just wanted to break the routine for a while. Not sure what I’ll do with the blog going forward, but it’s good to reconnect with my blogger friends.

      Like

  18. Joanna says:

    Glad to see you back in the blogosphere too

    Like

  19. Dearest Bill,
    So with that much snow you got your land moisturized for the upcoming seasons!
    Love those cute kids and noticed their different iris, funny eyes that look almost sideways instead of straight forward.
    Your first planting looks perfect and we can only envy you for such fertile looking soil.
    Happy Saint Patrick’s week and upcoming spring!
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Thanks Mariette. Our soil differs from garden to garden. I’m hopeful that our plantings go well. I may have jumped the gun in one of the gardens and I’m a little nervous that I tilled too soon. We’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. hamertheframer says:

    Good to see you again Bill. And those unstoppable kids. You’ve got a lot on your hands but it looks like the nicest way to keep busy.

    Like

  21. barnraised says:

    Yay! You’re back. And with more cute kid pics 🙂

    Like

  22. Oh my goodness – a handsome horse and cute babies. Lie is good at your place. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

