Kale and White Bean Soup

Speaking of kale soup (we were speaking of kale soup, weren’t we?), here’s the recipe I’ve mentioned before (from HERE).

Quick Kale and White Bean Soup

Prep time:  20 minutes
Makes:  4 servings
1 bunch kale, stems removed
1 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, plus additional, for serving, optional
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 (15.5 ounce) cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1 quart chicken or vegetable stock
3/4 teaspoon coarse sea salt or kosher salt
Pinch red pepper flakes
Freshly ground black pepper
Olive oil, optional
Finely grated Parmesan cheese, for serving, optional
1.  Lay some of the kale leaves one on top of the other to make a small stack.  Roll them up into a cigar and slice crosswise into strips.  Repeat with remaining kale.
2.  In a large pot heat 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and garlic and saute until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the beans, kale, chicken or vegetable stock, red pepper flakes, and black pepper to taste.  Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the kale is cooked through, about 15 minutes.
3.  Using a potato masher or wooden spoon, mash the beans slightly in the pot and serve.  For a richer flavor, continue to simmer until the soup thickens and becomes more stew-like.  Divide into serving bowls and top with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of grated cheese, if any.

 

I can vouch for the yumminess of this. This year our white beans were a fail so we substituted October beans and the result was equally delicious.

19 comments on “Kale and White Bean Soup

  1. Yumm.. now I still have lots of Kale in the garden, this sounds an excellent recipe Bill. Thank you..

    Wishing you and yours a very Happy New Year.. Wishing you a Blessed 2016

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! This sounds very good 🙂 maybe I’ll substitute black eyed peas and have it for our New Year tradition.

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Mmmmmm, I love soup. Bean soup is one of my top soups that I like. I usually start with dry beans and use the crock-pot. My bean soup has a ham bone in it to give it a little more flavor. I just can’t get away from meat having grown up in the Midwest. A lot of beef and pork are consumed here. I’m going to have to make some now …. with kale of course. I am thinking about making and canning soup this year. My potatoes are starting to sprout in the storage room so I’ll have to do something with them. I guess upper 50s is still not cool enough to keep them dormant. Winter canning is better than August canning. At least in the Winter the heat is an asset instead of a detriment.

    The low temperature last night was 6 degrees with a high of 23 today. That’s pretty normal for my area. I visited Terra Nova Gardens last night and dropped off a load of dumpster carpet for weed control next spring. It sure looks different than thriving with green during the summer. I’m really looking forward to gardening in 2016.

    Have a great white bean soup day and a Happy New Year’s Eve.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That soup is one of our favorites. No meat in ours though, because Cherie is a vegetarian.

      It was 55 here today. One friend posted a picture on Facebook of bees feasting on the blooms of her bolted Chinese cabbage, legs heavy with pollen. Another friend posted a picture of her son with a snake he caught today. These things aren’t supposed to be happening on New Years Eve! But I’m sure Old Man Winter is lurking out there somewhere. We’ll get ours eventually.

      All best wishes for a very Happy New Year!

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Lol, I don’t remember exactly when; but I’m sure we were talking about Kale Soup not all that long ago; ) so thanks for posting it here!
        I do go over to read Cherie’s blog every now and again, but Blogger/Blogspot don’t get along with Apple all that well so I don’t get to say “Hello” over there, like I do here. Happy New Year to both of you!: )

        Like

  4. Yum! We make this soup too – super delicious. We sometimes add sausage to it. I see you have a freezer full of that now 😋
    HAPPY NEW YEAR Bill!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve seen recipes for a Portuguese kale soup that includes sausage. I’m sure it’s delicious with sausage in it, but that’s not an option for us as Cherie is a vegetarian (and it wouldn’t be fair for me to get ALL the soup).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Bill on Portuguese Kale Soup: what if you make a batch w/ Sausage for yourself, one for Cherie without and freeze the rest for lunches (if there’s too much?)
        Oh, and tell your friend to beeware of “cabbagey” honey (if the girls don’t use it all up by spring; )
        LOL Dave: was JUST chopping up the scraps of the holiday ham for soup: )
        @ShoreAcres’ Linda: always love your stories: ) The French call this technique for cutting (unruly; ) leafy greens “chiffonnade” and means “little ribbons” : ) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiffonade

        Like

  5. Sounds simple and delicious, two essential criteria for a healthy meal. I love hearty winter soup. I’ll be making this soon.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    This is nearly identical to my white bean soup. All I have to do is add the kale. I had to laugh — the way you cut up the kale is the way I learned to cut up collards in Liberia. I’d never seen the technique before.

    Here’s a tip for you: in Ukraine, it’s considered very good luck to go walking wtih a she-goat on New Year’s eve. Get cracking! I never thought I’d be writing about goats, but lo and behold, I ended up doing so. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Well then, I should have Ukrainian good luck. I not only walked with a she-goat on New Year’s eve, I carried one in my arms. Then I let her ride in my lap while I drove the tractor back to the barn. 🙂

      Here our New Year’s Day traditional meal is blackeyed peas, greens, cornbread and pork (usually hog jowls or ham hocks). So tonight we had blackeyed peas, collard greens, cornbread and neck bones for supper. That meal is supposed to bring good luck, good health and prosperity in the coming year. When I was a boy I didn’t like blackeyed peas, but my mother would force me to eat at least one, lest I have a year and bad luck.

      Like

    • This is funny Bill and Linda. I was going to write about how I cut up collards in Liberia the same way. And I still do. Then I come on Linda’s description. Laughing here. I must try the Kale and bean soup. –Curt

      Like

  7. Hi Bill, just thought I would let you know we tried this recipe tonight and it was very good. It was a lot like a bean soup we have made in the past that used swiss chard instead of kale. The only thing we did different was some pancetta we browned before we softened the onions and garlic.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Glad you enjoyed it Gordon. We often substitute Swiss Chard or other greens for the kale. It works with any green. I like to put a little cayenne pepper sauce in mine.

      Like

    • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

      Thank you too for your suggestion, Gordon!
      Although we’ve never grown kale, there’s always have ‘way more than enough Swiss Chard in the garden; )
      A little dab of hot sauce sounds great too, Bill! Can’t wait for next year’s greens. *sigh* Winter has finally arrived…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

