Closing Out a Chapter

IMG_9144

The Organic Wesley DVD series was released last week. There are ten video lessons, each 10-15 minutes long, corresponding to the ten chapters in the book. The videos are narrated by me and were filmed mostly here at our farm. The hope is that these will be good resources for group studies of the book. And while they’re probably best appreciated in conjunction with the book, they stand alone just fine in my opinion. Hopefully anyone interested in the subject who finds the book too dull will find the videos tolerable.

And thus closes a chapter that began a couple of years ago, after a day of research at the Duke Divinity School library. I’d gone there to begin working on my masters thesis, which was supposed to be about environmental ethics in the writing and teaching of John Wesley. I discovered that day that John Wesley had very little to say about what we might today call environmentalism, and what little evidence there was had already been thoroughly mined by others. But to my delight I also discovered that Wesley wrote repeatedly and often on the subject of food and ethical eating, that those teachings seemed generally to have been forgotten over time and that, most remarkably, they align neatly with the guiding principles of current cultural phenomenon I call the “food movement.” And as far as I could tell, no one had yet made that connection.

So I wrote the thesis, hoping that it might turn out to be something worthy of publication. The thesis was accepted, I graduated, and Seedbed (a Wesleyan publishing house) agreed to publish the manuscript, on the condition that I re-write it for a general audience. We got it done and the book was published in September.

The video series was Seedbed’s idea. I’ll admit to being pleased with it. Seedbed has made the first video available free, and you can watch it by clicking on the Organic Wesley tab at the top of the page. And so the story (this part of it at least) is complete.

I doubt I’ll have much more to say on this blog about the book/videos. They’re out there and I’m happy with the reactions so far.

We now return to our regularly scheduled programming, whatever that is.

 

4 comments on “Closing Out a Chapter

  1. JB says:

    I am not very familiar with Vimeo, will I be able to download the videos once purchased? We don’t have an internet connection at home.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I think so, but I’m not sure. If you have a DVD reader on your computer you could buy the DVD. You can get it at Seedbed.com or you can order directly from me if you prefer. I can check on the Vimeo question for you if you like.

      Like

  2. How very exciting.. and I so wish you huge success with their promotions too Bill… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

