Finally Knew

.

One day you finally knew what you had to do,
and began, though the voices around you
kept shouting their bad advice.
~Mary Oliver
11 comments on “Finally Knew

  1. shoreacres says:

    In my opinion, this is one of Oliver’s best. The whole poem is well worth reading: regularly.

    Like

  2. smcasson says:

    Boy howdy if you step away from normalcy toward thoughtfulness, you hear about it from society, don’t you?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, it’s amazing what family, friends, and acquaintances will do to keep you at their level in life. For some reason they just don’t want to put in the effort to reach a higher level in their life but they don’t want an ambitious person to succeed either. I guess it probably makes them look bad. When I started gardening at Terra Nova Gardens, the neighbors had pearls of wisdom about how what I was doing wouldn’t work. Too much mulch would catch on fire. Too much mulch would kill the soil. The latest is best. You know if you put that carpet down with mulch on top it will really make those weeds grow. I just smile and say, “Well, I guess we’ll just have to see what happens.” I can personally say from experience over the last three years that old carpet is definitely better than any weed barrier fabric.

    I’m glad you didn’t listen to the voices around you and became a homesteader. A lawyer blog? I probably wouldn’t have read that. 🙂

    Have a great deaf ear to bad advice day.

    Like

  4. As Candide suggested, “Cultivate your garden.” 🙂 –Curt

    Like

  5. BeeHappee says:

    You guys mention external voices. When I read that poem, I see those voices as the voices of my own fears, and those are the most stubborn, loudest, nastiest voices, much louder than anything ‘society’ may have to say…
    Great poem. And thank you for linking to Cherie’s blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

