A New Thing

When my old coffee maker finally died, after years of faithful service, Cherie gently suggested replacing it with a French press. She’s been suggesting that for years. But as long as the old machine was chugging along just fine, I didn’t see any need to switch, even if it meant continuing to buy coffee filters.

Change doesn’t come easy to me. I’m sort of naturally disposed to keeping familiar things they way they are. I’m not adventurous.

But I reluctantly agreed to give it a try, after Cherie brought one home saying she could return it if I didn’t want it.

IMG_9115

Morning number one I grumbled through the process, half-asleep–boil water in tea kettle, pour over grounds, let steep, depress plunger, pour and drink coffee. The result was a fine cup of coffee, but it seemed more trouble than I was used to.

Day 2 I didn’t have to think about it much. I let the coffee steep a little less, so it was hotter.

Day 3 it was my new morning routine. Seemed effortless.

So now I’m a fan of the press. No more electric coffee makers and disposable coffee filters for me.

On a completely unrelated subject, yesterday was the 35th anniversary of the murder of John Lennon, a day I will always remember. My thoughts on that, from five years ago: This Bird Has Flown.

26 comments on “A New Thing

  1. A good cup of coffee is a critical need to get the day started. We have even traveled with a French Press. LOL 🙂

    Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    I have a friend who’s lived in Panama for years, and he swears by his French press. I’ve never tried one, but perhaps I should. I make my iced coffee by steeping grounds in cold water for 24 hours, and it’s the best coffee ever. It seems like the principle would be the same.

    Like

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Oh-la-la, goat cheese and French press, now you are getting all fancy. 🙂 Most of my adult life I had used French press, in addition to Turkish pot or espresso pot on the stovetop. I love it. My French press glass part just broke two days ago, and having no budget to replace it, I am now just gonna live with some good old cowboy coffee for a while. Enjoy your coffee with some John Lennon!

    Like

  4. avwalters says:

    I’m halfway there. Never a fan of gadgets, I never did settle in to a coffee-maker. But, I am a fan of drip coffee and they do make organic, bleach-free cone filters. Every morning I brew 1.5 liters (between the two of us, we are serious about coffee) into a vintage, copper clad alfi carafe. It stays hot and it is heaven.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Sounds great. I used to drink coffee by the potful. But nowadays I usually stick to one strong cup. As for the organic, bleach-free cone filter–I tried one for a while. Didn’t like it. I attribute that to my natural opposition to change. I didn’t expect to like the French press. It’s been a pleasant surprise.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a french press, and I know how to use it :), but we no longer drink a lot of coffee, and seldom at the same time. Nowadays our usual coffee making method is a Melita drip cone – I have a cloth filter that can be washed, but I often use unbleached paper filters, since they can go into the compost anyway. Makes one coffee in just a few minutes. The french press works great when there’s two of us having coffee, but we haven’t used it in a whle.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I feed the coffee grounds (with filter) to our worms, so I was worried that this method with reduce our worm food. But they never liked the filters much anyway and I’m still feeding them the rinses from the press.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I had a French Press in Santa Fe, but it broke and I didn’t replace it …. My older son brought his at Thanksgiving and the coffee was sooooo good. I’m thinking of getting another …

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hmm… Yours is the second comment mentioning one breaking. I suppose I’d better be careful with it. A groggy man and a big piece of glass probably are a dangerous combination. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    When we were given a French press as a wedding gift (a few years ago; ) I found a quilted tea cozy that totally surrounds the carafe like a big mitten and it works like a charm! But y’know, even if the coffee does go cold, it still tastes great because it wasn’t kept hot after brewing (and, if you start grinding your own beans, it’ll take you to another taste level altogether; ) Bon appétit!
    @BeeHappee: I’ve totally lost track of how many times we’ve replaced the glass part of our press and a LOT cheaper than buying a whole new pot! Good luck!

    Like

    • BeeHappee says:

      Do you just call Bodum for replacement?
      Yes, I second grinding the beans fresh (and fine for my taste) and steeping for just a few minutes ( I do maybe 2-5 mins).

      Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve been impressed with the coffee. I’ll just need to experiment a little to find the perfect grind and steeping time. The mitten seems like a great idea.

      Like

  8. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Almost forgot… Not sure how long you started out at; but you only need to set the timer for a 5 minute steep before fully depressing the handle. (So sayeth my ancient Bodum instruction booklet; )

    Like

  9. rhondajean says:

    Bill, the new coffee machines have a built in permanent filter. Not that I’m trying to tempt you. ;- ) I like french press too. Gee, 35 years, I clearly remember the day I heard that sad news.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Cherie was going to look for a replacement for my old one at a thrift store, but decided to give me the French press option instead. So far, so good.

      35 years seems like such a long time. In five more years he will have been gone as long as he had been alive. So senseless and tragic…

      Liked by 1 person

  10. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, I’m with you on using something until it breaks and can’t be repaired. Change is not my friend especially when it’s a digital change. I don’t care how good it looks and don’t care how many discounts are promised, I invariably end up paying more in the end. I have a very slow Internet compared to what’s available but it’s adequate for me. There are offers to speedy Internet but after the initial offer is over the monthly fee doubles or more. I just hate changing any thing. I used to laugh at the older people and their reluctance to change and now I am one of the old people that fights against change. It’s amazing how perspective changes the older we get.

    If I could hunt my garden property, I might consider it but city restriction to discharge firearms or arrows with in the city limits prevent me from any action. Surrounding neighbors might have an opinion about killing animals that wander the land uninhibited. That’s an issue with city people. Wildlife becomes pets. I have one neighbor at Terra Nova Gardens that I talked with that recuses injured animals. He has a raccoon that sleeps with him. Weird. So I guess the best thing for me is to find a way to keep the rascals out of my sweet corn without killing them.

    Have a great hunting/changing day.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m an animal lover, but I wouldn’t let a raccoon sleep with me! 🙂

      A lot of cities are starting to allow urban bow hunting due to the increasing urban deer population. Our nearby small town had to do that this year. Hopefully it won’t come to that where you are, but once deer discover it’s safe to live there, you’ll probably end up with a big problem.

      Like

  11. Dearest Bill,
    Welcome on board with the French Cafétière!
    For over 32 years now, that’s the ONLY coffee making device we used. I bought a small 3 cup sized (demitasse that is!) in South Africa and the large 8-cup size in The Netherland, still the original Melior from France. Easy to boil hot water and having coffee wherever you go. Without problems of different voltage. When we moved to Italy, again it served us well and back to the USA. Even in Indonesia we did use one.
    The only thing that is different, one ought to use the coarse grind coffee, otherwise the press goes down rather difficult.
    Glad you’re finally enjoying what your dear wife envisioned for years.
    Hugs,
    Mariette

    Like

  12. EllaDee says:

    Coffee is a necessity in our house! We have an electric coffee machine-automated which grinds beans and delivers great coffee. It has a frother but we drink black. We also have a French press, a stovetop and a Hario drip carafe that takes filters. But we don’t ever have instant coffee 🙂

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m used to making a cheaters version of Cuban cafe con leche. I’d microwave the milk then pour in the coffee (made a cup at a time from espresso-type coffee). (I know, I know.)
      Recently I edited out the milk. I’ve been pleased with the press. It’s getting the job done very satisfactorily. 🙂

      Like

  13. Up here in the PNW we take our coffee quite seriously. We have an espresso machine for our morning shots (I take mine with homemade caramel sauce) and occasional weekend lattes ( we have to be home for those!), 3 French presses (one at the farm, two at home) and a stovetop espresso pot at the farm. I think there’s even an electric drip coffee maker packed away in a box somewhere…
    Enjoy your morning brew!

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I see there are some serious coffee-drinkers who read this blog. 🙂
      I used to drink plain old American coffee by the potful. I had to stop for a while due to stomach issues. I took it up again when I was traveling to Brazil frequently. The coffee there was amazing. They didn’t consider our stuff to be coffee.
      After that I started drinking better coffee–but less of it. Nowadays a cup a day is all I usually drink. So I want it to be good!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

