Nature’s Gifts

We’ve had amazingly mild weather here this fall. Yesterday’s high was 72, over 20 degrees above normal. Today’s forecast high is 74, which will be a record.

Our gardens are loving the weather, and are producing copiously.

IMG_9126

IMG_9127

IMG_9129

And to go along with the abundance from the gardens, nature gave us some beautiful wild oyster mushrooms this week.

IMG_9086

IMG_9085

IMG_9084

IMG_9089

IMG_9093

IMG_9092

These pictures are from last Friday, which explains why she’s not dressed for 72.

IMG_9096

We enjoyed some of them in a garden-fresh stir fry and froze the rest.

Our cup runneth over.

23 comments on “Nature’s Gifts

  1. bobraxton says:

    the university Chaplain (married us 1967) at couple’s last move exclaimed “We have landed in a good place.” (reported at his memorial, not quite one year ago).

    Like

  2. Wow, a cornucopia comes to mind …. what fun finding and harvesting those mushrooms. I still have some chicken of the woods in the freezer …. but fresh in a stir fry sounds delicious. Everything looks so healthy and thriving.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What bounty and what a beautiful day to be picking mushrooms!

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    Are they wild mushrooms? Ooh, this is something I want to learn!

    It’s warm here, too, mid-December and no snow! We love that it saves the region in fuel oil–but we miss winter. This is hard on the bees, they’re out and about–but no food. And what of the fruit trees that require a dormant season? It’s early, I’m sure there’ll be some cold in the mix in January. I tell myself this is just an extreme ENSO phase, an El Nino fluke. Still, I look at my plans for the future, into which I’ve built a wide margin for climate change, and I wonder, even then, if I’ve been flexible enough.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Yes, wild oyster mushrooms. I discovered them when looking for firewood (which, thanks to the weather, we haven’t been using up very fast this year). We stick to the basic easily identifiable mushrooms. One beauty of that is that the mushrooms without poisonous look-alikes are also the tastiest and most desirable.

      It’s been steadily warming here for a quite a while according to the old-timers. We’ve changed our planting dates even over the last ten years. But just when you think you’re safe to do that, a winter like last year rolls around and nearly all of our fall crops were wiped out by an early hard freeze. So now I’m trying to be more cautious. I pushed back our fall planting dates a bit. I’m not going to count on milder winters, but I do expect them to become more common over time.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are still getting so many vegetables! They look so nice and fresh, too. In Oregon, we have had such torrential rainfall lately (record-breaking) that anything left in the garden is in pretty bad shape, if it didn’t freeze already. Thankfully, we preserve a lot, but the fresh stuff is so nice while it lasts.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      On the rain, I feel your pain. We had a bad year for sweet potatoes this year (along with everyone else I know) and I put a lot of the blame on 10 inches of rain here a few weeks before time to harvest. We’re having a very nice fall harvest this year, but last year a very early two-day hard freeze wiped us out. That kind of thing just goes along with gardening/farming I suppose.

      Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Oh WOW!
        Lovely garden veggies (I love the colour-co-ordinated trugs; ) and quite the haul of wild ‘shrooms too: )
        Tell me, are those baby Beech trees that I see in behind Cherie?
        Re: a bad year for Sweet Taters = a GREAT year for harvesting fungi…
        And FINALLY time for Doubters of Climate Change to go outside and take a good, long look around??

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bill says:

        Good point. But if forced to choose, I’d rather have the potatoes. 🙂

        Yes, we have lots of little beech trees in our woods, holding stubbornly onto their leaves all winter. 🙂

        Like

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        About those potatoes: oh well, there’s always next year; )
        I love everything about beech trees: how those curled up hangers-on rustle through the long winter, how their smooth, grey bark is so lovely and cool in the summer; how strong and stoic they seem, as they grow ever so ancient. Did you know that’s where the little people abide?
        Wishing you and Cherie a lovely Christmas: )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bill says:

        I love them too. We have some beauties in the woods near our house. Over 75 years ago my father, then a young boy, carved his initials into one that stands near our house. I enjoy that reminder of his life.

        Like

  6. Leigh says:

    Your garden looks fantastic. What luscious greens! I know nothing about mushrooms but sure wish some good ones grew around here.

    Like

  7. Oh those mushrooms look good. And the lettuce. I guess as a farmer, the weather giveth, and the weather taketh, if that is biblically correct language. 🙂 –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Our lettuce bolted due to the heat. The picture is maruba santoh on the left and Tokyo bekana on the right. Excellent lettuce substitutes from Asia. Yummy.

      Like

  8. Laurie Graves says:

    Wow, wow, and wow! My mouth is watering. It’s been unseasonably warm in Maine, too. In the fifties. Today, I went for a walk in the woods without hat or gloves. I enjoy it, but it’s very strange.

    Like

Leave a Reply

