Peppers

IMG_8205

Continuing to think about next years gardens (because that’s what you do in the winter)….

We always dedicate one garden to tomatoes, eggplant and peppers. And we always end up with too many peppers.

I’ve already decided that we won’t plant any hot peppers next year. We’ve grown a lot of them over the years–jalapenos, cayennes, haberneros, hot bananas, etc. Hot pepper plants may be the most prolific thing in the garden. Last year I scaled way back on them, only planting 8 jalapenos and 8 cayennes, and still ended up with more than we could handle. We’ve got enough hot sauce and pepper flakes to last a lifetime. So no hot peppers in 2016.

We’ll grow some sweet bell peppers, but I’m going to cut back on those too. Once they start coming in strong you can hardly give them away at the market. We eat a lot of them when they’re fresh and I dice them up and freeze them. Cherie makes an amazing bell pepper soup that she freezes (very nice on wintry days). But I reckon we can get all the peppers we need with half the plants we’ve been putting out.

To fill the space being vacated by the pepper reduction, my plan for now is to grow more Asian eggplant.

Oh, and by the way…

Merry Christmas!

 

 

21 comments on “Peppers

  1. shoreacres says:

    The peppers are perfect. Just remember — if it weren’t for Christmas, there wouldn’t have been resurrection, Mr. Berry wouldn’t have written his poem, and you would have needed a different blog title.

    Merry Christmas to you and Cheri, and all who gather ’round. I’m off to bake pies. 😉

    Like

  2. Scott says:

    Merry Christmas Bill! Best to you guys…

    Like

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Christmas Day has arrived and right at the last minute on Christmas Eve, Nebraska was blessed with about six inches of snow to cover everything and make it a White Christmas. How great is that? As I sit pecking away at the keyboard anticipating the waking of the Grandson to make all the work of December shopping, wrapping, and planning for this day, it will all be over in about an hour with nothing but a pile of paper and empty boxes on the living room floor. The joy of watching an eleven year old on Christmas morning is present enough for me. I can remember when I was eleven. It was so exciting on Christmas. Now I get the joy of just watching others on Christmas day.

    Later Christmas morning

    Well, and there is the food. I go to a family that has taken me and my family in as one of their own for holidays. Lots of activity, lots of present opening, lots of food are always happening. It’s a wonderful time of the year. Now that all the activity at my house is over, I can contemplate just how blessed I am. Bradley’s playing with his new XBox game; Lydia (my daughter) is taking a nap; and I’m able to enjoy the quiet and get in some social screen time. Now that Christmas is almost over, my thoughts begin to turn toward seed starting. Soon the viability testing will begin.

    Have a great Christmas Day on the White Flint Farm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      A white Christmas! Good you for all! Here it felt like Florida, which is fine by me. 🙂

      I do remember the joy of Christmas as an 11 year old. And we’re fortunate to have our granddaughter with us this weekend and yesterday (Christmas day) was her 10th birthday, so like you this year we get to share in the happiness of children at that age.

      I enjoyed some good times with family and even got to go on a long quiet walk in nature, early yesterday morning and all by myself. A fine day.

      We’ll be doing our seed inventory soon, turning our minds to the gardens. I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

      Like

  4. Dearest Bill,
    Yes, Merry Christmas to you both!
    It is so true that peppers yield enough to feed an orphanage as we say in Dutch!
    But one must plan ahead indeed and that is the bonus of long winter evenings… reading and writing and researching for things to do in the spring.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Merry Christmas Mariette!

      I’m going to try to be more disciplined this year and not plant so many of the things that end up overwhelming us. Whether I’ll be successful remains to be seen…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You could take those peppers, Bill, hang them on your tree, and do away with the rest of the ornaments. Hope your Christmas went well. Now, on to New Years. –Curt

    Like

  6. avwalters says:

    Could there really be such a thing as too many peppers?

    Like

  7. Our pepper tastes have certainly changed. Big thick pimientos for our sweet pepper habit, Basque or Espelette for paprika, and this year we’re trying Habanada (no heat but sweet) and Shishito for quick stir fry peppers in the summer. It seems the hotter the pepper is the more productive it gets…and we’re not liking the heat so much anymore.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We enjoy peppers, so we’re not going to stop growing them, but we are going to scale down. And I’m definitely done with cayennes for a while, maybe forever. It will take me a long time to use up the hot sauce and pepper flakes I’ve put up.

      But knowing me there will still be plenty of peppers in the garden this year. 🙂

      Like

  8. I’m hoping we will be able to grow hot and sweet peppers when we get to the farm – it is a bit warmer out there in the summers plus they will get more sun than here at the house. I can grow some here at the house but they don’t get very big and they never have any heat – we are snugged up in doug firs so not enough sun to generate the heat.
    I wish I had your problem of too many peppers!! I’ve recently become addicted to Harissa – a Moroccan red pepper sauce and would love to make it myself but since I can’t [yet] grow enough red peppers and we have to pay $4 – $5 a piece for peppers here for organic – I have to indulge my habit with a store-bought version in the meantime.
    So is Asian eggplant a big seller for you? How different is it from the typical eggplant? I haven’t experimented with eggplant much.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Wow. Here we sell sweet bell peppers for 50 cents each and hot peppers 4 for $1. And those prices are high in our market. We have long hot summers so peppers are easy for us. And until this year it wasn’t necessary to protect them from deer. Unfortunately our deer developed a taste for them.

      In the past we didn’t sell much eggplant and the Italian type was preferred over Asian. But this year we consistently sold out and the demand for Asian was especially strong. I’m convinced we need more eggplant and fewer peppers. Here’s a post with pictures showing the difference between Italian and Asian (often called “Japanese”) eggplant: https://practicingresurrection.wordpress.com/2014/12/26/eggplant-2/

      The long thin eggplants in the green tub are Asian. The light purple ones are a variety called Ping Tung. The dark purple ones are (IIRC) Millionaire.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Pam Baker says:

    Hi there,
    We had a bonus pepper year here. I put up 84 bell peppers (red and green) stuffed in the freezer. That’s from 12 plants. I made some traditional peppers and some Mexican style. I think, if you were able, to do a few stuffed peppers on your market day. Sell them as a value added item. For our Mexican ones, I cut the rice in half and substituted black beans, added cumin and cilantro and topped with Mexican blend cheese. When I bake them, I put salsa on them about 15 mins before the are done.
    And for heavens sake, make paprika. Lots of paprika. Sell that as a value added item. I bet folks would love it…local paprika!
    It is the one plant the voles didn’t go near.
    If you have a Mexican population nearby, which these days is most places, then you should also think about escabeche. Basically, it’s pickled carrots, cauliflower and peppers (hot). You can add onion too. I made some for my husband and my neighbor, who is Mexican, loves them.
    I think it was Joel Salatin who said that if he could have done something different from the beginning it would be to put on a commercial kitchen to produce the value added items because you can get more for them at market.
    Okay, that’s my two cents worth!! ;0]
    Pam

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Some great ideas. The escabeche sounds great. We planted 120 pepper plants, so you can imagine the production we get. Once we have all we could possibly need we end up with a surplus because they’re dirt cheap at the market as everyone else is trying to unload their extras too.

      I made a lot of hot sauce this year. My original plan was to sell it at the market, along with dried pepper flakes, but there were so many other vendors already selling it that I didn’t bother.

      Like

Leave a Reply

