Green Friday

We honored Green Friday (isn’t that what it’s called?) with a rare trip off the farm.

IMG_8997

Staunton River state park, about an hour northeast of us, where the Dan and Staunton rivers converge

IMG_8983

It was a spectacular day, warm and sunny–temps in the 60’s

IMG_8988

We had the trails to ourselves

IMG_9002

The place was generally pristine. But I did discover this ancient American artifact.

IMG_8994

Let’s see, a walk along the river or wrestling someone for a TV at Walmart? I vote for the riverside hike.

IMG_9004

A fine way to spend a day

31 comments on “Green Friday

  1. sometimes been alone makes for a better vision!

    Like

  2. gatheringplaceseasonfour says:

    serene

    Like

  3. ain't for city gals says:

    I have this strange habit for Black Friday…I still love looking at all the ads knowing full well I won’t be buying anything….I just can’t imagine doing that kind of shopping anymore.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I don’t like shopping, even when the stores aren’t crowded. But I know the day is thrilling for lots of people. Our daughter has always enjoyed going to Walmart in the middle of the night to watch the craziness. This year she and her friends went dressed as dinosaurs. And she’s almost 24 years old now.

      Like

  4. nebraskadave says:

    Bill, Green Friday? I like it. Even though the leaves are off the trees a quiet walk through the forest or along a lake shore is much better than fighting for a TV at the local big box store.

    My Friday was spent just hanging around home with my grandson. Well, there was the laundry and the kitchen counter cleaning that needed to be done. Then I treated myself to a movie. I rarely get to a movie theater these days. My grandson, Bradley, was at a Lock In (sleep over) with his Taekwondo (Marshal Arts) friends. The day was good for me and looks like it was good for you two as well.

    American artifacts. Yeah, I’m still waiting for astronauts to find a Coca Cola can on the moon. It seems that Coca Cola is every where in the world. Now that the cans are aluminum, it will take centuries before they break down. The whole issue of waste and throw away trash is a huge issue especially for this country. My city does try to recycle but if they get behind or over loaded at the city recycle centers, it goes to the land fill with the rest of the trash. It would be interesting to fast forward about 100 years, if we are still alive, and see if we ever solved the waste problem. Yeah, probably figured out a way to send it to the sun and let it burn up.

    Have a great Fall day on the White Flint Farm.

    Like

    • Joanna says:

      I suspect they will be mining the landfills in years to come, since we have thrown away so many valuable metals in the last few decades

      Like

    • Bill says:

      That Schlitz can was a surprising find. It was just lying out in the open next to a trail, in a park that had almost no trash in it anywhere. The can has to be at least 30 years old. I was surprised no one had picked it up and thrown it away. So I left it there too.

      When I was growing up we had a trash pit dug down in the woods. Any trash we couldn’t burn in the incinerator we threw in the hole. This was before the days of trash collection in the country. It was our only option. But we probably generated less trash in a year than typical households today generate in a week. It wasn’t a “throwaway” culture as we are today.

      Like

  5. Sue says:

    What a lovely outing you had!
    Hubby and I always do our Christmas decorating on Black Friday—he does the outside, I decorate the inside. We meet up for leftover pumpkin pie and coffee after a few hours. Wonderful time I always look forward to. We’re with you guys…..this is a far far better way to spend “Black Friday”…..

    Like

  6. Joanna says:

    I hate shopping at the best of times, unless it is admiring lots of lovely craft work, so there is no way I would be fighting for a tv at the nearest store (I haven’t had a tv in years anyway). I don’t think Black Friday has reached Latvia, or if it has I haven’t noticed due to living in my very rural location. The UK has taken it on board to some extent, but I think the stupid scenes last year put a lot of people off and this year the high streets’ Black Friday was a flop and people shopped online instead.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      Same here. Nowadays when I have to buy something (which is rare) I try to get it online. I realize that isn’t helping local merchants but I just can’t stand shopping–or crowds.

      Like

  7. Driving to Thanksgiving Dinner I noticed a long line of people standing at Toys R’Us. I couldn’t help think, how sad. And I couldn’t help being a little angry at the toy store for forcing their employees to work on Thanksgiving for no reason I could see other than pure greed. Your walk was ever so much better. –Curt

    Like

    • Bill says:

      There is no good reason for those kinds of stores to be open on Thanksgiving. Just trying to get a jump on their competitors at the expense of their employees, which of course soon forces the competitors to follow suit. Of course they wouldn’t bother opening on Thanksgiving if we consumers refused to shop on that day.

      Like

  8. Green Friday beats Black Friday every time Bill! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. smcasson says:

    I also took a walk— along my rooftop finishing a few chores the buyer requested before selling the house. Crazy busy times here but still quite enjoyed thanksgiving weekend without the greed of black fri.
    I’ve heard it called Buy Nothing Day or Buy Local Day. I think I succeeded in buying nothing except for filling the gas tank…

    Like

    • Bill says:

      I can’t stand the Black Friday spectacle, but as I shared on Facebook, there’s little point in opting out of Black Friday if all we’re doing is substituting a different day to blacken instead. If we already have all we need (and most of us do), why not opt out of all of it, rather than just one day of it. I’ll keep dreaming…

      Like

  10. avwalters says:

    I totally approve. I’ll go for Green Friday (or Green Any Day.) We took a walk, too. We were up in Keweenaw County, my home town, to see family for the Holiday. It was snowy and icy. There were animal tracks everywhere. Now home, the snow is gone and it’s just cold.

    Like

    • Bill says:

      We didn’t need to drive an hour to find a quiet place to go for a walk, but it was nice to be able to enjoy a hike without worrying about being shot by some incompetent hunter.

      We were in the 60’s Friday and over 70 yesterday. Crazy warm. The gardens are loving it. But it’s supposed to turn colder and rain for 3 days beginning tomorrow. So I suppose I should enjoy a nice day outside today, while I still can.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a lovely way to spend a day away from the farm – green, black or whatever color Friday!
    I’ve never participated in the black Friday madness – huge crowds are not my thing. I actually do my Christmas shopping over time. When I think of something or see something “perfect” for whomever, I buy it and stash it. I admit there have been times when I forget what I stashed…
    Love the old Schlitz can! I have an old coca cola bottle and an old unopened Rainier beer bottle I found in the wall of an old house I was remodeling. They are probably somewhere in the garage – not sure why I’ve kept them – my cola days are long over. Nostalgia I guess.

    Like

    • Oh, I forgot to mention – the photos are great! I’m sure it wasn’t intentional, but I love that the colors are the same throughout each one – including the Schlitz can and the always lovely Cherie! Quite the photo essay.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bill says:

      I’ve found lots of interesting old bottles here over the years. I had a big crate of them but last year I gave them to a neighbor’s son who collects them. But I’ve still keep lots of interesting pieces of trash from the past. As you say, nostalgia.

      Like

  12. Zambian Lady says:

    Being outside walking in nature is one very good way of relaxing, I find.

    Like

  13. barnraised says:

    So funny…we call it Green Friday too 🙂 We go for a hike, or just generally spend the day outside!

    Like

Leave a Reply

