Goals

I’ve got a long list of winter projects lined up–build more raised beds, clean out and organize the barn and equipment shed, get rid of stuff we’re not using, etc. But for the first time in a long time, I don’t have any academic or writing projects that I’m under any obligation to do. That’s such an odd feeling that I’ve been considering taking a class through Coursera or some other free online option like that. Nerd that I am, I already regularly listen to lectures from iTunes U.

But I’m also considering just taking a break this winter, and not trying to cram academic/writing projects in among the imposing list of winter homesteading tasks.

It’s good to have goals I think. They keep me motivated. But this year maybe one of my goals should be to have fewer goals.

23 comments on “Goals

  1. DM says:

    Balance in life (for me) is like I imagine sailing a small boat must be like. Too much attention in one area, causes me to drift off course in another. I like how you’re listening to the inner tugs of your heart….That is not something that happens automatically, or easily amidst the clamor of a busy life. I already know (from your stepping away from your career as a lawyer) you know what you’re doing πŸ˜‰ DM

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Hopefully you’re right DM. Many would say that move is evidence that I don’t know what I’m doing. I like the image of balance. My wife once told me (many years ago) that I lived too much in the past and in the future, rather than in the present. Maybe having too many goals keeps too much attention on the future. Food for thought.

      Liked by 1 person

      • smcasson says:

        I’ll tell you what, Bill… I noticed myself thinking and saying things like, “can’t wait for” and “it’ll be so nice when” quite often. I decided that I need to worry less about what is to come (especially since my mind can dream up unlimited “brighter futures”) and simply just be here now; enjoy life now, since it is the only time that’s real. So, I’m having a good ol’ time. There’s challenges, but we’re having fun.
        I’m not trying to extrapolate that situation to you; just my experience. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    In suburbs, our two vehicle garage protrudes out front, driveway (concrete) slopes downward
    and street slopes to our left (when we are looking out from front of house). When we approach the house, up the drive, the sidewalk bends to the left and up to wide wooden steps to our front (covered) deck; and each side of that walkway has flowers (in season). Spouse just got hip replacement less than six weeks (30 October). I am thinking of making these be raised beds (no bending forward and down). I read: The ideal height for a raised bed is a matter of preference for gardeners.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    Maybe one of your goals should be to spend time sitting around watching the goings-on your new camera records. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Bill says:

      That’s an easily achievable goal. πŸ™‚ But most of the time I take the long walk down to the camera, remove the SD card, walk back to the house, plug it into the computer, and discover that there are no new pictures. I suppose that helps teach me patience.

      Like

  4. Leave room for something you really enjoy and call that a goal! ❀
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’ve always been a goal-oriented person. Our farm’s mission statement/motto includes “enjoy life.” Something as fundamental as that, I’ve identified as a goal. Fortunately it’s our most easily achievable goal. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. valbjerke says:

    There are those of us that find ourselves almost paralyzed when we have nothing that ‘has to be done’. I’m one of them – if I see light at the end of the tunnel I promptly order up more tunnel (usually of the farm work variety). This winter though, I’ve determined I need to get to some of my own personal projects. At the moment I’m in the process of carving the top of my kitchen table – once that’s done – I’ve many other ‘not farm related’ projects to carry on with. 😊

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Exactly! I can’t remember a time in my life when I was working toward goals–some immediate. but most long-term. I remember a television commercial from many years ago, back when I was still in my other life (and still watching television). The commercial was for some kind of investment firm and in it a man with a hardhat on, carrying a lunchbox, says “You know what I’m going to do when I retire? Nothing. Absolutely nothing.” I remember thinking that sounded good to me. But the truth is I’d go nuts if I wasn’t working on something. I like your image of ordering up more tunnel. That’s the way I think too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I like you have a lot of projects but I’ve always felt that there is a lot of emotional and mental overhead in goal setting. Happiness is in the doing for me. I hope your “lack of goals” gives you peace my friend.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I’m sure I’m not ready for a lack of goals. At this point I’m just leaning toward having fewer goals.
      I enjoy scratching things off my list when they’re done, but I seem wired to always need a set of goals. It would be good for me to become less goal-oriented though. Something to work on…

      Like

  7. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, you have goals, I have plans. Some are short term but most take years. Some are open ended with plans within plans. Gardening is one of open ended plans. Right now the plan is to have the 10 feet between the road and fence to have a old carpet weed barrier with two inches of hard wood mulch on top. It’s about 90 feet and will take about 6 cubic yards of mulch. I only have one cubic yard to go before being completed. One good day will provide that. I would like two more rock bordered raised beds to be built before the growing season next year.

    One thing I learned in retirement, there’s always maΓ±ana (tomorrow). My plans never have an end date. So as a result some take years to complete. My garden fence took three years to complete; my basement food storage area took three years to complete; my gravity feed watering system took four years to perfect and still is getting tweaked each year. If I had to live on my accomplishments, I’d starve. I still have a long list of plans to complete. Heh, maΓ±ana. πŸ™‚

    Have a great goal setting day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      Sometime my goals don’t have an end date, but sometimes they do. Early retirement was a goal and I had to set a specific date for it or I’d keep pushing it back. As it was I ended up taking it to the very last day. Sometimes my goals are open ended. Getting my masters degree was a goal, but I didn’t have a specific end-date in mind. But when it came time to write the thesis there was a deadline. Etc. Etc.

      I’m at the point now, I hope, where my goals don’t have to have finish lines. For example, I’d like to build more raised beds this winter, but if I don’t it won’t be a big deal.

      Like

  8. Joanna says:

    I sort of like goals, but I also like to be flexible. Having nothing to do though I don’t enjoy. It makes me laugh though to hear your winter projects. Once winter sets in here, there will be no building raised beds, more like hunkering down or skiing.

    When I don’t have writing projects to do, I would like to read some of the many articles I have downloaded and sort them properly. Will I ever accomplish that? No idea πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. EllaDee says:

    I like to look at those non-essential goals as possibilities, and those words, we’ll see, are gold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

