Me Either

I refuse to accept despair as the final response to the ambiguities of history.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

h/t Lightwaveseeker

5 comments on “Me Either

  1. Count me in, Bill. –Curt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, despair for the uncertain times in the history of my life? I’m not sure I ever felt despair. Disappointment maybe but not despair. I’ve only had one event in my life that drove me close to it but when I tried to ride it out until there was just no more ride there, I changed directions and moved on. It wasn’t without heart wrenching disappointment but once I make a decision it’s pretty much final. I don’t make a life changing decision without a trail of attempts to fix it. Unfortunately some things in life are just not meant to be and it takes two people to make a marriage work. Thankfully the second one was much better but ended in death. So two was enough for me and now I’m a confirmed bachelor. Life is filled with many twists and turns but despair doesn’t need to be one of them. I guess maybe I had a little divine help along the way.

    Have a great day without despair. 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      This is from King’s Nobel Prize acceptance speech that he gave in 1964. It was a time when it would have been easy for those working in the civil rights movement to choose despair over hope. Despite the darkness of the times, his speech reflects his optimism for the future.

      That seems relevant to me today. On the news and social media we’re getting bombarded with messages of gloom, disaster, despair. It seems that people expect the worst. We too often seem to believe that despair (and violence) is the answer to world’s problems. I don’t accept that. So I thought this little snippet from the speech deserved to be shared. 🙂

      I’m glad your life journey has led you to a good place. My life has had some ups and downs too, and I haven’t always made the wisest choices. But overall I’d say that I never gave in to despair. It’s been a good journey so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

