Search Me

Being a fan of year-end lists, I can’t resist the temptation to participate in the fun. So every year I do posts listing the most viewed posts of the previous year, the books I read that year, and a list of the hits and misses in the garden for the year. If those topics sound thrilling to you, then you’re in luck, because those posts will be coming soon.

But I’m beginning this year with something new–a list of some of the most interesting search terms that led net-surfers to Practicing Resurrection last year. Here goes (in no particular order).

what to do when my pig drinks motor oil
Hmm. Good question.

turkey meat comes from which animal
Is this a trick question?

Groundhog is mocking me
Don’t you hate it when that happens?

is Haitians related to Satan
Only by marriage, I think.

photos of live pork
Live pork? More evidence I suppose that we’ve become disconnected from our food sources

alpaca poop shovel
Sounds like a handy device, even if there is no need for one here

video of people learning about the resurrection on cell phones
I’m going to go out on a limb and say this search was fruitless

why is there always slobber on my pig
Could be that live pork thing I reckon

vegetarianism is unchristian
So there. Heathens.

can haitian hougans really hex people
Probably only if they’re blood kin to the bad guy

is the suit symbolic of cannibalism in greek culture
Note to self–get to the bottom of this before attending a Greek wedding.

Happy New Year! In 2016, may we all find what we’re looking for.

 

 

 

37 comments on “Search Me

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    That was hilarious! I need to check out my search terms….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    These always are fun, but I rarely have specific search terms listed any more. I get “unknown search terms” galore. It’s because of Google changes, not WP. Still, it’s a shame. I’m glad you’re still getting some that are worth sharing. These were fun.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      The vast majority of mine were “unknown search terms” (by a magnitude of at least 100 to 1). Still, a few amusing ones came in from folks who weren’t using Google.

      Like

  3. hilarious …. it’s good to laugh …

    Like

  4. Oh! 5 great belly laughs before lunch! Thanks.

    Like

  5. Sue says:

    LOL!!
    What great questions! Thanks for the chuckles……….

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I wonder if the “live pork” and “turkey meat” questions were the same person? What animal produces turkey meat?? What does live pork look like?? Really???

      But sadly we once hosted a group of “at-risk” kids on a farm tour and one little boy, probably 9 or 10 years old, didn’t know that chicken came from a live animal.

      Like

  6. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m glad to see that Annie is recovering. You statement about it’s always something with goats and be said about most animals on a homestead. I hope and pray that Annie continues to make a good recovery and will be back to normal quickly.

    I’ll have to look for searches on my blog. I’m not sure how most of those searches are even related to White Flint Farm or why anyone would the answer they are looking for would be on your Website. It’s a good laugh for sure.

    Have a great New Year day.

    Like

  7. avwalters says:

    You’ve started a blogger trend–wait a minute, just how did they find me?

    Like

  8. Thanks for the morning chuckle – hilarious!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There really were some doozies this year. The vast majority of searches are encrypted by Google so they just show up as “unknown search terms.” So this is probably just the tip of the iceberg.

      Like

  9. Those were TOO funny. I loved reading them and sat here in the kitchen just laughing out loud!

    Like

  10. thistledog says:

    Me too; loved those and your “responses” to them had me in stitches… happy new year!

    Like

  11. Joanna says:

    Especially for the person looking for an alpaca poop shovel, here we go

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      There ya go. Maybe they’ll come back looking again.
      My goat poop shovel looks exactly like a regular shovel. Because it is. 🙂

      How did you post a picture? I didn’t know that was possible in the comments.

      Like

  12. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Hey Bill, thanks for the laughs… Kinda makes you wonder, doesn’t it?; )

    Like

  13. Weird and weirder, eh?

    Like

  14. Hilarious Bill. With you, I am quite concerned about mocking groundhogs. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  15. Pam says:

    Interesting. I came here from The Deliberate Agrarian’s review of your book and you have been kind enough to comment on my blog.
    I must look to see who comes and what they search for.
    Happy New Year to you and yours!
    Pam

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m glad to have discovered your blog. The review on The Deliberate Agrarian, and the kind words about my blog, came as a surprise to me. I suddenly gained about 100 followers after that. Hopefully they weren’t all disappointed. 🙂

      A very happy new year to you and yours as well!

      Like

  16. Dearest Bill,
    Those were funny!
    Indeed, I too had no idea a photo could be used in a comment.
    Best wishes from a rainy Georgia and I’m still under the weather…
    Mariette

    Like

  17. BeeHappee says:

    Almost died laughing reading these!!!! Wondering why DO YOU have content on Haitians and Satan? Did we miss some posts? 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      In the early days of the blog I did a lot of posts about Haiti. We were very involved with an orphanage there and traveled there a couple of times. We even came very close to moving to Haiti, but the earthquake ruined our plans. Cherie eventually took a stateside job with the organization. And I actually did do a post once responding to Pat Robertson’s comment that Haiti is cursed as a result of having made a pact with the devil (or something to that effect), a belief which, sadly, many Haitians hold.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

